Medscape Mobile provides a clinical reference with continually updated information on over 3,000 diseases, conditions, and procedures; peer-reviewed evidence-based content; articles enhanced with multimedia including over 2,500 images and more than 150 videos; and step-by-step instructions on clinical procedures. It also has a drug reference and interaction checker. Can be used without internet connection after download.
Access reliable drug, disease, and diagnostic information at the point of care. The free Rx Drug Reference includes brand, generic, and OTC medicines, drug interaction check and pill ID. Can be used without internet connection after download.
Article database covering the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Physician-authored clinical decision support resource used by clinicians to make point-of-care decisions. (In support of healthcare education in Arizona, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona has sponsored this for your use.)
Evaluating Health Information
Information from apps should be used in context with your knowledge of evidence-based practice. Examples of criteria for evaluating health information:
Communicate quickly with patients using translated medical phrases in Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, Hindi, Korean, Malay, Portuguese, Russian, Tagalog, Vietnamese, and more. Show phrases with text, and play with audio. Free, but requires an access code that is requested after downloading the app. Comes with English-Spansh translation. To unlock additional languages (free), share Canopy with colleagues via social media.
MediBabble is a free, professional-grade medical interpretation app for healthcare providers. MediBabble is a history-taking and physical exam application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and quality of care for non-English speaking patients. Can be used without internet connection after download.
Blausen. With this free download you can experience just some of the power of the Blausen Human Atlas. Turn the 360 degree rotatable Human Body figure, see narrated 3D animations of five common medical conditions (Asthma, Delivery, Diabetes, Rheumatoid Arthritis of the Hand and Stroke) and explore a sample of the searchable 1,500+ term medical glossary and 1,200 cross referenced, related still images.
Calculate. From the maker of the apps 'The ECG Guide' and 'Pedi STAT' comes 'Calculate', a next-generation clinical calculator and decision support tool, freely available to the medical community. ‘Calculate’ is focused on highlighting tools which are actually useful in clinical practice and serve to impact diagnosis, treatment or determining prognosis. Can be used without internet connection after download.
Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS) is an application designed and developed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS), Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), the Nation's lead Federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes and patient safety. The ePSS application was developed to assist primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Can be used without internet connection after download.
MedPage Today Mobile puts breaking medical news, comprehensive reference information and FREE CME/CE credits at your fingertips, with daily coverage of over 30 specialties and annual coverage of over 60 meetings and symposia.
Micromedex. A free resource for on-the-go access to the industry’s most trusted clinical reference information. An internet connection is not required, allowing for access at anytime from anywhere. Drug Information contains concise information on 4500+ search terms. Can be used without internet connection after download.