Database of full text from eBooks in in nursing, clinical medicine, allied health, dentistry and other as health-related disciplines.
Select physical therapy books available at NAU
(eBook) Advances in Physical Therapy Research by Frederick Belluci (Editor); Nico Baudo (Editor)In this book, the authors present current research in the study of physical therapy applications. Topics discussed include PPARs and their role in the molecular network and disease; assessment and interventions relating to abnormal gait in patients with chronic pain; a multi-therapeutic approach in the treatment and management of a patient with a history of benign multiple sclerosis and one year post bilateral total hip arthroplasty; and an anal stretching device for use in patients with chronic prostatitis and chronic pelvic pain syndrome.
Publication Date: 2013
(eBook) Braddom's Rehabilitation Care: a Clinical Handbook by David X. Cifu; Henry L. LewConcise and portable, Braddom's Clinical Handbook of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, by Drs. David X. Cifu and Henry L. Lew, gives you dependable, up-to-date content in a handbook format ideally suited for use at the bedside or in outpatient clinics. This quick reference covers the everyday topics you need - assistive devices and orthoses, spasticity, pediatric, adult, and geriatric care, pain management, outcome measures, and much more - all derived from the most trusted name in the field of PM&R. Reader-friendly format with succinct, templated chapters for ease of use. Authoritative content derived from the #1 comprehensive reference in the field: Braddom's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. An ideal resource for the entire rehabilitation team as a quick reference or study guide. Highlights key concepts spanning the full spectrum of rehabilitation medicine to help optimize outcomes for patients with a range of chronic diseases, impairments, and disabilities. Online videos provide guidance on essential techniques including Muscle Energy Technique; Paraffin Bath; Monophasic Arterial Doppler Waveform; Feeding Training with Putty; Lachman Test; and Carbidopa- and Levodopa-Induced Dyskinesia. Includes eSlides complied by internationally renowned experts to summarize key teaching points and clinical pearls. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017
(eBook) Cardiopulmonary Physiotherapy in Trauma by Heleen Van Aswegen; Brenda MorrowTrauma is a serious public health problem worldwide and is the leading cause of death among adults and children. Physiotherapists play a key role in the interdisciplinary team caring for patients with physical injury after a traumatic event. Cardiopulmonary Physiotherapy in Trauma offers valuable insight into the advanced trauma life support and acute care management of patients with trauma-related injuries, as well as physiotherapy treatment aims, intervention strategies and precautions to treatment.A variety of topics related to trauma are brought together in this practical volume, which shares information obtained from published research as well as the extensive clinical expertise of the authors. The dissemination of the authors' personal experience is key in cases where evidence to support the use of certain treatment techniques in patients with traumatic injury is still lacking. The book is thus an essential reference that encourages evidence-based practice for advanced undergraduate students, as well as graduate physiotherapists who work with trauma patients in the acute care setting.
