Here are some of the databases:
An index to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, books, and book chapters relevant to the field of psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
A database of education publications covering a wide range of topics, including continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural education, and much more.
ERIC Education Literature (EBSCO)
Provides comprehensive access to education-related literature, including citations to articles and research reports. Includes some full text.
Literary Reference Center Plus.
Literary Reference Center Plus is a literary database covering all genres and time frames. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books, and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
Database of articles from peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities and social sciences. Most journals in this collection are published by non-commercial publishers such as university presses and scholarly societies.
Additional Database Resources
Database of Award-Winning Children’s Literature (DAWCL) – covers awards. Contains 182 awards covering 6 English-speaking countries: the U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and Ireland. It is maintained by Lisa R. Bartie (copyright holder) whose intent is to “create a tailored reading list of quality children’s literature”. You can limit by genre, reading level, protagonist type, and more.
Diverse BookFinder – provides thousands of children’s trade picture books published or distributed in the USA since 2002, with a unique searchable database to locate BIPOC characters that are under-represented in traditional children’s literature.
To use any database, you have to start with a question you want to answer or a thesis statement. Usually, you want to know something, such as why the author wrote this book or how they developed this character. For example, are you a fan of Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, or do you prefer someone darker like Deadpool or Bane, or Voldemort? When you are working with Children's Literature, you need to start with understanding the author and what they are hoping to convey. Therefore, begin with biographies, autobiographies, newspaper and magazine interviews, YouTube interviews, etc. Get to know them to help you develop your understanding of their rationales for developing their work.