Music research - getting started - A Guide to Library Resources for Music - Research Guides at Northern Arizona University

Recommended Resources and Best Bets

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
A leading music reference resource which includes articles and media from Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Note: This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. If the database is unavailable, try again later.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A database of dissertations and theses from around the world, including links to full text for dissertations written since 1997 and some fulltext coverage for older works. If you're unable to access the full text of a document, please refer to the instructions to log in to ProQuest.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
A music bibliography produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, featuring citations, abstracts and subject indexing. Coverage spans from 1967 to the present.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books, movies, and other materials in library catalogs from around the world.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from scholarly journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
Quick Search This link opens in a new window
Search across most journals, books, ebooks and more.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Includes complete catalogs and selected recordings, liner notes, and biographical information on composers and performers from a wide range of music labels.
Music Online: Performance in Video This link opens in a new window
Video resource for the study of classical music. Users experience classical music through 3,500 titles, including 200 full operas and 75 dance titles, as well as masterclasses, documentaries, and interviews.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A premier resource for Literature and Language, including:
- literary theory and criticism
- dramatic arts (film, television, video, theater, radio, opera)
- folklore
- linguistics
- rhetoric and composition
- college-level teaching of literature, language and writing
- history of printing and publishing
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.

Document Delivery

Create an InterLibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services account to request books, book chapters or the full text of an article if it isn't immediately available from the library.

Document Delivery Services