Skip to main content

PBC Library

The NAU library website for the Phoenix Biomedical Campus Library

Search Tools

 Health Science Databases 

In addition to PubMed and Acland's, NAU students, faculty, and staff at PBC also have access to all library databases at NAU:


PubMed:

A banner image of pubmed and it's different sites


​PubMed is a massively comprehensive medical database maintained by the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health. It covers the entire spectrum of health science subjects as well as healthcare policy, community health, and administration. 

It's recommended that scholars and practitioners make use of the complete PubMed platform, which can be accessed at either of the two URLs:


Acland's:

Acland's Video Atlas Logo

Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy presents dissections of unembalmed human bodies, allowing access to specific content through indexes and keyword searches. The specimens rotate relative to the camera, giving a three-dimensional view. 

Students and employees at PBC have full access to Acland's.


As part of the library's pandemic response, we have been given trial access to several online databases to which we do not currently subscribe. These databases can be access through the links below:

Access Physiotherapy:

A picture of the Access Physiotherapy logo

Access Physiotherapy provides access to textbooks in the rehabilitative sciences. You can visit Access Physiotherapy from the following link: https://accessphysiotherapy-mhmedical-com.libproxy.nau.edu/.


5 Minute Clinical Consult:

A picture of the 5 Minute Clinical Consult logo

You can visit 5 Minute Clinical Consult from the following link: http://libproxy.nau.edu/login?url=https://5minuteconsult.com/


Bates Visual Guide:

A picture of the Bates Visual Guide logo

You can visit Bates Visual Guide from the following link: http://libproxy.nau.edu/login?url=https://batesvisualguide.com/

Books at PBC Library

As an integrated facility serving two universities, PBC Library houses physical collections purchased by both Northern Arizona University (NAU) and University of Arizona (UA) to support PBC programs.  Students in any PBC program may check out any of our 1,000 items.

Our physical collections are displayed together in UA's online catalog at ahsl.arizona.edu

Our electronic collections (e-books) are displayed in separate catalogs:


eBook Databases: 

About PBC Library's Anatomical Models:

PBC Library hosts an extensive collection of advanced, anatomical models available for student and faculty use. 

Follow this link for a list of models and a model request form*


If you'd like to checkout one of the models, please keep in mind:

  • Models are only available during staffed hours for in-library use only
  • Please inform front-desk staff if you'd like to remove a model from the shelf
    • Staff can also help you access the models stored off-shelf
  • All models must be checked out at the front desk before use

*UofA models guide by Kelley Howard. For questions, please contact catherine lockmiller.


Acland's Video Atlas Logo

Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy presents dissections of unembalmed human bodies, allowing access to specific content through indexes and keyword searches. The specimens rotate relative to the camera, giving a three-dimensional view.

Finding Visual Media at NAU:

NAU hosts a number of streaming media sites as well as image collections. Other than MEDLINE Plus, all video streaming sites require login with NAU credentials. 

In addition to searching each database individually, NAU affiliates can also locate streaming movies (and music) from the search box on the NAU Libraries' homepage: http://nau.edu/library.


Video Streaming:


Image Collections:

Important information about library operations:

Although coursework has moved from in-person to virtual learning formats for the time being, please keep in mind that PBC and NAU Library services are still available to students, staff, and faculty. The following information provides a basic rundown of continuing operations, links, and reminders about research and learning e-resources.
 
As always, if you have any questions, please reach out to the PBC Librarian, catherine lockmiller, at: catherine.lockmiller@nau.edu.
 

PBC Librarian

All students, staff, and faculty can get help from the PBC Librarian, catherine lockmiller, through the following modalities:

PBC Library Operations

Mirroring the actions of the UA libraries in Tucson and after consultation with leadership at the PBC, the PBC Library will move to unstaffed operations effective Friday, March 20, at 5 PM. This decision is not made lightly, but it is part of our effort to reduce community spread of the COVID-19 virus.
 
  • Library study space will remain open to students with PBC badges on a self-service basis (unless there is a separate decision from UA main campus that we need to close the HSEB). “Safe study” practice reminders will be in place in terms of studying alone or in small groups with adequate distance between members.
  • The computer commons and book stacks will be locked behind the rolling gate. Students will not have access to our print books, anatomical models, or computer workstations.
  • Students needing computer access can use the presenter computers in the B wing conference rooms / small classrooms on the 2nd floor of the HSEB.
  • Access to digital library resources will be unaffected. 
Library users are encouraged to keep any borrowed items until we return to campus. Late fees for overdue items have already been eliminated at UA libraries.
 
For questions related to PBC Library operations, contact David Bickford, the PBC Library Director, at: dbickford@email.arizona.edu.

