The IOM (2011) defined clinical practice guidelines as "statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options."
AAP Practice Guidelines: Evidence-based decision-making tools for managing common pediatric conditions. Access provided through the journal Pediatrics, via the University of Arizona (on-site at Phoenix Biomedical Campus only).
ACP develops three different types of clinical recommendations: Clinical Practice Guidelines, Clinical Guidance Statements, and Best Practice Advice. ACP's goal is to provide clinicians with recommendations based on the best available evidence; to inform clinicians of when there is no evidence; and finally, to help clinicians deliver the best health care possible.
The CMA Infobase is a database of evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs). Maintained by the Canadian Medical Association, it includes approximately 1,200 CPGs developed or endorsed by authoritative medical or health organizations in Canada.
ICSI champions the use of evidence-based medicine. A cornerstone of its work is enlisting clinicians from its membership to perform rigorous reviews of current scientific literature and develop evidence-based guidelines and protocols on numerous health conditions that enable clinicians in 180 countries to practice best medicine
Article database covering the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
A collection of databases that contain evidence, including systematic reviews, to inform healthcare decision-making for clinical treatment decisions. Provides other sources of information, including technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface.