There are a number of ways in which you can participate in Native American Heritage Month. Check out what is going on at the Native American Cultural Center, NAU Events and The Office of Inclusion.
For more information about celebrations, please visit Native American Heritage Month events or contact the Native American Cultural Center at NAU-NACC@nau.edu.
Click through for more informative and interactive experiences:
Starting on November 1st, the Office of Inclusion (IMQ) will be raffling these books on their Instagram (@nau_inclusion) They are also available at the Cline Library for check out!
by Ramona Emerson
Longlisted for the National Book Award - This blood-chilling debut set in New Mexico’s Navajo Nation is equal parts gripping crime thriller, supernatural horror, and poignant portrayal of coming of age on the reservation.
Native American Heritage Collection ; PS3605.M485 S58 2022
The 500 Years of Indigenous Resistance Comic Book
by Gord Hill
The 500 Years of Resistance graphic novel powerfully portrays flashpoints in history when Indigenous peoples have risen up and fought back against colonizers and other oppressors
Native American Heritage Collection ; E91 .H55 2021
by Sasha taqwšəblu LaPointe
From the Upper Skagit and Nooksack Indian Tribes and author of the well-regarded memoir Red, LaPointe opens her plangent first collection with poems assaying language as a means of mending a self splintered between cultures
Native American Heritage Collection ; PS3612.A64394 R67 2023
by Nick medina
A debut from Nick Medina, of the Tunica-Biloxi Tribe in Louisiana, Anna Horn bullied by classmates, must also put up with condescending visitors at her reservation's casino. But she has worse things on her mind: the reservation is being stalked by some unknown horror, and girls (including her little sister) are rapidly disappearing.
Native American Heritage Collection; PS3613.E314 S57 2023
by Moniquill Blackgoose
The people of Masquapaug haven’t seen a native dragon since long before the Anglish arrived with gunpowder, colonizing their land. When An-equs, 15, bonds with a fresh hatchling named Kasaqua, she is forced to go to an An-glish dragoneer school and is thrown into a completely different, restricting culture that is suspicious of her and her people at every turn.
Native American Heritage Collection ; PS3602.L3252947 T6 2023
Thinning Blood: A Memoir of Family, Myth, and Identity
by Leah Myers
In this searing debut, Myers—the last member of the Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe in her family line—explores what it means to be "a Native woman at the end of a culture." "No one taught me to be Native American," she begins.
Native American Heritage Collection ; E99.C82 M94 2023
by Morgan Talty
Talty’s debut collection of 12 connected tales gives listeners a glimpse into what it means to be a modern Penobscot living on a reservation in Maine. Each is full of heart and humor, capturing the trauma and hardship, but also the joy that comes with reservation life.
Native American Heritage Collection ; PS3620.A586 N54 2022
by Tayi Tibble
Gen Z New Zealander Tibble's luscious, widely praised debut poetry collection finally arrives stateside. Channeling her Māori heritage and the zeitgeist of her childhood (what she calls "the red fog of memory"), Tibble transforms tales of mundanity into spellbinding, melodious encounters.
Searching for Savanna: The Murder of One Native American Woman and the Violence Against the Many
by Mona Gable
Freelance writer Gable, whose grandmother was a citizen of the Chickasaw Nation, uses Savanna's story to highlight the sexual and other physical violence that Indigenous women and girls have faced since colonization and that continues unaddressed today.
by Oscar Hokeah
Indigenous Ever Gei-mausaddle wrestles with rage over centuries of murderous injustice, as his family copes with more immediate pain. His grandmother thinks they’d be safer if they moved, while both his grandfather and his Kiowa cousin want to connect him to his heritage. Now all he has to do is figure out what he really wants and find a way to save his family.
Native American Heritage Collection ; PS3608.O482755 C35 2022
