This section provides information about books, articles, and journals pertaining to the LGBTQ+ community that NAU and CCC affiliates can access. Most of the resources listed here are part of the NAU Cline Library collection, though some are freely available on the internet.
If you can't find an item you are looking for in the NAU Cline Library collection, you can use document delivery to request the item from another library or institution. Document delivery is free to use and available to NAU and CCC affiliates. With document delivery, almost any item you can find on WorldCat is available to you, as well as most articles.
One of the most celebrated poetry books of the year. Born in Saigon, Vietnam, Ocean Vuong attended Brooklyn College. He is the author of two chapbooks as well as a full-length collection, Night Sky with Exit Wounds. A Ruth Lilly Fellow and winner of the Whiting Award, Ocean Vuong lives in New York City.
This timely and accessible contribution towards a deeper understanding of homophobia provides much-needed insight into the issue of prejudice in general. Topics discussed include: the nature of antigay prejudice, stereotypes and behaviours; the consequences of homophobia and related phenomena on the well-being of lesbians, gay men and bisexuals; and the critical need for psychology and science to confront homophobia and related issues.
In Reconsidering the Emergence of the Gay Novel in English and German, James P. Wilper examines a key moment in the development of the modern gay novel by analyzing four novels by German, British, and American writers. Wilper studies how the texts are influenced by and respond and react to four schools of thought regarding male homosexuality in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
2013 Finalist for the Lambda Literary Awards, LGBT Studies category. In Pray the Gay Away, Bernadette Barton argues that conventions of small town life, rules which govern Southern manners, and the power wielded by Christian institutions serve as a foundation for both passive and active homophobia in the Bible Belt. She explores how conservative Christian ideology reproduces homophobic attitudes and shares how Bible Belt gays negotiate these attitudes in their daily lives. Drawing on the remarkable stories of Bible Belt gays, Barton brings to the fore their thoughts, experiences and hard-won insights to explore the front lines of our national culture war over marriage, family, hate crimes, and equal rights. Pray the Gay Away illuminates their lives as both foot soldiers and casualties in the battle for gay rights.
Shortlisted for the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust of Canada Prize for Nonfiction; Longlisted for the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction; Stonewall Book Award Honor Book winner; Longlisted for Canada Reads. Tomboy Survival Guide is a funny and moving memoir told in stories, about how they learned to embrace their tomboy past while carving out a space for those of us who don't fit neatly into boxes or identities or labels. Tomboy Survival Guide warmly recounts Ivan's past as a diffident yet free-spirited tomboy, and maps their journey through treacherous gender landscapes and a maze of labels that don't quite stick, to a place of self-acceptance and an authentic and personal strength.
In this book, Kevin Nadal provides a thought-provoking review of the literature on discrimination and microaggressions toward LGBT people. The generous use of case examples makes the book ideal for gender studies courses and discussion groups. Each case is followed by analysis of the elements involved in microaggressions and discussion questions for the reader to reflect upon. This book includes advice for mental health practitioners, organisational leaders, educators, and students who want to adopt LGBT-accepting worldviews and practices. It has tips for how to discuss and advocate for LGBT issues in the realms of family, community, educational systems, and the government.
LGBTQ+ Journals Available through NAU's Cline Library
The Journal of Homosexuality is an internationally acclaimed, peer-reviewed publication devoted to publishing a wide variety of disciplinary and interdisciplinary scholarship to foster a thorough understanding of the complexities, nuances, and the multifaceted aspects of sexuality and gender. The chief aim of the journal is to publish thought-provoking scholarship by researchers, community activists, and scholars who employ a range of research methodologies and who offer a variety of perspectives to continue shaping knowledge production in the arenas of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) studies and queer studies.
Transgender Health is the first peer-reviewed journal dedicated to addressing the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout their lifespan and identifying gaps in knowledge as well as priority areas where policy development and research are needed to achieve healthcare equity.
The Gay & Lesbian Review / Worldwide (The G&LR) is a bimonthly magazine targeting an educated readership of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) men and women. Under the tagline, “a bimonthly journal of history, culture, and politics,” The G&LR publishes essays in a wide range of disciplines as well as reviews of books, movies, and plays.
