Health Topics
There are several sites which can provide information on health topics. I suggest you use one of the following:
1. Centers for Disease Control, Center for Global Health, click on Global Health Issues and then pick which disease or issue you would like to research.
2. World Health Organization (WHO) spotlights 10 health issues to track. This website describes all 10 issues.
3. MedlinePlus international Health, scroll down to Start Here for a list of links to specific topics to research.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides instant access to multimedia and core medical textbooks, including Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment and Harrisons Principles of Internal Medicine.
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new windowOriginally designed for medical and dental students, the video atlas' realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, make it useful for allied health students and anyone looking for information about human anatomy.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles for psychology research.
- CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new windowArticle database covering the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain evidence, including systematic reviews, to inform healthcare decision-making for clinical treatment decisions. Provides other sources of information, including technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
- Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
- Health & Medicine eBooks (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe collection spans topics from nursing, allied health, psychology, diseases, anatomy/physiology, biology, chemical engineering and much more.
- Health and Society in Video This link opens in a new windowFind hundreds of documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews on todays latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This version utilizes the EBSCO interface with the option to search across multiple EBSCO databases.
- MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new windowPublic resource which provides information about specific health conditions and diseases for both health consumers and professionals. Links to consumer health information from the National Institutes of Health, dictionaries and clinical trials.
- ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new windowDatabase of peer-reviewed journal articles and books for the sciences and social sciences.
- TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) This link opens in a new windowTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence and evidence-based content to support their practice and/or care.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Physician-authored clinical decision support resource used by clinicians to make point-of-care decisions. (In support of healthcare education in Arizona, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona has sponsored this for your use.)
Finding Country Information
- CIA: The World Factbook is organized by country and provides political, geographic, economic, and sociological summaries.
- U.S. State Department Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets allows you to select year and country which provide details on diplomatic relationship plus links to several different other government services including health related resources.
-
Cultural Atlas provides comprehensive information on Australia's migrant populations.
- BBC News Country Profiles includes audio and video clips from the BBC providing historical, economic, and political perspectives.
- Country Reports from the Economist recent news articles, country profiles, forecasts, fact sheets, and economic data.
- World Bank collects and provides background information and up to date reports on all countries.
Statistics
Statistics are funny and they can be tricky to use. You have to know who is collecting the data and for what purpose. Here are some sites you may wish to use. Always consider the purpose behind the collection of the data. If the methodology is not explained in how the data is collected and why it is used, be suspicious.
World Health Organization, The Global Health Observatory, World Health Statistics - you may download the data or just annual reports or specific topical reports from this site.
WHO, Data Collections - unique reports
World Bank, HealthStats
Eurostat, Healthcare expenditure statistics
OECD (Organization for Economic Development) Health Statistics
Our World in Data, Global Health