Library databases are online collections of resources and can include a variety of formats as well as levels of quality. There are general databases such as Academic Search Complete and discipline specific databases such as PsycINFO.
General databases cover most subjects and index a variety of publications including scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines. Subject specific databases specialize in a subject area and tend to include scholarly journals and books.
What to look for...
The "What to look for" question can range from the simple:
(e.g. I want to find any article available on the psychological consequences of violence in video games)
To ones which are much more specific:
(e.g. I want to find an empirical article on self-esteem in children published in a peer-reviewed journal within the past three years)
It is worth the time to plan your search before conducting it. In general, you will be looking for peer-reviewed articles written by the authors who conducted the research. That is not to say that case studies or literature reviews are not legitimate search targets. Rather, the point is that you need to make informed decisions about what it is you are looking for and make sure you convey that information when you search using a search engine, catalog or library database. (Matt Anderson, 2016)
Where to look...
You'll want to search library databases.
You'll want to start your search using library databases so that you can more efficiently locate the types of articles required for your assignment. There are two primary subject specific databases for research in the psychological sciences. These include PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES. Both are from the American Psychological Association.
Since a lot of research is interdisciplinary, you may also want to search in additional databases. Two common resources for psychology majors include Medline (PubMed) and SAGE Premier.
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This version utilizes the EBSCO interface with the option to search across multiple EBSCO databases.