Cline Library Operations

At this time, the following Cline Library services remain available to NAU affiliates at PBC:

Online Services

The following websites are primary to using library services:

Research databases:

  • PubMed: http://libraryguides.nau.edu/PubMedline
    • The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface.
  • UpToDate: https://libraryguides.nau.edu/UptoDate
    • Physician-authored clinical decision support resource used by clinicians to make point-of-care decisions. (In support of healthcare education in Arizona, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona has sponsored this for your use.)
  • Cochrane: https://libraryguides.nau.edu/cochranelib
    • A collection of databases that contain evidence, including systematic reviews, to inform healthcare decision-making for clinical treatment decisions. Provides other sources of information, including technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
  • CINAHL: https://libraryguides.nau.edu/cinahlcomp
    • ​​Article database covering the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
  • PsycINFO: https://libraryguides.nau.edu/PsycINFO
    • An index to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, books, and book chapters relevant to the field of psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
  • SocINDEX: https://libraryguides.nau.edu/SocIndexFullText
    • Database for sociology research, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations.
  • Web of Science: https://libraryguides.nau.edu/WebofSci
    • Citation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.

Learning and test prep databases:

  • Access Medicine: https://libraryguides.nau.edu/accessmed
    • ​​Provides instant access to multimedia and core medical textbooks, including Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment and Harrisons Principles of Internal Medicine.
  • Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy: http://aclandanatomy.com.libproxy.nau.edu/
    • presents dissections of unembalmed human bodies, allowing access to specific content through indexes and keyword searches. The specimens rotate relative to the camera, giving a three-dimensional view.
  • Stat!Ref: https://libraryguides.nau.edu/StatRef
    • Database of full text from eBooks in in nursing, clinical medicine, allied health, dentistry and other as health-related disciplines.

*Due to the migration into an online format, consultations will be held using Zoom. The librarian will set up the Zoom link and share it when a consultation request has been submitted and received.​

Instructional Support

Teaching support

Bring an information expert into any of your PBC classes to effectively teach students how to find, critically evaluate, and use information. Request a library instruction session by contacting catherine lockmiller and/or filling out the Library Instruction Request Form.

Instruction can come in many forms, but here are a select few specific options:

Effective search in PubMed | 80 minutes
  • navigate MyNCBI
  • develop an advanced search query
  • make efficient use of search tools
  • break down PubMed citations
  • make use of Clinical Queries search
  • save searches for later use
Align PICO & search strategy | 60 minutes
  • break down PICO questions into searches
  • understand levels of evidence
  • understand clinical domains and study designs
Background and foreground information | 20 minutes
  • learn the difference between background and foreground information
  • when, where, and how to look for background information
Strategic citation management | 60 minutes
  • learn to use RefWorks and Zotero
  • import references from databases
  • integrate RefWorks into Microsoft Word and Google Docs
Publication types | 40 minutes
  • define review types
  • identify clinical study designs
  • understand open-access and traditional publishing models
  • find specific journals and study types in PubMed
Make the most of MeSH | 40 minutes
  • learn to use the MeSH database
  • break down the MeSH terms
  • understand Automatic Term Mapping (ATM) in PubMed
Health disparities research | 60 minutes
  • define health and healthcare disparities
  • recognize the value of cultural competencies in EBP
  • find best evidence for working with specific populations
  • identify public and community health literacy tools
Order off menu! | 20 - 180 minutes
  • Contact the librarian to build a course that best fits your specific class needs!

NOTE: for a visual rendition of this menu, please click the link to the PBC Library Course Menu.

PBC Library offers support for online classes

As NAU has increased its online and blended course offerings, librarians have also increased their support for the development of research skills, critical thinking, and student learning in the online environment.

Course reserves

  • Digitized streaming media
    • PBC Library can create digitized copies of university owned media. The content will be available to your students through BBLearn.
  • Electronic reserves
    • PBC Library can digitize copies of articles, book chapters and other print resources. The content will then be available to your students through BBLearn.
    • NOTE: when beginning the electronic reserves process, please fill out the Reserves Request Form.
  • Find electronic reading and media
    • Your PBC librarian can teach you to identify useful online resources available from the library, such as journal articles and streaming video, and teach you how to find alternatives if needed.

Integrating research skills into assignments

Your PBC librarian can review course assignments to identify and incorporate research and critical thinking skills into your class. i can work with you to:

  • Think through an assignment from a research skills perspective
  • Verify if resources needed to complete the assignment are available through the Cline or PBC Library
  • Develop curricula and learning exercises for your class that strengthen the skills of your students
  • Encourage your students to talk to a librarian before they start a research assignment
  • Create course guides

Course guides

Your PBC librarian can work with you to direct students to the best resources for successfully completing assignments, along with instructional elements on how to most effectively use those resources. i can work with instructors to build guides tailored to the needs of specific courses. These can then be linked directly in BBLearn.

Create tutorials

i can work with instructors to build tutorials tailored to the needs of a course. Tutorials will enable students to learn about a particular research skill or concept, how to use a library resource, or think critically about information.

PBC Library teaching support

Your PBC librarian provides course-related research instruction for all courses at PBC. In order to ensure the best experience for your students i request the following:

  • Plan to request instruction sessions 14 days in advance.
  • Plan to attend the library instruction session with your students.
  • Send the library research assignment to the librarian at least seven days in advance.
  • Plan an assignment around which library instruction can be taught (ie: annotated bibliographies, literature reviews, etc.)

Instruction requests

Please call, email, or visit if you have any questions! i require at least one in-person meeting prior to teaching.