Science and Engineering Librarian
Ebooks
Cool Infographics by
Make information memorable with creative visual design techniques Research shows that visual information is more quickly and easily understood, and much more likely to be remembered. This innovative book presents the design process and the best software tools for creating infographics that communicate. Including a special section on how to construct the increasingly popular infographic resume, the book offers graphic designers, marketers, and business professionals vital information on the most effective ways to present data. Explains why infographics and data visualizations work Shares the tools and techniques for creating great infographics Covers online infographics used for marketing, including social media and search engine optimization (SEO) Shows how to market your skills with a visual, infographic resume Explores the many internal business uses of infographics, including board meeting presentations, annual reports, consumer research statistics, marketing strategies, business plans, and visual explanations of products and services to your customers With Cool Infographics, you'll learn to create infographics to successfully reach your target audience and tell clear stories with your data.
ISBN: 9781118582282Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Network neutrality: From policy to law to regulation by
"This study explains the concept of network neutrality and its history as an extension of the rights and duties of common carriers, as well as its policy history as examined in US and European regulatory proceedings from 1999. The book compares national and regional legislation and regulation of net neutrality from an interdisciplinary and international perspective. It also examines the future of net neutrality battles in Europe, the United States and in developing countries such as India and Brazil, and explores the case studies of Specialized Services and Content Delivery Networks for video over the Internet, and zero rating or sponsored data plans. Finally, Network neutrality offers co-regulatory solutions based on FRAND and non-exclusivity. This is a must-read for researchers and advocates in net neutrality debate, and those interested in the context of communications regulation, law and economic regulation, human rights discourse and policy, and the impact of science and engineering on policy and governance."
ISBN: 9781526105479Publication Date: 2017
Databases and Indexes
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowACM Digital Library Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full-text articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985.
- arXiv This link opens in a new windowDatabase of electronic preprints covering physics, astronomy, math, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. (Preprints are drafts of articles; many will later go through a formal peer-review process and be published in scholarly journals.) ArXiv is also available in the database ADS (Astrophysical Data System).
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of journal articles, proceedings, ebooks, and standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation database of scholarly articles, books, and conference proceedings spanning the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. For an alternative, try Web of Science.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.
- CiteSeerXDatabase of articles and publications relevant to computer and information science.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA database of dissertations and theses from around the world, including links to full text for dissertations written since 1997 and some fulltext coverage for older works. If you're unable to access the full text of a document, please refer to the instructions to log in to ProQuest.
- PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface.
- SPIE (International Society for Optics and Photonics) This link opens in a new window
With more than 440,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive database available on optics and photonics research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowDatabase of full-text articles covering business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
Websites
- Electronic Frontier FoundationThe Electronic Frontier Foundation is the leading nonprofit organization defending civil liberties in the digital world. Founded in 1990, EFF champions user privacy, free expression, and innovation through impact litigation, policy analysis, grassroots activism, and technology development. We work to ensure that rights and freedoms are enhanced and protected as our use of technology grows.
- Net Neutrality -New York TimesSubject coverage on Net Neutrality
- FCC Restoring Internet FreedomThe FCC's Restoring Internet Freedom Order, which took effect on June 11, provides a framework for protecting an open Internet while paving the way for better, faster and cheaper Internet access for consumers.