For fun
Books
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition by ISBN: 9780826194077Publication Date: 2016First Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title! This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in short sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and state-of-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet Status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. It differentiates between EBP and research, a difficult concept for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care features examples that demonstrate the practical application of content. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the second edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet Status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care with plentiful examples
Formulating your research question
Before you can start searching, you need to know what to search! So, you need to create a research question. What do you want to learn? Your assignment is to research and provide information and resources on what an RN should consider when providing culturally sensitive care to a member of an ethnic group.
Focus on your topic and country. Clue: make certain there is enough information to answer the questions needed for your assignment. You will use the tools under Scholarly Resources for your searching. Your topics could be one of the following:
- AIDS/HIV or other communicable diseases (malaria & parasitic diseases, Influenza, Ebola, meningitis)
- Access to Health Care
- Nutrition (Diabetes, obesity, malnutrition)
- Poverty
- Conflict and violence impacts on health care
- Health Education
Once you have your topic, country, and research question resolved, now brainstorm about keywords from your question. What are the terms you wish to search.
Other research resources
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by Peter Ellis, from Sage Publishing - 9 Podcasts
BMJ Blogs, a selection of topical blogs from BMJ Publishing (British Medical Journal)
Reading stuff
Astroth, & Hain, D. (2019). Disseminating scholarly work through nursing presentations. Nephrology Nursing Journal: Journal of the American Nephrology Nurses’ Association, 46(5), 545–549.
Late, E., Tenopir, C., Talja, S., & Christian, L. (2019). Reading practices in scholarly work: From articles and books to blogs. Journal of Documentation, 75(3), 478–499. https://doi.org/10.1108/JD-11-2018-0178
Katz, A. (2019). Social Media and scholarly publication: What is the connection? Oncology Nursing Forum, 46(5), 517–518. https://doi.org/10.1188/19.ONF.517-518.