Step Two: Search Resources - A Guide to Nursing - Evidence-Based Practice Research - Research Guides at Northern Arizona University

How to Search in Article Databases

Utilize different tutorials such as the ones below:

Request Full Text Articles

If the articles you need do not have full text, you can request that the Library obtain electronic copies for you as a free service.

* Go to "Document Delivery Services," located at the right of the Library homepage.

* Select your appropriate institution, NAU or CCC.

* Select "Article" under "Make Requests" and fill in article citation information.

Nursing Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
Article database covering the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain evidence, including systematic reviews, to inform healthcare decision-making for clinical treatment decisions. Provides other sources of information, including technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This version utilizes the EBSCO interface with the option to search across multiple EBSCO databases.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This version utilizes the OVID interface.
MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new window
Public resource which provides information about specific health conditions and diseases for both health consumers and professionals. Links to consumer health information from the National Institutes of Health, dictionaries and clinical trials.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Physician-authored clinical decision support resource used by clinicians to make point-of-care decisions. (In support of healthcare education in Arizona, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona has sponsored this for your use.)

Need Help?

NAU Librarians are available and can assist you by chat or email. You can schedule an individual research appointment. We will reply to emails within 24 hours, Monday through Friday (excluding holidays or other closures). View all hours.

Guidelines

National Guideline Clearinghouse - A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Citing Sources

Vodcast: APA Formatting: the Basics - Purdue OWL

APA Citing Resources

Tip: Refer to APA print manual.
RefWorks is a useful citation tool. This LibGuide and these video tutorials can help you navigate the software.
APA Official website
APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue University Online Writing Lab) - Offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.

A Guide to Nursing - Evidence-Based Practice Research: Step Two: Search Resources