What are picture books?
-
It Takes a Village
by
Call Number: AWC/NAU-Yuma Resource Center HQ536 .C55 2017ISBN: 9781481430876Publication Date: 2017-09-12"It Takes a Village offers a universal, unifying message. It captures perfectly Clinton's vision of a multicultural America working toward a constructive goal. All kinds of people working together, playing together, and living together in harmony make a better village, and many villages coming together can make a better world. Together, we can build a better life for one another. Together we can change our world. -
I Am Helen Keller
by
Call Number: AWC/NAU-Yuma Resource Center HV1624.K4 M45 2015ISBN: 9780525428510Publication Date: 2015-09-01The seventh addition to this New York Times bestselling series spotlights Helen Keller and shows kids that obstacles can create heroes. When Helen Keller was very young, she got a rare disease that made her deaf and blind. Suddenly, she couldn't see or hear at all, and it was hard for her to communicate with anyone. But when she was six years old, she met someone who changed her life forever- her teacher, Annie Sullivan. -
Father Eagle and the Hunter
by
Call Number: AWC/NAU-Yuma Resource Center E98.F6 B43 2023ISBN: 9781939053497Publication Date: 2023-02-28The hunter was tired of only finding berries and seeds to feed his hungry village, so he decided to look far and wide for some meat to bring to them. When he spotted a tall tree, he climbed to the top and discovered a nest with three eaglets. “What a tasty soup the three little birds will make!” thought the hunter.
Reading and your brain
What Are picture Books?
The phrase "picture book" is commonly used to describe a book, most often written for children, in which the content is conveyed through the use of words and pictures in combination or through pictures alone. A picture book differs from an illustrated book in that the pictures it contains form an essential part of the structure of the book. Due to physical factors in the bookbinding process, picture books are conventionally 32 pages long. - Enoch Free Library.
A couple of good databases to know about related to Picture Books include:
Miami University's Picture Book Database - A collection of picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. The collection contains abstracts of over 5900 picture books for children, preschool to grade three. It includes browsing and advanced search features.
Wayne State University's Picture Book Timeline - An impressive history of the evolution of picture books from the 1700s to modern day, including changing terms, how authors use picture books for inspiration, if you need a good quote from a beloved picture book, and so much more. Delve into this amazing resource and find out more about your favorite stories.
Teaching with Picture Books
-
Lessons Inspired by Picture Books for Primary Grades
by
Call Number: AWC/NAU-Yuma Resource CenterZ675.S3 S2596 2019ISBN: 9780838917756Publication Date: 2019-03-26Drawing on compelling picture books that can be used to directly support the AASL National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries, this ready-to-go toolkit of lessons, worksheets, anchor charts, assessments, and rubrics is specifically designed to build learner competencies while examining big ideas inspired by picture books. An invaluable timesaver, this resource provides 21 lesson units that cover the six Shared Foundations, each utilizing a formatted template that's easy to follow and incorporates the four Domains (Think, Create, Share, Grow); a picture book synopsis for each unit, followed by lesson objectives, essential questions, materials, and duration; worksheets, anchor charts, and exit slips tailored for each picture book and lesson; "Quick Tips" that offer helpful ideas and suggestions to consider during the lesson; and an appendix that includes rubrics to facilitate assessment in all six foundations. -
Perfect Pairs, K-2
by
Call Number: AWC/NAU-Yuma Resource Center QH315 .S82 2014ISBN: 9781571109583Publication Date: 2014-08-12Hands-on lessons can be fun and compelling, but when it comes to life science, they aren't always possible, practical, effective, or safe. Children can't follow a lion as it stalks a gazelle, visit the exotic kapok tree in a rain forest, or swim alongside the underwater life in a pond. But they can explore a whole world of animals, plants, and ecosystems through the pages of beautifully illustrated, science-themed picture books. Perfect Pairs, which marries fiction and nonfiction picture books focused on life science, helps educators think about and teach life science in a whole new way. Each of the twenty-two lessons in this book is built around a pair of books that introduces a critical life science concept and guides students through an inquiry-based investigative process to explore that idea--from animal/environment interactions to the role of structure in plant and animal survival, from inheritance of traits to variation of species.
