Research Guides: Streaming Media: Subscribed Streaming Videos

Swank Top 1000 Videos This link opens in a new window
Find the top 1000 feature films and documentaries for use in a curricular setting.
Notes: Most desktop/laptop computers require Chrome or Firefox to view films. Mobile devices require Swank Media Player app.
Other than classroom viewing on campus by enrolled NAU students, public performance of these films is not permitted.
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Primary documentaries for specific NAU classes, these streaming video titles are available to all NAU affiliates. If you have trouble accessing these videos, please refer to this document.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Collection of issues-based documentary films from leading film producers and distributors.
AVON: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Database of video content covering topics in social science, arts, humanities, business, science, and engineering.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a database that provides access to over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments, on your computer.

Documentaries

AVON: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Database of video content covering topics in social science, arts, humanities, business, science, and engineering.
BBC Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Find BBC documentaries on topics that span multiple subjects, such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, art, and more.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Collection of issues-based documentary films from leading film producers and distributors.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Specializes in streaming videos of award-winning documentaries on subjects across the curriculum. Especially strong in the social sciences, history, and current events.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a database that provides access to over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments, on your computer.
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Primary documentaries for specific NAU classes, these streaming video titles are available to all NAU affiliates. If you have trouble accessing these videos, please refer to this document.
PBS This link opens in a new window
This collection assembles hundreds of documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one online interface. PBS shows are also available in Kanopy and Films on Demand

Film Studies/ Motion Pictures

Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
Find streaming of videos of silent films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Swank Top 1000 Videos This link opens in a new window
Find the top 1000 feature films and documentaries for use in a curricular setting.
Notes: Most desktop/laptop computers require Chrome or Firefox to view films. Mobile devices require Swank Media Player app.
Other than classroom viewing on campus by enrolled NAU students, public performance of these films is not permitted.

Art

Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
This online streaming film collection delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. The collection spans period and region, including coverage of the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art. In addition to art history and theory, the collection addresses applied topics such as architectural and graphic design.
Fashion Studies Online: This link opens in a new window
Find videos that cover the history of fashion and costume around the world in addition to contemporary footage featuring major fashion shows and designers.

Business

Business Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Find videos including executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, how-to features, and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment

Counseling and Psychology

Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Find streaming video of therapy sessions, lectures, interviews, and consultations in social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Diagnosing Mental Disorders: DSM-5™ and ICD-10 This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth videos exploring diagnoses of mental disorders using specific criteria from DSM-5 and ICD-10.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Motivational Interviewing Step by Step: 4-Video Series. Psychotherapy.net is committed to the best streaming media in the Psychotherapy, Counseling, Addictions and Psychology fields. Cline Library currently subscribes to only 6 videos in this collection.

Education

Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Find research-based professional development video resources including teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Volume II expands upon Volume I to focus on contemporary subjects and emerging teaching approaches, emphasizing special needs, English as a second language, and the US Common Core standards.

Ethnic and Gender Studies

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
Find contemporary films featuring voices and perspectives from Asian filmmakers, with a strong concentration on China, India, Iran, South Korea, Southeast Asia, Turkey, Hong Kong, Afghanistan, and Vietnam.
Black Studies in Videos This link opens in a new window
Find acclaimed documentaries, archival footage, and interviews chronicling the evolution of black culture in the United States.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, feature films, and short films made by and for indigenous people and communities from around the world; some are in native languages. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, Indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Watch documentaries from Latin America about issues such as human rights, violence, immigration, literacy, popular culture, and political history.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Includes access to volume 1 and volume 2.
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

Health Sciences

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Originally designed for medical and dental students, the video atlas' realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, make it useful for allied health students and anyone looking for information about human anatomy.
Health and Society in Video This link opens in a new window
Find hundreds of documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews on todays latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new window
Find an extensive video collection in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, sudden-death, brain trauma, pediatric athletes, gender and ability/disability diversity in sports, bodyweight training, triathlon training, progressive pilates, and much more.

History

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Find videos on American historical events including newsreels, documentaries, interviews from Pre-Columbian America to present.
American Newsreels in Video This link opens in a new window
News footage covering the years leading up to and during the Second World War. United Newsreel provides more than 35 hours of the American weekly newsreel produced by the U.S. Office of War Information from 1942 to 1946, complete with transcripts, while the Universal Newsreel provides more than 200 hours of content with full transcripts from Universal Studios’ biweekly series that ran from 1929 to 1946.
The March of Time This link opens in a new window
Watch newsreels from the 1935-1967 film series The March of Time, a program that addressed controversial topics of the period. Searchable transcripts run alongside each video.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Find streaming video that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. This collection includes documentaries on human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall.
World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966 This link opens in a new window
World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966 captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films give scholars insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.
60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window
Find video segments from the news show 60 Minutes alongside full-text transcripts with options to search by subject, host, historical event, and many more.

Music and Performing Arts

Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Find streaming video of dance production, documentaries in jazz, ballet, tap, contemporary dance, experimental and improvisational dance.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming video for theater education. Includes filmed stage performances, master classes, documentaries, and training material, in addition to playlists, video clips, and on-screen transcripts.

Sciences

Environmental Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentary films and footage from diverse sources covering environmental studies, including ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science, 1970 to present.

Social Sciences

Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video This link opens in a new window
Find a searchable collection of interviews and documentaries giving an inside look into the justice system, complete with training videos designed to help students respond to potentially dangerous scenarios.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, feature films, and short films made by and for indigenous people and communities from around the world; some are in native languages. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, Indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives This link opens in a new window
Includes films from ethnographic film festivals as well as student and faculty field recordings and edited films held in university and institutional repositories.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I & II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window
Find streaming online videos of classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from anthropologists and ethnographers, field recordings, select feature films, and indigenous media.

Guides & FAQs

How Do I?

Meet With A

Borrow & Request

Spaces

Computers & Technology

Services For...

Visit the Library

Policies & Privileges

News & Events

Our Organization

Unique Collections

Streaming Media

Documentaries

Film Studies/ Motion Pictures

Art

Business

Counseling and Psychology

Education

Ethnic and Gender Studies

Health Sciences

History

Music and Performing Arts

Sciences

Social Sciences