Articles are published in journals. Journals used to come out in physical issues that we received in print form in the mail. Now, they're published in databases. We often skip seeing the journal when we search in a database. I like to explain it like this:
Netflix is the database, The Witcher is the journal, and Season 2, Episode 1 is the article.
We look for specific shows on different streaming services (Hulu, Disney+, HBO, etc) because they each have something different to offer -- though sometimes there's an overlap. This is similar to how academic databases work. We choose subject-specific databases because the content we're looking for is going to be found there.
Below are a couple of database options for you to start with when doing general nursing research. If your topic becomes multidisciplinary, feel free to reach out on chat or make an appointment with a librarian to get database suggestions.
Article database covering the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
This video will show you some strategies for searching the nursing and allied health database. You will also see how to request an item that that library doesn't have immediate access to in this video.
This next video walks you through some more specific strategies for refining your search results and finding the best articles for your assignment.
Search Strategy Example
Searching Academic Search Complete and CINAHL Complete
Academic Search Complete and CINAHL Complete are databases provided by EBSCOhost through Cline Library.
Step One: Identify the topic and consider two to three concepts that directly relate to the topic. Use the chart below as a guide.
Prevalence of cardiovascular disease among rural communities
Consider alternative keywords for the concepts
Step Two: Develop a search strategy using the keywords and/or phrases. Less is more; start with a few keywords and if necessary build a more comprehensive search. See search tips below.
Step Three: Recognize that databases have similar features, such as “limiters” or ways to narrow the search results (e.g., date of publication, peer-reviewed journal, and full-text). Apply limiters if necessary.
If you are being asked to include scholarly articles, consider limiting your results to scholarly, peer-reviewed.
Step Four: View the results. If the search strategy did not return any results try changing the keywords.
Search tips for Academic Search Complete and CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
Exact phrase searching
Omit or ignore a term
Expand the search to include either or both terms
Structure a Boolean (AND, OR, NOT) search
Truncate a term or complete a phrase
Wildcard used to replace a single letter
Wildcard used for alternate spellings
N and a number
Finds terms near x terms
W and a number
Finds terms within x terms in order
Try not to use punctuation
Databases ignore these unless it is a question mark