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
(eBook) Communication for Healthcare Professionals by Michael P. PaganoPromotes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of health communication According to the Joint Commission, over 75% of all serious medical errors in this country result from miscommunication. Based in these adverse realities and the author philosophy that communication is a clinical skill integral to effective health care delivery, this comprehensive text addresses thetheories and abilities needed by all health care providers. The only text written specifically for students of nursing, medicine, physical therapy, pharmacy, dentistry, physician assistants and opticians, this book incorporates recommendations for specific multimedia, suggestions for class discussion and interactive case studies to provide a rich and multi-perspective learning experience for gaining optimal expertise in effective health communication The author underscores the importance of developing and maintaining successful relationships with patients, peers, and colleagues as a cornerstone ofeffective health care outcomes. With an emphasis on interactive learning, the text utilizescommunication theories to analyze verbal and non-verbalbehaviors in diverse health care contexts and assess which are more effective and why. Summaries at the end of each chapter discuss health communicationoutcomes. Chapters cover interpersonal and gendered communication, provider-patient communication, intercultural communication, organizationalcommunication, team communication, malpractice, palliative care, end-of-life communication, and many other topics. Key Features: Fosters a patient-centered, interdisciplinary, multidimensional learning experience for health care students Recommends experiential learning using videos, films, and related discussion exercises Presents case study role-plays Provides companion case study resource to enhance learning objectives
Publication Date: 2016
(eBook) Current Diagnosis and Treatment Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by Ian MaitinPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Maximize your patients' independence, quality of life, mobility, and functional improvement with this evidence-based guide to physical medicine and rehabilitation LANGE Valuable to practicing physicians, residents,medical students, as well as recertifying psychiatrists Includes timely chapters on sports, trauma, cardiac, and spinal rehabilitation Covers therapeutic exercise and treatment modalitiesfor pain and dysfunction Presents a practical approach to the physical medicine and rehabilitation patient, including common pathologies and complications Focuses on the clinical aspects of physical medicine and rehabilitation with an emphasis on evidence-based medicine Lays down a foundation of anatomy, kinesiology, and biomechanics before progressing to therapeutic exerciseand modalities Reviews diagnostic and therapeutic procedures performed by physicians such as electrodiagnostics, musculoskeletal ultrasound, and spine and joint injections Concludes with a comprehensive review of major primary care issues
Publication Date: 2014
(eBook) Fundamentals of Musculoskeletal Imaging by Lynn N. McKinnisRoutine radiologic evaluations for each anatomic region and joint that explain how the image is recorded and how the patient is positioned. A complete, normal series of x-rays for every joint in the body and every region of the spine. A wealth of photographs and illustrations that bring all of the principles and their applications to life. Real-life case studies in each chapter showing you how to integrate imaging into physical therapy interventions and clinical practice. "Summary of Key Point" boxes and "Self-Tests" with radiographs at the end of every chapter. Routine radiologic exam series featured on the inside back cover. Summary table comparing all imaging modalities on the inside front cover. Content on advanced imaging, including CT, MRI, and diagnostic ultrasound.
Publication Date: 2014
(eBook) Guccione's Geriatric Physical Therapy by Dale Avers; Rita WongOffering a comprehensive look at physical therapy science and practice, Guccione's Geriatric Physical Therapy, 4th Edition is a perfect resource for both students and practitioners alike. Year after year, this text is recommended as the primary preparatory resource for the Geriatric Physical Therapy Specialization exam. And this new fourth edition only gets better. Content has been thoroughly revised to keep you up to date on the latest geriatric physical therapy protocols and conditions. Five new chapters have also been added to this edition to help you learn how to better manage common orthopedic, cardiopulmonary, and neurologic conditions; become familiar with functional outcomes and assessments; and better understand the psychosocial aspects of aging. In all, you can rely on Guccione's Geriatric Physical Therapy to help you effectively care for today's aging patient population. Comprehensive coverage of geriatric physical therapy prepares students and clinicians you to provide thoughtful, evidence-based care for aging patients. Combination of foundational knowledge and clinically relevant information gives you a meaningful background in how to effectively manage geriatric disorders Updated information reflects the most recent and relevant information on the Geriatric Clinical Specialty Exam. Standard APTA terminology introduces you to the terms you will hear in practice. Expert authorship ensures all information is authoritative, current, and clinically accurate. NEW! Thoroughly revised and updated content across all chapters keeps you up to date with the latest geriatric physical therapy protocols and conditions. NEW! References located at the end of each chapter point you towards credible external sources for further information on a given topic. NEW! Treatment chapters guide you in managing common conditions in orthopedics, cardiopulmonary, and neurology. NEW! Chapter on functional outcomes and assessment lists relevant scores for the most frequently used tests. NEW! Chapter on psychosocial aspects of aging give students a well-rounded view of the social and mental conditions commonly affecting their geriatric patients. NEW! Chapter on frailty covers a wide variety of interventions to optimize treatment. NEW! Enhanced eBook format is included with purchase.
