Native American Heritage Month is an annual celebration that takes place in November throughout the United States of America. this commemorative month honors the cultures, traditions, histories, and heritages of Native Americans. It is a time educate our communities about the important sacrifices and contributions(historic and current), that Native Americans have made to our country and communities.
“Native American Heritage Month recognizes the significance of Native American history, culture and issues and what this means to our students, faculty, staff and the local Flagstaff community" Ora Marek-Martinez Associate Vice President, Office of Native American Initiatives.
For more information about celebrations, please visit Native American Heritage Month events or contact the Native American Cultural Center at NAU-NACC@nau.edu.
A Sampling of Films Available in the NAU Cline Library
University login required.
A Sampling of Books Available in the NAU Cline Library
First check out these books that the Office of Inclusion (IMQ) will be raffling on their Instagram (@nau_inclusion). Also Available in the NAU Cline Library Native American Heritage Collection
To honor Native American Heritage Month, The Cline Library has selected 5 representative books from our collections that might serve as an introduction to a rich and diverse heritage of fiction, nonfiction, history, poetry, memoir, and more by and about Indigenous peoples in the United States.
More titles with established writers such as Louise Erdrich, Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, and Joy Harjo as well as newer writers such as Tommy Orange, Stephen Graham Jones, and Jake Skeet can be found in our Native American Heritage Collection, our stacks and in our Special Collections and Archives.
by Sherwin Bitsui
Drawing upon Navajo history and enduring tradition, renowned poet and Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at NAU Sherwin Bitsui leads us on a treacherous, otherworldly passage through the American Southwest.
Native American Heritage Collection; PS3602.I85 A6 2019
by Dina Gilio-Whitaker
The story of Native peoples’ resistance to environmental injustice and land incursions, and a call for environmentalists to learn from the Indigenous community’s rich history of activism Special Collections; E98.S67 G55 2019
by Pekka Hämäläinen
Prize-winning scholar Pekka Hämäläinen rewrites 400 years of American history from Indigenous perspectives, overturning the dominant origin story of the United States.
Native American Heritage Collection; E77.H197 2022
by Tommy Orange
Through his large cast of interwoven characters, Orange explores a wide range of experiences among Indigenous peoples living in the United States in this PEN/Hemingway Award–winning novel.
Native American Heritage Collection; PS3615.R32 T48 2018
by N. Scott Momaday
An evocation of three things in particular: a landscape that is incomparable, a time that is gone forever, and the human spirit, which endures.
Available Online - Ebscohost Ebooks
For more information about celebrations, please contact the Native American Cultural Center at NAU-NACC@nau.edu
