Teaching with Children's Literature
-
Children's Literature, Briefly
by
Call Number: AWC/NAU-Yuma Academic Library PN1008.8 .J33 2016ISBN: 9780133846553Publication Date: 2019-07-17This concise, engaging, practical overview of children's literature keeps the focus on the books that children read. KEY TOPICS: Read, Read, Read; What Is a Good Book? How to Recognize a Well-Written Book; How to Recognize a Well-Illustrated Book; children's Books: History and Trends; Organizing Children's Literature by Genre: Picture Books, Poetry, Folk Literature, Modern Fantasy, Contemporary realistic Fiction, Historical Fiction, Biography, Informational Books, and Multicultural and International Books; Books in the Classroom; Controversial Books; Teaching with Children's Books MARKET: For classroom teachers, grades PreK to 8th grade. -
Children's Literature in the Reading Program
by
Call Number: EBSCO eBook CollectionISBN: 1462535852Publication Date: 2018-05-15This indispensable teacher resource and course text, now revised and updated, addresses the "whats," "whys," and "how-tos" of incorporating outstanding children's literature into the K-8 reading program. A strong emphasis on diverse literature is woven throughout the fifth edition, with chapters emphasizing the need for books that reflect their readers and presenting dozens of carefully reviewed books that teachers will be eager to use in the classroom. Leading authorities provide advice on selecting texts, building core literacy and literary skills, supporting struggling readers, and maximizing engagement. The volume offers proven strategies for teaching specific genres and formats, such as fiction, nonfiction, picturebooks, graphic novels, biographies, and poetry. This title is a copublication with the International Literacy Association. New to This Edition *Many new teaching ideas and book recommendations, with an increased focus on culturally diverse literature. *Scope expanded from K-5 to K-8. *Chapter on using read-alouds and silent reading. *Chapters on diverse literature about the arts and on transitional chapter books. *Chapter on engaging struggling readers with authentic reading experiences. -
Children's Literature in Translation
by
Call Number: eBook: Directory of Open Access BooksISBN: 9789462702226Publication Date: 2020-08-15For many of us, our earliest and most meaningful experiences with literature occur through the medium of a translated children's book. This volume focuses on the complex interplay that happens between text and context when works of children's literature are translated: what contexts of production and reception account for how translated children's books come to be made and read as they are? How are translated children's books adapted to suit the context of a new culture? Spanning the disciplines of Children's Literature Studies and Translation Studies, this book brings together established and emerging voices to provide an overview of the analytical, empirical and geographic richness of current research in this field and to identify and reflect on common insights, analytical perspectives and trajectories for future interdisciplinary research. This volume will appeal to an interdisciplinary audience of scholars and students in Translation Studies and Children's Literature Studies and related disciplines. It has a broad geographic and cultural scope, with contributions dealing with translated children's literature in the United Kingdom, the United States, Ireland, Spain, France, Brazil, Poland, Slovenia, Hungary, China, the former Yugoslavia, Sweden, Germany, and Belgium. -
Craft Moves
by
Call Number: AWC/NAU-Yuma Academic Library LB1576 .S4145 2016ISBN: 9781625310224Publication Date: 2016-06-01How do you choose mentor texts for your students? How do you mine them for the craft lessons you want your students to learn? In Craft Moves, Stacey Shubitz, cofounder of the Two Writing Teachers website, does the heavy lifting for you: using twenty recently published picture books, she creates more than 180 lessons to teach various craft moves that will help your students become better writers.
Professional Resources
Author Information
Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators - https://www.scbwi.org/ was founded in 1971. This society is a global community of professionals working to “establish a more imaginative and inclusive world through the power of children’s literature”.
Teacher Resources/Websites
Booklist's Professional Reading Roundup - Professional reading materials are reviewed exclusively on Booklist Online, and this is a roundup of some of the titles reviewed.
Carol Hurst’s Children’s Literature Site /BooksInTheClassroom – This website is a “collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.”
Children’s Literature Association – non-profit dedicated to the study of literature for children.
Children’s Notable Lists – the ALA Association for Library Service to Children identifies the best resources regardless of format for children aged 14 and younger.
Library of Congress Children’s Books - one of the largest collections of children's literature in the United States with many books digitized to be accessible to everyone. The Library of Congress has a separate collection of Classic children’s books
as well as materials available at the National Library Service for the blind and print disabled
Open Access Journals for Professional Reading
Barnboken: Journal of Children's Literature Research – articles are published in Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, and English. It was founded in 1977 and has been online only since 2010.
International Journal of Young Adult Literature (IJYAL) – open access, peer-reviewed, published annually, covering all areas of young adult literature.
Journal of Juvenilia Studies – open access, international journal published twice yearly by the International Society for Literary Juvenilia.
Research on Diversity in Youth Literature (RDYL) – open access, peer-reviewed, published twice yearly on “issues of diversity, equity, social justice, inclusion, and intersectionality in youth literature, culture, and media”. Began in 2023.
Write4Children – an international journal “for the practice and theories of writing for children and children’s literature. 2010-2013.
Children's Literature Collections
Children's Literature Research Collections - an internationally recognized children's literature library and archive at the University of Minnesota Libraries, including books, manuscripts, illustrations, comic books, story papers, and other materials related to the creation of historical and modern children's literature.
Cotsen Children's Library - the Cotsen Children's Library at Princeton University Library holds an international research collection of illustrated children's books, manuscripts, original artwork, prints, and educational toys from the 15th century to the present day.
The de Grummond Children's Literature Collection – this collection is one of the leading research centers in the field of children's literature. Although the Collection has many strengths, the main focus is on American and British children's literature, historical and contemporary. The collection is housed on the campus of the University of Southern Mississippi.
The International Children's Digital Library Foundation (ICDL Foundation) is to support the world's children in becoming the best citizens by exhibiting tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages, and ideas.
The Gordon W. Prange Collection at the University of Maryland contains nearly 8,000 children's book titles published in Japan between 1945 and 1949, including 1,608 picture book (ehon) titles, 2,069 comic book (manga) titles, and 4,275 story book (yomimono) titles. All of the picture books and a majority of the comic books are available here, with other children’s resources being added systematically.
Project Gutenberg, Bookshelf 20, Books in Children’s Literature – sorted by popularity, this bookshelf provides the most popular of Project Gutenberg’s downloaded children’s books, including audiobooks.
History of Children's Literature Guide
-
Unlocking the magic of children's literature: Essential resources for parents & educatorsBlog from Octane Seating who provides a very nice overview of the history and development of children's literature.