CCC Library Faculty Guide

Thinking about incorporating Open Educational Resources in your course? We have a new OER Guide to help. 

The rumors are true: CCC now has access to The Chronicle of Higher Education. With our institutional subscription, you can read The Chronic (What?) cle of Higher Ed from anywhere, and subscribe to premium newsletters. Anyone on a CCC campus has seamless access to The Chronicle and its archives, and can login with comet ID and password off-campus access. 

You can also create a Chronicle account and get access that way. From The Chronicle homepage, simply click on the Log In link in the upper right-hand corner, and then Create an Account. Use your coconino.edu email address when you fill in your information, and then choose your newsletters by checking the boxes. Need help? Ask your friendly neighborhood librarian. 

Inside Higher Ed also publishes daily and weekly news updates--for free. Follow this link to sign up. 

Quick Background:

• CCC gave up its physical library some years ago, and since then the college as relied on a combination of electronic resources and an agreement with Cline Library at NAU, which gives our students access to their building and physical resources.
• CCC has no on-site physical library. Instead, we have a surprisingly excellent online library with databases, ebooks, and more. NAU's library is our physical library--books, study spaces, technology, wifi until the wee hours, all that library stuff, makerlab included--and CCC provides electronic resources for our students to access anywhere.
• The CCC online library collection should be more than adequate for a 2-year community college. While Cline Library is available as a physical location for CCC students, essential library services are well-provisioned via CCC. Luke, the CCC librarian, provides on-demand support to CCC patrons, class visits for courses with research-intensive projects, and interlibrary loan. If you or your students need anything, just ask!
• Parking at NAU: it's safest to assume that a permit is always required. For more details, see Cline's Parking & Directions page. 
• One thing I ask of faculty as the CCC Librarian is that they constantly remind their students that I exist. Because I’m not sitting behind a reference desk all day, surrounded by books and basking in the warm light of knowledge, students either forget that I’m here or feel like it’s too much trouble to track me down. I’ve tried to make the library website a conduit for getting help--sending me an email or text, or making an in-person or Zoom appointment.

How CCC Library Services Supports Teachers:

Class visits. Luke would be happy to visit your class this semester. Stop by room 450 or send Luke an email and you can talk about how Luke can help. Luke can work with students on general research skills, give them in-depth guidance on specific databases, or hang out and answer questions as your students explore research topics.

Streaming media. We currently have two film databases: Films on Demand (Junior College), and Academic Video Online. Both are accessible in Canvas, allowing you to embed films directly into your class. If you need any help, please see Luke for all these requests and he’ll facilitate getting these materials into your course shells. 

Need something? If our online resources don't cover what your students need, don’t hesitate to ask Luke about your need for any information or research resource. Luke has also made many connections at Cline Library, so if you’re interested in making use of primary sources from their special collections, or 3D printing in their new Maker Lab, Luke would be happy to help make that happen.