Publication Date: 2019
(eBook) Manual of Traumatic Brain Injury by Felise S. Zollman"The Manual provides an excellent road map to the many topics relevant in the diagnosis, treatment, and long-term management of individuals with TBI. As such, the book can serve either as a fine introduction for the uninitiated or as a valued reference for seasoned clinicians. I highly recommend it]'" --Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation "This is a stellar quality book that will be beneficial for every member of the multidisciplinary team that is required to treat patients with TBI. It offers a concise but broad and informative view of the disorder, and can serve as an easy-to-read and access primary text. 4 Stars -- Doody's Reviews Now completely revised and updated, Manual of Traumatic Brain Injury: Assessment and Management, Second Edition is a comprehensive evidence-based guide to brain injury diagnosis, treatment, and recovery, delivered in a succinct format designed for targeted access to essential content. This concise text, featuring internationally known contributors drawn from leading TBI programs, is organized into five sections. Part I discusses fundamental concepts needed to provide a context for clinical decision-making. Part II covers mild TBI, from natural history to sportrelated concussion, postconcussion syndrome, and more. Part III focuses on moderate to severe TBI and contains chapters on prehospital, emergency and ICU care, rehabilitation, community reintegration, management of associated impairments, and postinjury outcomes. Part IV covers the complications and long-term sequelae that may arise in patients with TBI, including spasticity, movement disorders, posttraumatic seizures, hydrocephalus, behavioral and sleep disturbances, and chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE). Part V focuses on special considerations and resources, including issues specific to selected populations or injury environments (military, pediatric, workers' compensation and older patients), as well as return to work and medicolegal issues in TBI. Comprehensively updated to reflect the current state of the art in this rapidly evolving field, this book is a must-have for neurologists, physiatrists, primary care physicians, mental health professionals, social workers, and other health care providers who treat TBI patients. New to the Second Edition: Key Points section in each chapter crystallizes important clinical pearls New chapters cover anoxia complicating TBI, screening for emotional distress in TBI patients, management of chronic behavioral disturbances, andassistive technology Every chapter has been updated to reflect current evidence-based practice
Publication Date: 2016
(eBook) Manual Physical Therapy of the Spine by Kenneth A. OlsonMaster the techniques and problem-solving skills needed to manage spinal and TMJ disorders! Manual Physical Therapy of the Spine, 2nd Edition provides guidelines to manipulation, manual physical therapy examination, and treatment procedures of the spine and temporomandibular joint. Informed by evidence-based research, this text offers detailed instructions for reaching an accurate diagnosis and developing a plan of care. And to support the descriptions and photos in the book, over 200 videos on a companion website demonstrate spinal examination and manipulation procedures. Written by well-known spinal manipulation expert Kenneth Olson, this resource provides the complete information you need to make sound decisions during clinical interventions. Descriptions of manual therapy techniques include evidence-based coverage of the examination and treatment of spine and TMJ disorders, along with discussions of alternative treatment methods and potential adverse effects and contraindications to manipulation. Guidelines for completing a comprehensive spinal examination include medical screening, the patient interview, disability assessment, and tests and measures, along with an evaluation of the examination findings and the principles involved in arriving at a diagnosis and plan of care. Impairment-based manual physical therapy approach includes a review of the evidence to support its use to evaluate and treat spinal and TMJ conditions. Case studies demonstrate the clinical reasoning used in manual physical therapy. Guide to Physical Therapist Practice terminology is incorporated throughout the book, using accepted terms familiar in physical therapy settings. Expert author Ken Olson is a highly respected authority on the subject of spinal manipulation in physical therapy. Video icons in the book indicate the procedures demonstrated with online videos. A clear, consistent format for explaining techniques makes this reference easy to use in the clinical setting. Spiral binding allows the text to lay open for ease of use while on the job. NEW! Coverage of emerging topics includes soft tissue assessment, mobilization, dry needling, myofascial pain and trigger points, thoracic outlet syndrome, cervicogenic dizziness, and differentiation of headache types, plus expanded coverage of examination procedures and psychologically informed management strategies for chronic low back pain. 120 NEW video clips are added to the companion website - over 200 videos in total provide unique 3-dimensional views of exam and manipulation techniques, showing each procedure step by step from frontal, lateral, and cranial perspectives. NEW! Full-color design and photographs show essential concepts and procedures from multiple angles, illustrating hand and body placement and direction of force. UPDATED evidence-based research provides the latest thinking on manual therapy of the spine.
