Try Document Delivery Services. NAU students, faculty, and staff can request books and articles that we don't own. We will get them from another library at no charge to you! *Textbooks typically are not available from DDS.
NAU faculty can request that we add a book to our collection. Suggest a purchase online and we may be able to buy a copy.
Books have lots and lots of pages, so when you need to be informed of something and you need it explained in-depth, that's when you reach for a nonfiction book.
The titles of scientific nonfiction books indicate that they span a broad topic and cover it comprehensively. If you read them, you'd have a thorough overview of these topics. However, people don't always read nonfiction books from cover-to-cover like they do with fiction books. With nonfiction books, you might dip in and find the information you need, using the table of contents at the beginning of the book or the index at the end of the book.
Since the purpose of a nonfiction book is to comprehensively explain a topic over many pages, books take longer to write than other types of sources. Anything that takes longer to write may contain information that becomes outdated before it is even published.
So, books are usually considered less current than many other types of information sources.
Searching for Books
To search for print or ebooks, start on the library's homepage: nau.edu/library.
Enter your search into the Quick Search
Using the limiters on the left-hand side, select Books under Material Type. You may need to select Show More to find the books option
For print books, select Available in the library under Availability. NOTE: This will limit your search results to books available in the library right now. Books that are checked out will not appear.
Locate the Call Number under the record. That's what you need to find the book in the library!
For ebooks, select Full Text Online under Availability.
Select the Full Text link in order to read the book in your browser. You may be able to download chapters, but you will not be able to download the entire book to your device.
Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management by Jeffrey W. HerrmannIIE/Joint Publishers Book of the Year Award 2016! Awarded for 'an outstanding published book that focuses on a facet of industrial engineering, improves education, or furthers the profession'. Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management emphasizes practical issues and examples of decision making with applications in engineering design and management Featuring a blend of theoretical and analytical aspects, this book presents multiple perspectives on decision making to better understand and improve risk management processes and decision-making systems. Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management uniquely presents and discusses three perspectives on decision making: problem solving, the decision-making process, and decision-making systems. The author highlights formal techniques for group decision making and game theory and includes numerical examples to compare and contrast different quantitative techniques. The importance of initially selecting the most appropriate decision-making process is emphasized through practical examples and applications that illustrate a variety of useful processes. Presenting an approach for modeling and improving decision-making systems, Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management also features: Theoretically sound and practical tools for decision making under uncertainty, multi-criteria decision making, group decision making, the value of information, and risk management Practical examples from both historical and current events that illustrate both good and bad decision making and risk management processes End-of-chapter exercises for readers to apply specific learning objectives and practice relevant skills A supplementary website with instructional support material, including worked solutions to the exercises, lesson plans, in-class activities, slides, and spreadsheets An excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate students, Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management is appropriate for courses on decision analysis, decision making, and risk management within the fields of engineering design, operations research, business and management science, and industrial and systems engineering. The book is also an ideal reference for academics and practitioners in business and management science, operations research, engineering design, systems engineering, applied mathematics, and statistics.
