Data Clean Up
-
TrifactaClean, refine and visualize complex data relatively quickly. Used to be called Data Wrangler and was developed by the Stanford Visualization Group.
-
Open RefineOpen-source software that allows you to clean, refine and transform large sets of data. Formerly known as Google Refine but no longer supported by Google.
Chart Generators
All of these require submitting data to an online service. If your data is sensitive, you may be able to just upload your summary statistics.
Plotly allows users to import their dataset directly to the program and generate a wide variety of visualizations. Most are available, but some require a pro account. Free users must still have an account and save the image publicly before it can be exported. The intended purpose is interactive, D3 and WebGL charts, but static charts can be created as well. Can be used for free as long as the visualization AND DATA is made publicly accessible.
Google Fusion Tables Fusion Tables is an experimental data visualization web application to gather, visualize, and share larger data tables
Google Chart Tools Google chart tools are powerful, simple to use, and free. Try out our rich gallery of interactive charts and data tools.
Datawrapper is easy-to-use and creates nice charts and maps for embedding in websites. Created for journalists Must give email address to get embed code. No download. Many different chart types.
RAWGraphs is an open source tool built on D3.js that lets anybody easily create a chart using a drag-and-drop system to identify axes and other chart elements. Many chart options. Allows download or embed.
Chartbuilder does not have any advanced features, but is quick and mosly easy. It can only make line, column, or dot charts and you must paste in just the data you want in the chart. Allows export as .png, .svg, or .json
Tableau Tableau Public is a free service that lets anyone publish interactive data visualizations to the web.
Online Infographics
Freeware (may require you to create an account):
Other Tools available in vdesk (apps.nau.edu ):
-
Adobe Photoshop
-
Adobe In design
Lynda.com: NAU Information Technology Services’ Learning and Professional Development Team has recently 
purchased a campus license to lynda.com for all students, faculty, and staff. The NAU community now has free access to this online subscription library that teaches the latest software tools and skills through high-quality instructional videos taught by recognized industry experts.
The Adobe Creative Cloud is a suite of applications used for editing and creating graphics design, video, and web development projects. Getting Started by checking out these tutorials on some of Adobe's most popular applications:
Color
-
Adobe KulerInteractive color wheel to help identify complementary colors.
-
Color MattersWebsite discussing complementary colors.
-
PalettonInteractive color scheme tool.
Finding and Using Images
- ArtsyFeatures the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions in a growing database of images of art, architecture, and design. The collection spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
- Getty Open ContentPublic domain art images from Getty Museum collections
- Getty Search GatewayDiscover the variety of free resources available across the Getty's collections, which include: the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. With this free tool, users can browse collections broadly, by type of resource (i.e., paintings, books, archives), or to search for very specific subjects—historical periods, artists, object types, etc.
- Google Art ProjectImage Library created by Google containing masterpieces of art from some of the world's most famous museums. Images can be saved and shared through a Google account.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art400,000+ images from the Museum's collections. Some images may be used freely for non-commercial scholarly purposes - look for an "OASC" under the image to verify.
- National Gallery of ArtIncludes more than 20,000 open access digital images, available free of charge for download and use
- Open F|S SmithsonianHigh-resolution images of Asian and American art, may be used for any non-commercial purpose. Courtesy of the Smithsonian's Freer and Sackler Galleries and Freer Study Collection
- OpenGLAMOpenGLAM is an initiative run by Open Knowledge that promotes free and open access to digital cultural heritage held by Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums.
- UbuWebIndependent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. Works are available for educational, noncommercial use only.
- Wikimedia CommonsThe WikiMedia Commons makes available public domain and freely-licensed educational media. Maintained by volunteers, users can upload their own images, request images, identify images, and subscribe to syndicated feeds.
These websites list many sources of free public domain and creative commons images.
It's important to verify copyright status and allowed uses for each source you select.
- Creative Commons Resources and SearchPlease note that search.creativecommons.org is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. CC has no control over the results that are returned. Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a CC license. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link. Since there is no registration to use a CC license, CC has no way to determine what has and hasn't been placed under the terms of a CC license. If you are in doubt you should contact the copyright holder directly, or try to contact the site where you found the content.
- UnsplashAll photos published on Unsplash are licensed under Creative Commons Zero which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes, without asking permission from or providing attribution to the photographer or Unsplash.
Whether images come from the Internet, a database, or other resource, it's your responsibility to determine when, where and how they may be legally and ethically used.
Check out the resources on the Purdue Owl site for details on using and choosing visual materials in your work and how to cite an image using Chicago style.
A citation in Chicago typically looks like this:
Artist's name. Title or description (image). Available from: Website or database. <URL>. (Accessed on date).