The Archaeological Dictionary: English-Greek/Greek-English
by
The absence of a specialized bilingual dictionary (or glossary) of terminology which would facilitate the work of both scholars and students of archaeology (and, to a lesser degree, history) has long been noted. Several dictionaries or compact encyclopaedias of archaeological terms have been published in both Greek and English since the 19th century (some of the latter have been translated in Greek as well). All of them however have been written in one of those languages, explaining (quite often with useful images) each term but not providing its equivalent in the other language. It is hoped that the present work will cover this lacuna in international bibliography. An adequate knowledge of English is essential to anyone professionally involved with classical archaeology and/or Greek prehistory, since English has become undoubtedly the lingua franca of our time. The dominance of the German and French "schools" in this field has given its place to Anglophone (principally British and American) studies since the Second World War and English-language bibliography is indispensable to any researcher of any topic relating to the archaeology of Greek lands. The present dictionary is intended to be a tool both for students and scholars or professional archaeologists studying, reading and publishing in both Greek and English.
Maps for Time Travelers
by
Popular culture is rife with movies, books, and television shows that address our collective curiosity about what the world was like long ago. From historical dramas to science fiction tales of time travel, audiences love stories that reimagine the world before our time. But what if there were a field that, through the advancements in technology, could bring us closer to the past than ever before? Written by a preeminent expert in geospatial archaeology, Maps for Time Travelers is a guide to how technology is revolutionizing the way archaeologists study and reconstruct humanity's distant past. From satellite imagery to 3D modeling, today archaeologists are answering questions about human history that could previously only be imagined. As archaeologists create a better and more complete picture of the past, they sometimes find that truth is stranger than fiction.
Experimental Archaeology: Making, Understanding, Story-Telling
by
Experimental Archaeology: Making, Understanding, Story-telling is based on the proceedings of a two-day workshop on experimental archaeology at the Irish Institute of Hellenic Studies at Athens in 2017, in collaboration with UCD Centre for Experimental Archaeology and Material Culture. Scholars, artists and craftspeople explore how people in the past made things, used and discarded them, from prehistory to the Middle Ages. The papers include discussions of the experimental archaeological reconstruction and likely past experience of medieval houses, and also about how people cast medieval bronze brooches, or sharpened Bronze Age swords, made gold ornaments, or produced fresco wall paintings using their knowledge, skills and practices. The production of ceramics is explored through a description of the links between Neolithic pottery and textiles, through the building and testing of a Bronze Age Cretan pottery kiln, and through the replication and experience of Minoan figurines. The papers in this volume show that experimental archaeology can be about making, understanding, and storytelling about the past, in the present.
Public Archaeology
by
This volume explores the relationship between archaeology and contemporary society, especially as it concerns local communities living day-to-day alongside archaeological heritage. The contributors come from a range of disciplines and offer inspiring views emerging from the marriage of archaeology with a number of other fields, such as economics, social anthropology, ethnography, public policy, oral history and tourism studies, to form the discipline of 'public archaeology'. There is growing interest in investigating the meanings of archaeology assets and archaeological landscapes, and this volume targets these issues with case studies from Greece, Italy, Turkey and elsewhere. The book addresses both general readers and scholars with an interest in how archaeological assets affected by people's understanding of landscape and identity. It also touches upon the roles played in these interactions by public policy, international conventions, market economies and theoretical frameworks of public archaeology.
Archaeologies of Listening
by
Archaeologists tend to rely on scientific methods to reconstruct past histories, an approach that can alienate local indigenous populations and limit the potential of archaeological research. Essays in this volume argue that listening to and learning from local and descendant communities is vital for interpreting the histories and heritage values of archaeological sites. Case studies from around the world demonstrate how a humanistic perspective with people-centric practice decolonizes the discipline by unlocking an intellectual space and collaborative role for indigenous people. These examples show how listening to oral traditions has opened up broader understandings of ancient rituals in Tanzania, earth mounds in Northern Australia, heritage meanings near the Sigirya World Heritage Site in Sri Lanka, political/religious divisions in Northern Ireland, and the bitter legacy of nineteenth-century grave excavations in British Columbia. The value of cultural apprenticeship to those who have long-term relationships with the landscape is nearly forgotten today, contributors argue. This volume points the way to a reawakening of the core principles of anthropology in archaeology and heritage studies.
The Lumberjack Writing Center offers individual tutoring, asynchronous review, drop-in writing support, workshops, certifications, and more.
LWC supports all genres of writing and all stages of the writing process, including interpreting assignments, generating ideas and outlining, research, grammar/mechanics, revising, presentations, group projects, and more.
A collection of eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and e-readers.
Full-text access to articles from journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and books for the sciences and social sciences.
International digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship.
Index of Native American Archaeology & Anthropology Resources