Publication Date: 2015-03-19
Applied Reliability Engineering and Risk Analysis by Ilia B. Frenkel; Alex Karagrigoriou; Anatoly Lisnianski; Andre V. KleynerThis complete resource on the theory and applications of reliability engineering, probabilistic models and risk analysis consolidates all the latest research, presenting the most up-to-date developments in this field. With comprehensive coverage of the theoretical and practical issues of both classic and modern topics, it also provides a unique commemoration to the centennial of the birth of Boris Gnedenko, one of the most prominent reliability scientists of the twentieth century. Key features include: expert treatment of probabilistic models and statistical inference from leading scientists, researchers and practitioners in their respective reliability fields detailed coverage of multi-state system reliability, maintenance models, statistical inference in reliability, systemability, physics of failures and reliability demonstration many examples and engineering case studies to illustrate the theoretical results and their practical applications in industry Applied Reliability Engineering and Risk Analysis is one of the first works to treat the important areas of degradation analysis, multi-state system reliability, networks and large-scale systems in one comprehensive volume. It is an essential reference for engineers and scientists involved in reliability analysis, applied probability and statistics, reliability engineering and maintenance, logistics, and quality control. It is also a useful resource for graduate students specialising in reliability analysis and applied probability and statistics. Dedicated to the Centennial of the birth of Boris Gnedenko, renowned Russian mathematician and reliability theorist
Publication Date: 2013-08-22
Reliability Engineering by Kailash C. KapurAn Integrated Approach to Product Development Reliability Engineering presents an integrated approach to the design, engineering, and management of reliability activities throughout the life cycle of a product, including concept, research and development, design, manufacturing, assembly, sales, and service. Containing illustrative guides that include worked problems, numerical examples, homework problems, a solutions manual, and class-tested materials, it demonstrates to product development and manufacturing professionals how to distribute key reliability practices throughout an organization. The authors explain how to integrate reliability methods and techniques in the Six Sigma process and Design for Six Sigma (DFSS). They also discuss relationships between warranty and reliability, as well as legal and liability issues. Other topics covered include: Reliability engineering in the 21st Century Probability life distributions for reliability analysis Process control and process capability Failure modes, mechanisms, and effects analysis Health monitoring and prognostics Reliability tests and reliability estimation Reliability Engineering provides a comprehensive list of references on the topics covered in each chapter. It is an invaluable resource for those interested in gaining fundamental knowledge of the practical aspects of reliability in design, manufacturing, and testing. In addition, it is useful for implementation and management of reliability programs.
Publication Date: 2014-03-21
Handbooks are a type of "ready reference" source. That means they're books you can consult quickly to locate information, like a dictionary, encyclopedia, or thesaurus. Handbooks in engineering typically include definitions, background fundamentals, proofs, formulas, examples, and processes
These may be more up-to-date than other nonfiction books, but you still want to make sure to have the most recent version of a handbook in case information has changed or new information has been discovered.
Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbook by Lyle Albright (Editor)Taking greater advantage of powerful computing capabilities over the last several years, the development of fundamental information and new models has led to major advances in nearly every aspect of chemical engineering. Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbook represents a reliable source of updated methods, applications, and fundamental co
Publication Date: 2008-11-20
Audel Electrical Trades Pocket Manual by L. W. BrittianAnswers at your fingertips This hands-on guide will help you trouble-shoot and solve electrical problems in industrial and commercial settings. You'll find plain-English explanations for a wide range of electrical equipment and systems, from transformers and switchgears to alarm and wiring systems. Use this book to quickly access reliable information and improve your on-the-job skills. Get useful rules of thumb and quick tricks Discover formulas, charts, and tables essential for plant electrical work Locate technical data quickly and get up to speed on everyday electrical questions Packed with illustrations that help you grasp ideas quickly and easily
Publication Date: 2012-04-23
EC&M's Electrical Calculations Handbook by John PaschalThe most frequently used electrical calculations--worked out in an instant-access format Edited by John Paschal, EC;M's Electrical Calculations Handbook brings you the expertise of two of the industry's most respected names: McGraw-Hill and EC;M (Electrical Construction; Maintenance) Magazine--the premiere magazine for electrical design, construction, and maintenance. This handy guide packs all the essential calculations every electrical professional needs to properly design, install, and maintain electrical equipment, from wiring and circuits, to batteries and generators. You get basic electrical working definitions and concepts, and coverage of three-phase systems; math for electrical calculations, power factor correction, and calculations for harmonics; conductors; short-circuit calculations; grounding; lighting; transformers; motors; raceways; overcurrent devices; circuits for special loads; electrical design and layout calculations; electrical cost estimating; and conversion calculations.
