Research Guides: A Guide to Library Resources for Psychological Sciences: Recommended Resources

Article and Journal Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles for psychology research.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
An index to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, books, and book chapters relevant to the field of psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is a massive, open access database from the National Institutes of Health containing free peer-reviewed publications across the fields of medicine and health sciences.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and books for the sciences and social sciences.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.

Quick Search This link opens in a new window
Search across most journals, books, ebooks and more.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and e-readers.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books, movies, and other materials in library catalogs from around the world.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles, books, and conference proceedings spanning the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. For an alternative, try Web of Science.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A database of dissertations and theses from around the world, including links to full text for dissertations written since 1997 and some fulltext coverage for older works. If you're unable to access the full text of a document, please refer to the instructions to log in to ProQuest.
Dissertations and Theses @ NAU This link opens in a new window
An index to many dissertations and theses by NAU graduates.