Publication Date: 2015
(eBook) Mechanisms and Management of Pain for the Physical Therapist by Kathleen A. SlukaComprehensive in scope and invaluable for both practitioners and students, Mechanisms and Management of Pain for the Physical Therapist, 2nd Edition, thoroughly covers the wide range of issues requiring the interdisciplinary management of pain. Joined by more than 20 international contributors to this IASP publication, Dr. Kathleen Sluka provides a practical, evidence-based framework for understanding the basics of pain mechanisms and management. This highly regarded, updated text covers the basics of pain neurobiology and reviews evidence on the mechanisms of action of physical therapy treatments, as well as their clinical effectiveness in specific pain syndromes. The second edition features: Basic Concepts and Mechanisms - provides a clear infrastructure for the rest of the book. Physical Therapy Pain Management - focuses attention on pain regardless of medical diagnosis, using evidence to support clinical decision making. Interdisciplinary Pain Management - includes both medical management of pain and psychological approaches to pain. Case Studies - discuss a series of pain syndromes using an evidence-based approach.
Publication Date: 2016
(eBook) Neuro-Developmental Treatment by Judith C. Bierman (Editor); Mary Rose Franjoine (Editor); Catherine M. Hazzard (Editor); Janet Howle (Editor); Marcia Stamer (Editor)FOUR STARS from Doody's Star Ratings(tm) This comprehensive volume provides vital support for both novice and experienced practitioners of Neuro-Developmental Treatment (NDT) by integrating the latest theoretical foundations of NDT with real-life practice examples. The book is the culmination of a 5-year project by instructors of the Neuro-Developmental Treatment Association to develop an up-to-date guide to the neurorehabilitation approach originally developed by Karl and Berta Bobath. With a large section of case studies in the book, additional online case studies, and supplemental materials including videos, tables, and photos, this book makes it simple to learn the practical aspects of neuro-developmental treatment. Special Features: Presents the contemporary NDT Theory and Practice Model Covers the entire what, why, who, and how of NDT Includes thorough discussions of current and evolving research in neurorehabilitation Offers insight into treatment techniques through supplemental videos that walk viewers through cases Presents a detailed look at how occupational therapists, physical therapists, and speech-language pathologists practice NDT within the scope of the individual disciplines Demonstrates case histories visually through tables with baseline information and treatment updates, impairments as related to regions, and proposed interventions with expected impact Illustrates NDT examination, evaluation, and intervention through a series of case reports spanning from infants to adults with posture and movement disorders Facilitates learning with a practice model flow chart and schematic included on Thieme's MediaCenter online platform Provides educators with instructional materials and strategies for entry-level to advanced learners Written by more than 30 NDT practitioners (OTs, PTs, SLPs) giving a broad range of perspectives Used as the core textbook in NDT Certificate courses, Neuro-Developmental Treatment: A Guide to NDT Clinical Practice sets the standard in clinical practice for occupational therapists, physical therapists, and speech-language pathologists who use, or intend to use, NDT in their work with infants, children, adolescents, and adults with postural and movement disorders.
Publication Date: 2016
(eBook) Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Secrets by Jeffrey D. Placzek and David A. BoyceWhether you’re preparing for the OCS or just want to brush up on your orthopedic knowledge, you don’t want to be without Placzek and Boyce’s new third edition of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy SECRETS. As with previous editions, SECRETS covers a variety of different physical therapy concepts, healing modalities, specialties, and orthopedic procedures to ensure you are well-prepared to pass the OCS and provide the best orthopedic therapy options for today’s patients. Common diseases are included as well as more innovative diagnostic tools. Each chapter features thoroughly updated content that’s entirely evidence-based and outcome-based. This ebook also features insightful anecdotes — including clinical tips, memory aids, and secrets — and helpful review tools — such as bulleted lists, algorithms and illustrations — to help you thoroughly master all aspects of orthopedic physical therapy practice.