Publication Date: 2000-12-15
The Electrical Engineering Handbook by Wai-Kai ChenThe Electrical Engineer's Handbook is an invaluable reference source for all practicing electrical engineers and students. Encompassing 79 chapters, this book is intended to enlighten and refresh knowledge of the practicing engineer or to help educate engineering students. This text will most likely be the engineer's first choice in looking for a solution; extensive, complete references to other sources are provided throughout. No other book has the breadth and depth of coverage available here. This is a must-have for all practitioners and students! The Electrical Engineer's Handbook provides the most up-to-date information in: Circuits and Networks, Electric Power Systems, Electronics, Computer-Aided Design and Optimization, VLSI Systems, Signal Processing, Digital Systems and Computer Engineering, Digital Communication and Communication Networks, Electromagnetics and Control and Systems. About the Editor-in-Chief... Wai-Kai Chen is Professor and Head Emeritus of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He has extensive experience in education and industry and is very active professionally in the fields of circuits and systems. He was Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Series I and II, President of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society and is the Founding Editor and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Circuits, Systems and Computers. He is the recipient of the Golden Jubilee Medal, the Education Award, and the Meritorious Service Award from the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society, and the Third Millennium Medal from the IEEE. Professor Chen is a fellow of the IEEE and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. * 77 chapters encompass the entire field of electrical engineering. * THOUSANDS of valuable figures, tables, formulas, and definitions. * Extensive bibliographic references.
Publication Date: 2004-11-16
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Terms by K. K. RamalingamAbout the Book: The Handbook of Mechanical Engineering terms contains short, precise definitions of about four thousand terms. These terms have been collected from different sources, edited and grouped under twenty six parts and given alphabetically under
Materials Handbook by François CardarelliThis unique and practical book provides quick and easy access to data on the physical and chemical properties of all classes of materials. The second edition has been much expanded to include whole new families of materials while many of the existing families are broadened and refined with new material and up-to-date information. Particular emphasis is placed on the properties of common industrial materials in each class. Detailed appendices provide additional information, and careful indexing and a tabular format make the data quickly accessible. This book is an essential tool for any practitioner or academic working in materials or in engineering.
Publication Date: 2008-03-19
Mechanical Engineer's Handbook by Dan B. Marghitu; J. David Irwin (Series edited by)The Mechanical Engineer's Handbook was developed and written specifically to fill a need for mechanical engineers and mechanical engineering students. With over 1000 pages, 550 illustrations, and 26 tables the Mechanical Engineer's Handbook is comprehensive, compact and durable. The Handbook covers major areas of mechanical engineering with succinct coverage of the definitions, formulas, examples, theory, proofs, and explanations of all principle subject areas. The Handbook is an essential, practical companion for all mechanical engineering students with core coverage of nearly all relevant courses included. Also, anyone preparing for the engineering licensing examinations will find this handbook to be an invaluable aid. Useful analytical techniques provide the student and practicing engineer with powerful tools for mechanical design. This book is designed to be a portable reference with a depth of coverage not found in "pocketbooks" of formulas and definitions and without the verbosity, high price, and excessive size of the huge encyclopedic handbooks. If an engineer needs a quick reference for a wide array of information, yet does not have a full library of textbooks or does not want to spend the extra time and effort necessary to search and carry a six pound handbook, this book is for them. * Covers all major areas of mechanical engineering with succinct coverage of the definitions, formulae, examples, theory, proofs and explanations of all principle subject areas * Boasts over 1000 pages, 550 illustrations, and 26 tables * Is comprehensive, yet affordable, compact, and durable with strong 'flexible' binding * Possesses a true handbook 'feel' in size and design with a full colour cover, thumb index, cross-references and useful printed endpapers
Publication Date: 2001-08-20
Case Studies in Mechanical Engineering by Stuart SabolUsing a case study approach, this reference tests the reader's ability to apply engineering fundamentals to real-world examples and receive constructive feedback Case Studies in Mechanical Engineering provides real life examples of the application of engineering fundamentals. They relate to real equipment, real people and real decisions. They influence careers, projects, companies, and governments. The cases serve as supplements to fundamental courses in thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer, instrumentation, economics, and statistics. The author explains equipment and concepts to solve the problems and suggests relevant assignments to augment the cases. Graduate engineers seeking to refresh their career, or acquire continuing education will find the studies challenging and rewarding. Each case is designed to be accomplished in one week, earning up to 15 hours of continuing education credit. Each case study provides methods to present an argument, work with clients, recommend action and develop new business. Key features: Highlights the economic consequences of engineering designs and decisions. Encourages problem solving skills. Application of fundamentals to life experiences. Ability to practice with real life examples. Case Studies in Mechanical Engineering is a valuable reference for mechanical engineering practitioners working in thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer and related areas.