Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bizblock-- A Guide for Business Research: Citing Business Sources

Other Resources

There are a number of web guides that offer additional information about citing business sources. Here are a few other resources

Bentley Library

UNC Library

Purdue OWL

CSU Chico

Formatting your APA Reference List

  • Double-space
  • Entries should have a hanging indent 
  • Arrange alphabetically by author’s last name
  • Often in business resources, a work will have no author, but will include the data provider (Ex: Datamonitor, Standard & Poor’s, OneSource Global Business Browser). If there is no author, but there is a data provider, use the data provider as author, (Ex: Datamonitor, Mintel)
  • If there is no author or data provider, move the title to the author position and alphabetize the entry by the first significant word in the title.
  • Full official names should be used (ie. Securities and Exchange Commission not SEC)

APA Style Manual 6th ed.

Article from a Library Database that Does Not use DOI

Journal Article:

Arruda-Filho, E., Cabusas, J., & Dholakia, N. (2010). Social behavior and brand devotion among iPhone innovators. International Journal of Information Management, 30(6), 475-480.

Magazine Article:

Barkin, E. (2010, April). Jetting to greener pastures. Customer Relationship Management, 14(4), 30-33,36.

Newspaper Article:

Burkitt, L. (2010, December 16). McDonald's joins the line looking to expand in China. Wall Street Journal [Eastern edition], p. B.8.

Article from a Library Database that Does Use DOI

Holland, C. P. (1995). Cooperative supply chain management: The impact of interorganizational information systems. The     Journal of Strategic Information Systems,    4(2), 117-133. doi:10.1016/0963-8687(95)80020-Q 

Books & E-Books

Books (Entire Book)

Martin, Frank (2011). A Decade of Delusions: From Speculative Contagion to the Great Recession. Hoboken, New Jersey: Wiley & Sons.

Book Chapters

Martin, Frank (2011). Expanding Concerns: a Bigger Bubble? In, A Decade of Delusions: From Speculative Contagion to the Great Recession. Hoboken, New Jersey: Wiley & Sons.

E-Books

Rothberg, H. & Erickson, S. (2004) From Knowledge to Intelligence: Creating Competitive Advantage in the Next Economy. Retrieved from

http://site.ebrary.com/lib/nau/docDetail.action?docID=10167017&p00=next%20economy

E-Book Chapter

Rothberg, H. & Erickson, S. (2004) Generating Competitive Capital. In, From Knowledge to Intelligence: Creating Competitive Advantage in the Next Economy. Retrieved from http://site.ebrary.com/lib/nau/docDetail.action?docID=10167017&p00=next%20economy

IBISWorld

Zwolak, Roman. (2010). Bowling alleys in the US (IBISWorld Industry Report 71395).  Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis company dossiers pull together information from different sources (e.g. Hoover's and Disclosure).  Cite the appropriate publisher of the information you used.  Articles retrieved from LexisNexis Academic are cited according the guidelines for "Article from a Library Database that Doesn't Use DOI", as shown in the top box on this page.

Hoover's Inc. (2011, January 4). Johnson & Johnson. Hoover's Company Records - In-depth records. Retrieved from LexisNexis Academic database.

MarketLine Report retrieved from Business Source Premier

MarketLine. (2009, July 16). NIKE, Inc. [Company profile]. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.

MarketLine. (2010, June). Footwear in the United States [Industry profile]. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.

Mintel Reports

Romanowski, S. (2012, November). Sun Protection and Sunless Tanners - US. Retrieved from Mintel Oxygen database.

 

SimplyMap

Geographic Research, Inc. (2014). Imported beer/ale: Drank in last 6 months.

     Mediamark data retrieved March 10, 2014, from http://www.simplymap.com/

Geographic Research, Inc. (2014). Map based on family income : $150,000+, from

     Census data, downloaded March 10, 2014, from http://www.simplymap.com/

U.S. Census/ American Factfinder

U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). ZCTA5 02451, QT-P11 - Households and Families: 2010 [Data]. Census 2010 Summary File 1. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov

U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Middlesex County, Massachsuetts, DP-1 Profile of General Population and Housing Characteristics: 2010 [Data]. 2010 Demographic Profile Data. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov

U.S. Census Bureau. (2006-2010).  Boston city, Massachusetts, DP02 Selected social characteristics in the United States [Data]. 2010 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov

U.S. Census Bureau. (2008). Middlesex County, MA [Data]. 2008 County Business Patterns. Retrieved from http://www.census.gov/econ/cbp/index.html

Web Sites

Web page citation follows this basic format:  

Author, A. (date). Title of document. Retrieved from http://URL

Web page:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2009). CDC recommendations for the amount of time persons with influenza-like illness should be away from others. Retrieved from http://www.cdc.gov/h1n1flu/guidance/exclusion.htm

Web page where no author is identified:

All 33 Chile miners freed in flawless rescue. (2010, October 13). Retrieved from http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/39625809/ns/world_news-americas/

Web page where no date is identified:

The College of William and Mary. (n.d.). College mission statement. Retrieved from http://www.wm.edu/about/administration/provost/mission/index.php

Subject Guide

Theresa Carlson's picture
Theresa Carlson
Contact:
928-523-6849