Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Route 66

This guide highlights the collections and material housed at Cline Library, Special Collections and Archives at Northern arizona Unibersity that illustrate the imagery and history of Route 66 through unique, primary source material.

Photographs and Images

      undefined

Route 66 Imagery:

Cline Library, Special Collections and Archives is fortunate to have more than a dozen manuscript and photographic collections that deal directly or indirectly with Route 66. These collections range from organizations dedicated to Route 66 preservation, to professional photographers with great artistic imagery, to everyday people documenting their lives, or their travels on the Mother Road. While the collecting focus of Special Collections is the Colorado Plateau region, some material in these collections span beyond that into the Midwest and to the coast of California  Below are some searches which sample from the more than 2,000 images available online. Below are images by broad geographical levels (states), and more refined levels (towns and cities in Arizona). From the side of the road are images of iconic, historic and ruined buildings reflecting the great array of motels, hotels, gas stations and attractions that travelers saw traveling the road. Lastly, there are samples of images reflecting events on and about 66.

By Geography:undefined

By Arizona Cities and Locations:

By Roadside Architecture:                                                                                                                              

 

By Events: