Consumer Health Resources

Evaluating online health information 

• Medical Library Association (MLA) User's Guide

  This guide to evaluating online health information is supported by the MLA - the organization of librarians whose primary purpose is promoting quality information for improved health.

• Evaluating Health Information from MedlinePlus

  This National Library of Medicine page points you to great resources and includes a link to the MedlinePlus tutorial on evaluating health information online.

• Health on the Net (HON) Code

  Find out more about the HON Code and why it can help you find reliable information.

SIFT Strategy

 Sometimes you need to evaluate information that you read online. The SIFT Strategy is a process that can guide you when evaluating a source.

1. Stop.  This is to remind yourself to check whether you know & trust the website. If not, use the other moves to get a sense of what you are looking at. 
2. Investigate the Source. Try to find out who created the information before you even begin to read the article. 
3. Find Trusted Coverage. Can you find coverage on the topic from a source you do trust? 
4. Trace Claims, Quotes, and Media Back to the Original Context. Often a quote or image is stripped of any context or sources. In this case try to find where it originally came from.

This is a very watered down version of the SIFT strategy taken from: Four Moves and a Habit by Mike Caulfield; Liz Delf; Rob Drummond; and Kristy Kelly. You should really read the original source for more context.

• MedlinePlus

  This freely available website, from the National Institutes of Health and National Library of Medicine, provides summaries of, and links to authoritative resource on, diseases, disorders, drugs and wellness.

• KFF - Kaiser Family Foundation

  Nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Nonpartisan source of data, analysis and journalism on health issues.

• MLAP Doctor Finder tool

  Use this tool to find doctors by state, specialty and language (57+). Only tool with physician-reviewed translations in 13+ languages.

• MLAP Care Finder

  Use this tool to find affordable care by state. Only tool to include all federally-listed Community Health Centers and free clinics.

• WHO - World Health Organization

  You may browse by country, access online publications and reports, and retrieve statistical information on various health issues around the globe.

• Kidshealth

  Información para niños, adolescentes, y padres.

• MedlinePlus

  Información de salud para usted.

• SALUD: Spanish Access to Literature / Uso Directo

  SALUD is a collaboration between the Chicago Department of Public Health and the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) Library of the Health Sciences and College of Nursing. The collaboration aims to bring appropriate Spanish & English language materials to the public and public health professionals.

• Health Information Translations

  Health information in multiple languages. Search by language or topic.

Consumer Drug Information - US Food & Drug Administration (FDA)

Includes several useful tools that provide more information about prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs, current drug trials, and recalls. The FDA website includes a wealth of non-drug information too.

Daily Med

Daily Med is a database of drug label/package insert information brought to you by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) using the most recent information submitted by manufacturers to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). It includes a pill identifier tool.

Drug Information Portal

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from U.S. Government agencies.

Drugs, Herbs, & Supplements from MedlinePlus

A guide to prescription and over-the-counter medication information including herbs and supplements from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Herbs at a Glance - National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) "Herbs at a Glance is a series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information." The NCCIH is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)

The ODS includes a dictionary, fact sheets, videos, and more, all related to dietary supplements. The ODS is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Developed by the National Institute on Aging, these worksheets can help you navigate medical decision making.

Record your family health history

Questions to ask when choosing a new doctor

Changes to discuss with your doctor

Prioritizing concerns to share with your doctor

Keeping track of medications