- Skip to main content
cline library logo

Research Foundations

Article Searches

To find articles in Quick Search

  1. Enter your search terms in the the search box. Remember, don't enter questions or sentences, use keywords. 
    • Your initial list of results will contain a wide mix of material types including books, e-books, and articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. 
  2. You can quickly limit your results to peer-reviewed journal articles by selecting the Peer-Reviewed Journals link  under Availability.
  3. You can also choose to limit to other  types of information, such as newspapers or book reviews under Material Type.
  4. If you need to find articles within a specific time period you can do that under Date

Simple Search

The Quick Search on the hompage is the default Simple search.  Searches from this box are only keyword searches.

  • If you don't find exactly what you need right away, see the Limit my results column on the right of your search results page. Use relevant filters there to focus your search results further.
     
  • To limit your search to physical items the Library owns, choose Available in the Library under the Availability
     
  • Limit my results also lets you filter by Format Type (articles, books, newspaper articles, websites, etc.), by Creation DateAuthor/CreatorLanguage, and more
  • Select More Options under each category to see other ways to refine your results

Advanced Search

Advanced Search gives you much more control over your searches. Use the drop-down menus to specify what type of search you want, what type of material you're looking for, what language, and even publication date or range of years.

Researchers may wish to enter Advanced Search immediately due to the full range of precise searching available here. 

  • Advanced Search lets you search by TitleAuthor/creatorSubject, or Any field.  Looking for your search terms in Any field would be most flexible and a good choice if you're not certain where your search terms might occur in a record.
     
  • You can specify word order for your search terms, if that is important. You can choose containsis (exact), or starts with to specify word order.  Contains would be the most flexible choice and would find your search terms in any order.
     
  • Material type includes All itemsBooks,  ArticlesJournalsImages, and  Movies and Music.
     
  • Language currently allows you to search for results in Any languageEnglish,  French, or  German.  (If you would like to see search results in a different language, keep the Language drop-down menu set to Any language, do your search, and then use Tweak my results to see any other languages represented in your specific search results.)

Full Text

From Quick Search

  • Select the link for Full Text Available which is below the article's citation information
  • Under "View It" Sign In then select one of the available options

Full text link

  • Look for the direct link to the PDF or HTML full text. 

From an Individual Database

  • Look for the Find@NAU icon, often right below the citation to the article.
  • If we have the article you should be taken directly to the full text