Research Guides: Justice Studies Research: Home

Hello. How may I help you?

Aimée Quinn

her/hers/ella

Email Me

Contact:

Assistant Librarian
LR 33
NAU-Yuma

928-317-6435

Data Sets

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data covering topics from sociology,
political science, economics, demography, education, childcare, health care, crime, minority populations,
aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations.

Note: First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need
your email address and password to download data. Assistance in locating, accessing and analyzing ICPSR
data is available; contact personnel are listed on the ICPSR Help pages.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Database for finding data sets, data repositories, and data studies.

Campus Security Statistics
The Office of Post Secondary Education (OPE) provides statistics on reported criminal offenses for over 6000 colleges and universities in the United States.
Gun Violence Archive
National Institute of Corrections: State Corrections Statistics
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
From the website: The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York.
Tribal Crime Data Collections Activities, 2022
U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics Data Analysis Tools
Uniform Crime Reports/Crime in the United States

Other sites to know about

Caselaw Access Project, Harvard Law School
The goal of this project is to make all U.S. case law digitally available back to 1658.
The Supreme Court Database
The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2021 terms.

Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database including citation and abstract indexing, full text access to many journals, and author profiles.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses and publishers.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
An expansive archive of materials relating to indigenous law, including hundreds of treaties, tribal codes, constitutions, and more.
HeinOnline’s Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law* was created from a desire to consolidate the wealth of material available on indigenous American life and law, and to share the tremendous influence that indigenous peoples and their cultures have had on the development of the United States of America. With nearly 3,800 titles and more than 1.5 million total pages, this library includes an expansive archive of historic materials. Included in the database are hundreds of treaties, treaty-related publications, tribal codes, constitutions, federal case law, government reports, scholarly works, and the entirety of Title 25 (Indians) of the U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations.

*Formerly known as the American Indian Law Collection.
LexisNexis (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a database that features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Content includes resources such as The New York Times, company profiles, and SEC filings.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
New content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available.
Database of full text journal articles relevant for the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine. Only includes journals published by Sage.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database for sociology research, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to five U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. See coverage below.
- The New York Times (1980-present)
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
- Washington Post (1987-present)
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to the Wiley-Blackwell collection of electronic journals across all subject areas, with extensive coverage in science, technology, and engineering.

Citation Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles, books, and conference proceedings spanning the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. For an alternative, try Web of Science.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.

Journal Collections

Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
New content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available.
Database of academic journals and books in the fields of management, business, education, library studies, health care, and engineering.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities and social sciences. Most journals in this collection are published by non-commercial publishers such as university presses and scholarly societies.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
New content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available.
Database of full text journal articles relevant for the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine. Only includes journals published by Sage.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and books for the sciences and social sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to the Wiley-Blackwell collection of electronic journals across all subject areas, with extensive coverage in science, technology, and engineering.

Podcasts and Videos

PODCASTS

VIDEOS

Prison for Kids (may require NAU ID and password to watch)

Behind Closed Doors (deals with domestic violence)

The Future of Criminology

Former FBI Agent Explains How to Read Body Language | Tradecraft/WIRED