Article database covering the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Search both databases at once!
Start your search using either of the databases listed above. Academic Search Complete and CINAHL Complete are accessible from the same platform, so you can search these two databases simultaneously.
To search both databases at once, click on one of the database links above to access the search page.
On the search page, click on the words Choose Databases, which is located above the search boxes.
A pop-up window will appear with a list of databases arranged alphabetically.
Click on the other database to add it to your search and then click OK in the lower right hand corner of the pop-up window.
You will then return to the search screen where you can type in your keywords.
Search Strategy Example
Searching Academic Search Complete and CINAHL Complete
Academic Search Complete and CINAHL Complete are databases provided by EBSCOhost through Cline Library.
Step One: Identify the topic and consider two to three concepts that directly relate to the topic. Use the chart below as a guide.
Prevalence of cardiovascular disease among rural communities
Consider alternative keywords for the concepts
Step Two: Develop a search strategy using the keywords and/or phrases. Less is more; start with a few keywords and if necessary build a more comprehensive search. See search tips below.
Step Three: Recognize that databases have similar features, such as “limiters” or ways to narrow the search results (e.g., date of publication, peer-reviewed journal, and full-text). Apply limiters if necessary.
If you are being asked to include scholarly articles, consider limiting your results to scholarly, peer-reviewed.
Step Four: View the results. If the search strategy did not return any results try changing the keywords.
Search tips for Academic Search Complete and CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
Exact phrase searching
Omit or ignore a term
Expand the search to include either or both terms
Structure a Boolean (AND, OR, NOT) search
Truncate a term or complete a phrase
Wildcard used to replace a single letter
Wildcard used for alternate spellings
N and a number
Finds terms near x terms
W and a number
Finds terms within x terms in order
Try not to use punctuation
Databases ignore these unless it is a question mark