Research Guides: A Guide to Research in Science Teaching and Learning: Subject specific databases

Looking for articles on teaching and learning? Start with education databases:

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
A database of education publications covering a wide range of topics, including continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural education, and much more.
ERIC Education Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to education-related literature, including citations to articles and research reports. Includes some fulltext.

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Database of citations and some fulltext articles from education journals and magazines, with a primary audience of professional educators and administrators.
Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
New content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available.
Database of academic journals and books in the fields of management, business, education, library studies, health care, and engineering.

Broaden your search with multidisciplinary databases:

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles, books, and conference proceedings spanning the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. For an alternative, try Web of Science.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.

Or, try these science databases:

ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and books for the sciences and social sciences.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Database of articles relevant to chemistry and associated disciplines such as biomedicine and engineering. Provides the capability of searching by chemical substance, structure, formula, and reaction.

First-time users must register here before using SciFinder.

What's an article database?

Quick Search is great for doing broad searches but a subject specific article database allows you to search for articles on a particular topic.
Article databases differ by:

Subject coverage:
Some databases index articles from a specific discipline, such as forestry or medicine, while other databases index articles from many different disciplines.

Document & publication type:
Some databases focus on indexing one type of document, such as scholarly research articles or popular news articles. Other databases index a mix of publications.

Time coverage:
Some databases index articles published several hundred years ago up to the present, while others only index recently published articles.

Why search more than one database?
Since databases contain different sets of article records, one database might provide you with better results than another -- so try searching several!