The International Journal of Sexuality and Gender Studies (formerly called the Journal of Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Identity) is a progressive, interdisciplinary journal devoted to the exchange of the latest knowledge and ideas under the general categories of "sexuality" and "gender studies," and every major aspect of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender life. The Journal publishes peer- reviewed original articles, high quality research papers, personal essays, interviews, "round-table" discussions, reviews, and poetry that address all areas of sexuality and gender studies. On occasion, individual issues of the International Journal of Sexuality and Gender Studies focus on thematic topics.
The Columbia Journal of Gender and Law is edited and published entirely by students at the Columbia University School of Law. The Journal publishes interdisciplinary works rooted in feminist inquiry with the aim of promoting dialogue, debate, and awareness that will broaden the very concept of feminism as one that critically engages multiple and varied forms of social hierarchy and power differentials and their relation to the law.
The Journal of LGBT Youth is an international interdisciplinary research forum dedicated to improving the quality of life for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, two-spirit, intersex, queer, questioning, and allied youth.
Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality. In an effort to achieve the widest possible historical, geographic, and cultural scope, GLQ particularly seeks out new research into historical periods before the twentieth century, into non-Anglophone cultures, and into the experience of those who have been marginalized by race, ethnicity, age, social class, body morphology, or sexual practice. A notable feature is "The GLQ Archive," a special section featuring previously unpublished or unavailable primary materials that may serve as sources for future work in lesbian and gay studies.
Free LGBTQ+ Articles and Journals
Some journals make articles free for use. Those articles and journals are typically called open access. Anybody can access these articles. The articles and journals in this section are free for your use, regardless of whether you have access to NAU resources or not.
This study explores the experiences of aging among gay men to further explain the phenomenon of gay male aging in
contemporary terms, to put those experiences into a historically relevant context, and to expand upon previous findings
on aging within the gay male population. Nineteen self-identifying gay men from a metropolitan area in South Florida were
interviewed. The data collected were analyzed using grounded theory method. Findings from the study indicated that a great
deal of optimism was revealed by the participants of the study in spite of their past adversarial experiences related to their
sexuality and current challenges related to gay male sexuality and aging. Based on these findings, professionals working with
an older population should consider the supportive environments that can most benefit this population in the community
and even consider partnering with lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) oriented organizations to better serve the
needs of their clients.
Bisexuality is consistently associated with poor mental health outcomes. In population-based data, this is partially explained by income differences between bisexual people and lesbian, gay, and/or heterosexual individuals. However, the interrelationships between bisexuality, poverty, and mental health are poorly understood. In this paper, we examine the relationships between these variables using a mixed methods study of 302 adult bisexuals from Ontario, Canada. Participants were recruited using respondent-driven sampling to complete an internet-based survey including measures of psychological distress and minority stress. A subset of participants completed a semi-structured qualitative interview to contextualize their mental health experiences. Using information regarding household income, number of individuals supported by the income and geographic location, participants were categorized as living below or above the Canadian Low Income Cut Off (LICO). Accounting for the networked nature of the sample, participants living below the LICO had significantly higher mean scores for depression and posttraumatic stress disorder symptoms and reported significantly more perceived discrimination compared to individuals living above the LICO. Grounded theory analysis of the qualitative interviews suggested four pathways through which bisexuality and poverty may intersect to impact mental health: through early life experiences linked to bisexuality or poverty that impacted future financial stability; through effects of bisexual identity on employment and earning potential; through the impact of class and sexual orientation discrimination on access to communities of support; and through lack of access to mental health services that could provide culturally competent care. These mixed methods data help us understand the income disparities associated with bisexual identity in population-based data, and suggest points of intervention to address their impact on bisexual mental health.
Purpose: Research in Canada and the United States indicates that minority gender and sexuality status are consistently associated with health disparities and poor health outcomes, including cancer health. This article investigates experiences of cancer health and care, and access to knowledge for trans* and gender nonconforming people diagnosed with and treated for breast and/or gynecologic cancer. Our study contributes new understandings about gender minority populations that will advance knowledge concerning the provision of culturally appropriate care. This is the first study we are aware of that focuses on trans* and gender nonconforming peoples’ experiences of cancer care and treatment, support networks, and access to and mobilization of knowledge.
Methods: This article analyzes trans* and gender nonconforming patient interviews from the Cancer’s Margins project (www.lgbtcancer.ca): Canada’s first nationally-funded project that investigates the complex intersections of sexual and/or gender marginality, cancer knowledge, treatment experiences, and modes of the organization of
Results: Our analysis documents how different bodies of knowledge relative to cancer treatment and gendered embodiment are understood, accessed, and mobilized by trans* and gender nonconforming patients. Findings reported here suggest that one’s knowledge of a felt sense of gender is closely interwoven with knowledge concerning cancer treatment practices; a dynamic which organizes knowledge mobilities in cancer treatment.
Conclusions: The findings support the assertion that cisgender models concerning changes to the body that occur as a result of biomedical treatment for breast and/or gynecologic cancer are wholly inadequate in order to account for trans* and gender nonconforming peoples’ experiences of cancer treatments, and access to and mobilization of related knowledge
In recent years, the use of the word “gay” as a synonym for dumb or lame or stupid has become prevalent in our culture. Because of this, it is clear that many individuals do not consider the word to be a slur and are not offended by its use. Using an original data set (N = 790) collected from four Midwestern universities in the winter of 2011-2012, this article examines the characteristics of those college students who perceive the word gay to be a slur or who are offended. We find that those individuals who report having more gay friends are more likely to take offense at the use of the word gay as a slur even after controls are instituted. We also find that, contrary to expectations, attendance at religious services appears to have a direct relationship, with more frequent attenders more likely to express offense at the use of gay as a slur. Egalitarianism also emerged as a significant predictor. We offer suggestions as to why some college students perceive the word to be a slur while a majority of college students do not
Free Books and Book-Like Projects
Some publishers make their books and resources free for use. These resources are free to anybody who wants to use them, regardless of whether they have NAU affiliation or not. Some are books in the traditional sense. Some are full courses. Some are encyclopedia resources.
The glbtq project was founded in 2000 by Publisher Wik Wikholm to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online. The contents of the encyclopedia were formed and overseen by General Editor Claude Summers, Copy Editor Ted-Larry Pebworth, and Assistant to the Editor Linda Rapp. After more than two years of work, the site launched in 2003.
by Miliann Kang, Donovan Lessard, Laura Heston; University of Massachusetts c2019
This textbook introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks used in the interdisciplinary Women, Gender, Sexualities field. It unpacks the social construction of knowledge and categories of difference, processes and structures of power and inequality, with a focus on gendered labor in the global economy, and the historical development of feminist social movements. The book emphasizes feminist sociological approaches to analyzing structures of power, drawing heavily from empirical feminist research.
by Jimena Alvarado Chavarría, Portland Community College c2019
This course is an introduction to intersectionality and social justice. The course begins with some of the typical patterns that people experience when they’re confronting their privilege for the first time, including resistance, fragility, guilt, and shame. Since it’s an introductory course, there’s a lot of interesting ideas, but it doesn't delve deep into any of them.
by Caroline Cottet, Editor, E-International Relations Manuela Lavinas Picq, Editor, Amherst College c2019
When terms such as LGBT and queer cross borders they evolve and adjust to different political thinking. Queer became kvir in Kyrgyzstan and cuir in Ecuador, neither of which hold the English meaning. Translation is about crossing borders, but some languages travel more than others. Sexualities are usually translated from the core to the periphery, imposing Western LGBT identities onto the rest of the world. Many sexual identities are not translatable into English, and markers of modernity override native terminologies. All this matters beyond words. Translating sexuality in world politics forces us to confront issues of emancipation, colonisation, and sovereignty, in which global frameworks are locally embraced and/or resisted. Translating sexualities is a political act entangled in power politics, imperialism and foreign intervention. This book explores the entanglements of sex and tongue in international relations from Kyrgyzstan to Nepal, Japan to Tajikistan, Kurdistan to Amazonia.