CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 95th Edition by William M. Haynes (Editor)Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 95th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. The 95th Edition of the Handbook includes 22 new tables and major updates and expansions. A new series highlighting the achievements of some of the major historical figures in chemistry and physics was initiated with the 94th edition. This series is continued with this edition, which is focused on Galileo Galilei, James Clerk Maxwell, Marie Sklodowska Curie, and Linus Carl Pauling. This series, which provides biographical information, a list of major achievements, and notable quotations attributed to each of the renowned chemists and physicists, will be continued in succeeding editions. Each edition will feature two chemists and two physicists. Available in traditional print format, as an eBook, and online, this reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach. New tables: Section 8: Analytical Chemistry Figures of Merit Common Symbols Used in Gas and Liquid Chromatographic Schematic Diagrams Varieties of Hyphenated Gas Chromatography with Mass Spectrometry Section 15: Practical Laboratory Data Standard Fittings for Compressed Gas Cylinders Plug and Outlet Configurations for Common Laboratory Devices Section 16: Health and Safety Information Abbreviations Used in the Assessment and Presentation of Laboratory Hazards Incompatible Chemicals Explosion (Shock) Hazards Water-Reactive Chemicals Testing Requirements for Peroxidizable Compounds Tests for the Presence of Peroxides Pyrophoric Compounds - Compounds That Are Reactive with Air Flammability Hazards of Common Solvents Selection of Laboratory Gloves Selection of Respirator Cartridges and Filters Selection of Protective Laboratory Garments Protective Clothing Levels Chemical Fume Hoods and Biological Safety Cabinets Gas Cylinder Safety and Stamped Markings Laser Hazards in the Laboratory General Characteristics of Ionizing Radiation for the Purpose of Practical Application of Radiation Protection Radiation Safety Units Significantly updated and expanded tables: Section 1: Basic Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors Update of Standard Atomic Weights (2013) Update of Atomic Masses and Abundances Section 8: Analytical Chemistry Expansion of Abbreviations and Symbols Used in Analytical Chemistry Section 9: Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy Update of Bond Dissociation Energies Section 12: Properties of Solids Major update and Expansion of Electron Stopping Powers Section 14: Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics Major Update of Interstellar Molecules Update of Atmospheric Concentration of Carbon Dioxide, 1958-2013 Update of Global Temperature Trend, 1880-2013 Section 15: Practical Laboratory Data Major update of Reference Points on the ITS-90 Temperature Scale Update of Laboratory Solvents and Other Liquid Reagents Section 16:
Call Number: QD65 .C88 2014 Main Desk Reserves
Publication Date: 2014-06-04
Materials Handbook by François CardarelliThis unique and practical book provides quick and easy access to data on the physical and chemical properties of all classes of materials. The second edition has been much expanded to include whole new families of materials while many of the existing families are broadened and refined with new material and up-to-date information. Particular emphasis is placed on the properties of common industrial materials in each class. Detailed appendices provide additional information, and careful indexing and a tabular format make the data quickly accessible. This book is an essential tool for any practitioner or academic working in materials or in engineering.
Publication Date: 2008-03-19
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics by Paul Murdin (Editor)A collaboration between the Institute of Physics Publishing and Macmillan Reference Ltd, this work presents an extensive and comprehensive reference on astronomy and astrophysics. It has 800 contributors, over 2500 entries, is extensively cross-referenced - over 7500 links, and has extensive indexes - up to 12000 index entries. It should be of interest to undergraduates, graduate students, researchers and professionals, as well as to committed amateurs, librarians and lay people.
Call Number: QB14 .E54 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas by Graham WoanThe Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas is a quick-reference aid for students and professionals in the physical sciences and engineering. It contains more than 2000 of the most useful formulas and equations found in undergraduate physics courses, covering mathematics, dynamics and mechanics, quantum physics, thermodynamics, solid state physics, electromagnetism, optics and astrophysics. An exhaustive index allows the required formulas to be located swiftly and simply, and the unique tabular format crisply identifies all the variables involved. The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas comprehensively covers the major topics explored in undergraduate physics courses. It is designed to be a compact, portable, reference book suitable for everyday work, problem solving or exam revision. All students and professionals in physics, applied mathematics, engineering and other physical sciences will want to have this essential reference book within easy reach.
Call Number: QC61 .W67 2000
Publication Date: 2000-06-19
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Sun by Kenneth R. LangThe Sun is our powerhouse, sustaining life on Earth. It energizes our planet and fuels the engine of life. Its warmth drives our weather, lifting water from the seas and producing winds that drive clouds over the continents. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Sun is a fundamental, up-to-date reference source of information about the Sun, from basic material to detailed concepts. The many full-colour figures and photographs throughout the book help to make all the information highly accessible. The text is organized in a thematic way, with chapters on the properties of the Sun as a star and its place in the Galaxy and the Universe. There are chapters that deal with the science of the Sun's interior and its visible disk, and what makes it shine. The work also covers solar flares and the solar wind, and their impact on the Earth.
Call Number: QB521 .L24 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-02
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Meteorites by O. Richard NortonBeautifully illustrated with over 140 full colour images, The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Meteorites provides a thorough guide to these fascinating extraterrestrial rocks. Meteorites are our only contact with materials from beyond the Earth-Moon system. Using well known petrologic techniques, this book reveals in vivid colour their extraordinary external and internal structures. Looking deeper still, right to the atomic level, they begin to tell us of the environment within the solar nebula that existed before the planets accreted. In recent years, meteorites have caught the imagination of scientist and collector alike. An army of people are now actively searching for them in the hot and cold deserts of Earth. This book is a valuable guide to assist the searchers in the field to recognize the many classes of meteorites. It is further a reference source for students, teachers and scientists who wish to probe deeper these amazing rocks from space.