OER search engines
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) searches across multiple OER textbook repositories
An OER textbook search engine from SUNY Geneseo
Searches across multiple open textbook sites for OER.
Search online for images that can be used for free (with attribution)
You can also do a Google Advanced Search and set the Usage Rights to "Free to use, share, or modify" to locate OER.
OER subject guides
Search for OER by subject via SUNY-Geneseo's search tool
A list of large, popular repositories of OER separated by subject.
Google Docs made by Portland Community College librarians in response to requests for help from instructors.
OER Textbook Collections
An initiative of Rice University, this site provides access to peer-reviewed titles in a variety of fields.
Hundreds of complete, open college-level textbooks. Many include peer-reviews.
A curated collection of open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty.
Saylor offers full courses online. Their texts and content may be useful in your own courses.
California State University System's showcase for courses that use open e-textbooks
Free online textbooks, now somewhat dated.
A list of open textbooks in various subdisciplines of Mathematics approved by the AIM editorial board.
OER textbooks in Mathematics and Physics
A collection of OER from across the U.S.
A collection of open-content, collectively written textbooks (similar to Wikipedia).
Broader Open Access Book Collections
(Note: these are free to access, but not necessarily available to revise and remix as OER are)
Freely accessible academic books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Open access academic books and chapters.
High quality academic books in the sciences
Freely available books in the sciences, engineering, and medicine.
A central site for accessing open books
The full text of more than 50,000 classic public domain works.
A massive collection of scanned books, with full-text available for those in the public domain.
OER Courses
Large library of MOOCs, some of which have material freely licensed for re-use.
Library of college-level courses from a variety of high-profile universities. Some materials are freely licensed for re-use.
Open public health courses and materials.
Offers complete courses composed of mostly open materials that can be copied and adapted for free. Lumen also offers partnering with institutions to manage and adapt resources for courses at a cost to students.
Open access courses from MIT.
A series of modules in the field of Psychology from Introductory courses to more advanced topics.
The WA Open Course Library project offers 81 of Washington's most enrolled courses. There are a lot of great readings in these course files.
Open Learning initiative from the Open University in the UK.
Complete courses from Carnegie Mellon University.
Open courseware from the University of Michigan.
Open access to a selection of introductory courses taught at Yale University.
Open Oxford U audio and video series.
Saylor offers full courses online. Their texts and content may be useful in your own courses.
OER Repositories
This repository is one of the biggest and best known places to find and share teaching resources.
Seeks to collect and distribute a variety of OER at various levels and in many subject areas.
A large and growing collection of digitized historical material
Images, text, video, and sounds from across the U.S.
OER from throughout the University System of Georgia.
A repository of free resources on culture and education, in all formats.
A place to find open access educational resources for library instruction.
Multimedia OER Collections
Search online for images that can be used for free (with attribution)
Many media clips for use in teaching, mostly available under Fair Use guidelines.
Free science and medical videos
A repository of multimedia academic content developed primarily for high school and college students.
Royalty-free music available to use in videos.
Hundreds of short educational videos covering many subjects; especially strong collections in science and math
Free films and videos from Internet Archive
Interactive simulations for science and math (mostly OER).
Peer-reviewed instructional materials online, "created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments."
Collections in the public domain.
A well-known collection of CC-licensed talks on topics of all sorts.
A wide variety of video content, some of which is open access.
Free, high quality images for research.
The Open Textbooks for Rural Arizona initiative is a grant project funded by the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education (FIPSE) through the U.S. Department of Education. Led by Yavapai College, a consortium of eight Arizona rural community colleges, was formed to increase student cost savings through access to Open Educational Resources (OER).
The initiative already has a series of open texts being used by Arizona Community College faculty, many of which are in courses that meet the AGEC standards.
Texts are available online via the OER Commons here (link opens in a new window).