Skip to main content

A Guide to Health Research for JUMP Students

Updated version

Health Web Sites

Health Article and Research Resources

Identifying Peer Reviewed Journals

Here is helpful content on What is Peer Reviewed?   

Librarian Tip: some databases such as CINAHL Complete allow one to limit to peer reviewed journals.

Want to know if a journal is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed? Look it up in Ulrich's Online:

Ulrichs Web

How to Search in Health Sciences Article Databases

To find articles explore different Health Sciences Databases. Utilize the "Help" and "Advanced Search" tools.  Utilize different tutorials such as the ones below:

CINAHL tutorial

CINAHL Tutorial - EBSCO 2 minute tutorial

 

PubMed Tutorial

PubMed Tutorial

How to Find the Full Text in PubMed Medline

  • Step One: Click on the article title in PubMed Medline. Look for full text links such as an "Online Full-text" link from the NAU Cline Library in upper right:   

Full Text for Article from Cline Library

  • Step Two: If there is not an "Online Full-text" link in upper right or other free full text links, you can request the Cline Library obtain a copy for you.  First, identify the full journal title by clicking on the journal abbreviation in PubMed Medline and select NLM Catalog.   It will display the full journal title. Example: International journal of pediatric otorhinolaryngology
  • Step Three:  Request it if the library does not have the electronic article available.

Finding Books

Cline Library Book Catalog: Find a book from the Cline Library.

 

Worldcat

WorldCat: lets you search the collections of many libraries all at once for books and media. Tip: Click on the title of the book. Click "Request it" and we will obtain a copy for you, if our library does not have it.