Get started printing out 3D objects quickly and inexpensively! 3D printing is no longer just a figment of your imagination. This remarkable technology is coming to the masses with the growing availability of 3D printers. 3D printers create 3-dimensional layered models and they allow users to create prototypes that use multiple materials and colors. This friendly-but-straightforward guide examines each type of 3D printing technology available today and gives artists, entrepreneurs, engineers, and hobbyists insight into the amazing things 3D printing has to offer. You'll discover methods for the creation of 3D printable objects using software, 3D scanners, and even photographs with the help of this timely For Dummies guide. Includes information on stereolithography, selective sintering, fused deposition, and granular binding techniques Covers the potential for the transformation of production and manufacturing, reuse and recycling, intellectual property design controls, and the commoditization of traditional products from magazines to material goods Walks you through the process of creating a RepRap printer using open-source designs, software, and hardware Addresses the limitations of current 3D printing technologies and provides strategies for improved success 3D Printing For Dummies is the must-have guide to make manufacturing your own dynamic designs a dream come true!
3D Printing in Medical Libraries
Supporting tomorrow's doctors involves preparing them for the technologies that will be available to them. 3D printing is one such technology that is becoming more abundant in health care settings and is similarly a technology libraries are embracing as a new service offering for their communities. 3D Printing in Medical Libraries: A Crash Course in Supporting Innovation in Health Care will provide librarians interested in starting or enhancing a 3D printing service an overview of 3D printing, highlight legal concerns, discuss 3D printing in libraries through a literature review, review survey results on 3D printing services in health sciences and medical libraries, and offer case studies of health sciences and medical libraries currently 3D printing. Additionally, resources for finding medically related models for printing and tips of how to search for models online is also provided, along with resources for creating 3D models from DICOM. Common print problems and troubleshooting tips are also highlighted and lastly, marketing and outreach opportunities are discussed. Herron presents the nitty-gritty of 3D printing without getting too technical, and a wealth of recommended resources is provided to support librarians wishing to delve further into 3D printing. Design thinking and the Maker Movement is also discussed to promote a holistic service offering that supports users not only with the service but the skills to best use the service. Readers will finish the book with a better sense of direction for 3D printing in health sciences and medical libraries and have a guide to establishing or enhancing a 3D printing in their library. This book appeals to health sciences libraries and librarians looking to start a 3D printing service or understand the 3D printing space as it relates to medical education, practice, and research. It serves as: -a field guide for starting a new library service -a primer for meeting the information needs of medical faculty, staff, and students -a useful reference for a deep dive into this space by librarians who are already actively carrying out some of the kinds of work described herein
Fabricated tells the story of 3D printers, humble manufacturing machines that are bursting out of the factory and into schools, kitchens, hospitals, even onto the fashion catwalk. Fabricated describes our emerging world of printable products, where people design and 3D print their own creations as easily as they edit an online document. A 3D printer transforms digital information into a physical object by carrying out instructions from an electronic design file, or 'blueprint.' Guided by a design file, a 3D printer lays down layer after layer of a raw material to 'print' out an object. That's not the whole story, however. The magic happens when you plug a 3D printer into today's mind-boggling digital technologies. Add to that the Internet, tiny, low cost electronic circuitry, radical advances in materials science and biotech and voila! The result is an explosion of technological and social innovation. Fabricated takes the reader onto a rich and fulfilling journey that explores how 3D printing is poised to impact nearly every part of our lives. Aimed at people who enjoy books on business strategy, popular science and novel technology, Fabricated will provide readers with practical and imaginative insights to the question 'how will this technology change my life?' Based on hundreds of hours of research and dozens of interviews with experts from a broad range of industries, Fabricated offers readers an informative, engaging and fast-paced introduction to 3D printing now and in the future.
3D Printing in Medicine and Surgery
3D Printing in Medicine and Surgery: Applications in Healthcare is an advanced book on surgical and enhanced medical applications that can be achieved with 3D printing. It is an essential handbook for medical practitioners, giving access to a range of practical methods, while also focusing on applied knowledge. This comprehensive resource features practical experiments and processes for preparing 3D printable materials. Early chapters cover foundational knowledge and background reading, while later chapters discuss and review the current technologies used to engineer specific tissue types, experiments and methods, medical approaches and the challenges that lie ahead for future research. The book is an indispensable reference guide to the various methods used by current medical practitioners working at the forefront of 3D printing applications in medicine. Provides a detailed introduction and narrative on how 3-D printing can be used towards developing future medicine-based therapies Covers up-to-date methods across a range of application areas for the first time in book form Presents the only book on all current areas of 3D printing in medicine that is catered to a medical rather than engineering audience
A Focus on 3D Printing for Healthcare Applications is an indispensable collection of articles for anyone interested in additive manufacturing and prosthetics. It includes insights and examples into 3D printing for:- Biomedical prototypes- Tissue engineering- Bone scaffold manufacturing- Dental applications 3D printing has huge potential to deliver tailored healthcare solutions. Find out some of the reasons why by reading this collection.
3D Printing in Medicine, Second Edition examines the rapidly growing market of 3D-printed biomaterials and their clinical applications. With a particular focus on both commercial and premarket tools, the book looks at their applications within medicine and the future outlook for the field. The chapters are written by field experts actively engaged in educational and research activities at the top universities in the world. The earlier chapters cover the fundamentals of 3D printing, including topics such as materials and hardware. The later chapters go on to cover innovative applications within medicine such as computational analysis of 3D printed constructs, personalized 3D printing - including 3D cell and organ printing and the role of AI - with a subsequent look at the applications of high-resolution printing, 3D printing in diagnostics, drug development, 4D printing, and much more. This updated new edition features completely revised content, with additional new chapters covering organs-on-chips, bioprinting regulations and standards, intellectual properties, and socio-ethical implications of organs-on-demand. Reviews a broad range of biomedical applications of 3D printing biomaterials and technologies Provides an interdisciplinary look at 3D printing in medicine, bridging the gap between engineering and clinical fields Includes completely updated content with additional new chapters, covering topics such as organs-on-chips, bioprinting regulations, intellectual properties, medical standards in 3D printing, and more
Handbook of Surgical Planning and 3D Printing: Applications, Integration, and New Directions?covers 3D printing and surgical planning from clinical, technical and economic points-of-view. This book fills knowledge gaps by addressing: (1) What type of medical images are needed for 3D printing, and for which specific application? (2) What software should be used to process the images, should the software be considered a medical device? (3) Data protection? (4) What are the possible clinical applications and differences in imaging, segmentation, and 3D printing? And finally, (5) What skills, resources, and organization are needed? Sections cover technologies involved in 3D printing in health: data structure, medical images and segmentation, printing materials and 3d printing, 3D printing and Clinical Applications: orthopedic surgery, neurosurgery, maxillofacial, orthodontistry, surgical guides, integrating 3D printing Service in Hospitals: infrastructures, competences, organization and cost/benefits, and more. Provides a unique insight into a technological process and its applications Heps readers find answers to practical and technical questions concerning 3D printing and surgical planning Presents deep insights into new directions of 3D printing in healthcare and related emerging applications such as bioprinting, biocompatible materials and metal printing for custom-made prosthetic design
This book presents a collection of papers revealing the impact of advanced computation and instrumentation on healthcare. It highlights the increasing global trend driving innovation for a new era of multifunctional technologies for personalized digital healthcare. Moreover, it highlights that contemporary research on healthcare is performed on a multidisciplinary basis comprising computational engineering, biomedicine, biomedical engineering, electronic engineering, and automation engineering, among other areas.