New Developments in Psychology Research
by
Researchers have questioned the dilemma of looking the family as a casual social group or as an organization that works and can be measured with the same constructs to estimate labor organizations (Brotheridge, M. and Lee, R. [2006]). In New Developments in Psychology Research, analyzing the congruence between the performance of work organizations and family functioning, the researchers assess two instruments; Beavers Self-Report Family Inventory and Work Environment Scales. The next chapter proposes an innovative research method, Implicit Symbolic Meanings in Online Content, which allows for the analysis of big data according to a mixed approach, taking into account both quantitative and qualitative information and integrating computer science techniques with psychological insights. In the penultimate chapter, recent research on psychosis is examined to understand its relationship to suicide risk. In addition, data is presented to explore the factors involved in the death of 104 adults by suicide. In the closing chapter, integrated care is defined and explained. The necessary competencies and steps for proper workforce development are addressed, and recommendations for securing the place of clinical child/pediatric psychology in integrated health care settings are delineated.
Handbook of Research Methods in Health Psychology
by
In this comprehensive handbook, Ragin and Keenan present an all-encompassing analysis of the variety of different methods used in health psychology research. Featuring interdisciplinary collaborations from leading academics, this meticulously written volume is a guide to conducting cutting-edge research using tested and vetted best practices. It explains important research techniques, why they are selected and how they are conducted. The book critically examines both cutting-edge methods, such as those used in NextGen genetics, nudge theory, and the brain's vulnerability to addiction, as well as the classic methods, including cortisol measurement, survey, and environmental study. The topics of the book span the gamut of health psychology field, from neuroimaging and statistical analysis to socioeconomic issues such as the policies used to address diseases in Africa, anti-vaxers, and the disproportionate impact of climate change on impoverished people.With each section featuring examples of best research practices, recommendations for study samples, accurate use of instrumentation, analytical techniques, and advanced-level data analysis, this book will be an essential text for both emerging student researchers and experts in the field and an indispensable resource in health psychology programs.
Primer on Effect Sizes, Simple Research Designs, and Confidence Intervals
by
A Primer on Effect Sizes, Simple Research Designs, and Confidence Intervals was designed to help individuals learn to calculate effect sizes for their research designs. Effect sizes allow a clinician or researcher to determine the effect of a treatment. For example, an effect size of zero would indicate that the treatment had no effect, but generally effect sizes allow researchers to see the degree of effect of some treatment or intervention. Often, researchers and clinicians are not aware that effect sizes are connected to research designs. For years, statisticians have been aware of limits of null hypothesis significance testing (NHST). The Wilkinson Task Force (Wilkinson & Task Force on Statistical Inference, 1999) recommended that researchers report effect sizes and confidence intervals in addition to null hypothesis significance testing (NHST). The purpose of this book is to provide the connection among effect sizes, confidence intervals, and simple research designs. Also, some commonly used univariate and multivariate statistics are covered. Regression discontinuity designs, simple moderation and mediation designs, power analysis, and fit indices as effect sizes measure are presented. All calculations are demonstrated through a calculator and statistical packages such as Microsoft Excel, SPSS, SAS, Hayes' Process Analysis, and EQS. This book covers more than 25 effect sizes that are connected to simple research designs. It will be of interest to students taking a statistics class, research methods class, or research design class. Unlike many texts within this area, the current test will give students or researchers the understanding of how to calculate effect sizes with a simple calculator or with a few commands from statistical software programs. Hence, mathematical ability is not a prerequisite for this text. This text provides a nonmathematical treatment of effect sizes within the context of research designs. Finally, to aid understanding, critical material is repeated throughout this book.
The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods, Vol. 2
by
Research today demands the application of sophisticated and powerful research tools. Fulfilling this need, The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods in Psychology is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences.Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods. It begins with essential philosophical and ethical issues related to science and quantitative research. It then addresses core measurement topics before delving into the design of studies. Principal issues related to modern estimation and mathematical modeling are also detailed. Topics in the handbook then segway into the realm of statistical inference and modeling with chapters dedicated to classical approaches as well as modern latent variable approaches. Numerous chapters associated with longitudinal data and more specialized techniques round out this broad selection of topics. Comprehensive, authoritative, and user-friendly, this two-volume set will be an indispensable resource for serious researchers across the social, behavioral, and educational sciences.
A collection of eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and e-readers.
An index to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, books, and book chapters relevant to the field of psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
Database of full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles for psychology research.
Choose an APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology Vol. 1, Vol. 2, Vol. 3
This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and books for the sciences and social sciences.