Hello. How may I help you?
Data Sets
Data excellence. Research impact. | ICPSR- ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data covering topics from sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, childcare, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations.
Note: First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data. Assistance in locating, accessing and analyzing ICPSR data is available; contact personnel are listed on the ICPSR Help pages.
Data Citation Index- Database for finding data sets, data repositories, and data studies.
Campus Safety and Security- The Office of Post Secondary Education (OPE) provides statistics on reported criminal offenses for over 6000 colleges and universities in the United States.
Gun Violence Archive- The Gun Violence Archive is an online archive of gun violence incidents collected from over 7,500 law enforcement, media, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide near-real time data about the results of gun violence. GVA is an independent data collection and research group with no affiliation with any advocacy organization.
U.S. Criminal Justice Data – The Sentencing Project-The Sentencing Project compiles state-level data to provide a snapshot of key indicators of mass incarceration’s impact in the United States.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics- The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York.
Tribal Crime Data Collection Activities, 2025 - This report fulfills the requirement of the Tribal Law and Order Act of 2010 (TLOA; P.L. 111-211, 124 Stat. 2258, § 251(b)) to report annually on BJS’s activities to establish and enhance a tribal crime data collection system. It summarizes BJS’s tribal data collection activities during 2024 and planned through July 2025.
Bureau of Justice Statistics- BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice.
Crime/Law Enforcement Stats (UCR Program) — FBI- The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement. It also provides information for students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public.
Other Sites to Know About
Caselaw Access Project- The Caselaw Access Project (“CAP”) expands public access to U.S. law. Our goal is to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law School Library.
The Supreme Court Database- The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2024 terms.
Podcasts and Videos
PODCASTS
VIDEOS
Prison for Kids (may require NAU ID and password to watch)
Behind Closed Doors (deals with domestic violence)
Former FBI Agent Explains How to Read Body Language | Tradecraft/WIRED
Databases
AVON- Academic Video Online- Database of video content covering topics in social science, arts, humanities, business, science, and engineering.
Communication & Mass Media Complete- A comprehensive database including citation and abstract indexing, full text access to many journals, and author profiles.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text- This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
Ethnic NewsWatch Collection - ProQuest- Database of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses and publishers.
Films On Demand- Films on Demand is a database that provides access to over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments, on your computer.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law - HeinOnline.org- An expansive archive of materials relating to indigenous law, including hundreds of treaties, tribal codes, constitutions, and more.
*Formerly known as the American Indian Law Collection.
Nexis- Nexis Uni is a database that features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Content includes resources such as The New York Times, company profiles, and SEC filings.
PBS - This collection assembles hundreds of documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one online interface. PBS shows are also available in Kanopy and Films on Demand
Sage Journals- New content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available. Database of full text journal articles relevant for the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine. Only includes journals published by Sage.
SocINDEX with Full Text-Database for sociology research, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations.
U.S. Major Dailies - ProQuest- U.S. Major Dailies provides access to five U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. See coverage below.
- The New York Times (1980-present)
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
- Washington Post (1987-present)
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Wiley Online Library- Provides full text access to the Wiley-Blackwell collection of electronic journals across all subject areas, with extensive coverage in science, technology, and engineering.
Citation Databases
Scopus- Citation database of scholarly articles, books, and conference proceedings spanning the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. For an alternative, try Web of Science.
Web of Science Core Collection- Citation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.
Journal Collections
Emerald Publishing- New content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available.
Database of academic journals and books in the fields of management, business, education, library studies, health care, and engineering.
Project MUSE- Database of articles from peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities and social sciences. Most journals in this collection are published by non-commercial publishers such as university presses and scholarly societies.
Sage Journals: Discover world-class research- New content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available. Database of full text journal articles relevant for the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine. Only includes journals published by Sage.
ScienceDirect.com- Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and books for the sciences and social sciences.
Wiley Online Library- Provides full text access to the Wiley-Blackwell collection of electronic journals across all subject areas, with extensive coverage in science, technology, and engineering