Publication Date: 2017
(eBook) Palpation and Assessment in Manual Therapy : Learning the Art and Refining Your Skills by Leon Chaitow and Sasha ChaitowThis is the 4th edition of a well known book from a highly respected author. It has been designed to help manual therapy students and practitioners to understand and acquire the palpatory skills which are essential for evaluating and deciding on appropriate treatment for musculoskeletal dysfunction. The accurate interpretation of palpatory findings is difficult and comes with experience but this book aims to increase the awareness of how to palpate and what is being felt. It is supported by a DVD with video clips and commentary by the author to demonstrate and explain the techniques described in the text.
Publication Date: 2017
(eBook) Physical Rehabilitation by Susan B. O'Sullivan; Thomas J. Schmitz; George FulkIncorporates current research in basic and clinical sciences of physical therapy examination and treatment procedures. Features "Evidence Summary" boxes that evaluate current research on specific topics and support evidence-based practice. Enhances critical thinking skills with review questions and clinical case studies with suggested answers available online. Covers strategies for improving motor control and motor learning, neuroplasticity and intensive task oriented training, locomotor training, fall prevention, and technologies (virtual reality, body-weight support and treadmill systems, robotics, prosthetics, orthotics, wheelchairs) Integrates the examination procedures, goals, and interventions presented in APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice.
Publication Date: 2013
(eBook) Principles of Rehabilitation Medicine by Raj MitraPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A concise, expertly written overview of physical medicine and rehabilitation --- from leaders in the field Principles of Rehabilitation Medicine is comprehensive and authoritative review for the specialty of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. The book offers a wide array of chapters with complete reviews of classical rehabilitation topics such as brain injury, spinal cord injury, stroke, pain management and electrodiagnostic medicine. Additionally, there is in-depth coverage of musculoskeletal medicine, pediatric rehabilitation and sports. An expansive first section reviews fundamental knowledge essential to the basic rehabilitation assessment. Chapters reflect cutting edge topics in the field such as: * Regenerative medicine * Rehabilitation of the veteran * Rehabilitation of the polytrauma patient * Hand rehabilitation * Ethics * Rehabilitation in pregnancy * Sexual rehabilitation * Rehabilitation of the injured worker * Rehabilitation issues in the developing world * Rehabilitation at the end of life Chapters are authored by proven leaders in the field with a focus on pathophysiology, diagnosis and rehabilitative management. Information is presented in a clear, concise manner, with direct patient applications. The text is complemented by numerous figures, tables and patient care algorithms which are designed to confer a basic understanding of principles.
Publication Date: 2019
(eBook) Sports Medicine Essentials by Jim CloverCorrelating with NATA Standards, SPORTS MEDICINE ESSENTIALS: CORE CONCEPTS IN ATHLETIC TRAINING & FITNESS INSTRUCTION, 3rd Edition introduces essential skills in Sports Medicine, along with its growing number of career choices. Key topics address fitness assessment, conditioning, emergency preparedness, injury management, therapeutic modalities, nutrition, ethical and legal considerations, and much more. Students will explore careers in fitness instruction, athletic training, exercise physiology, sports management, and even physical therapy, while practicing important, job-related skills. More than a text, this unique hands-on learning tool asks students to perform essential skills, such as taping injuries, researching sports medicine supplies and their costs, and even forming a mock safety committee to mitigate injury risks to athletes. SPORTS MEDICINE ESSENTIALS: CORE CONCEPTS IN ATHLETIC TRAINING & FITNESS INSTRUCTION, 3rd Edition gives students VIP access to the fast-paced world of Sports Medicine in both print and interactive eBook formats.