Research Guides: A Guide to Library Resources for Geography, Planning, and Recreation: Recommended Resources

Article and Journal Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from scholarly journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Database of articles on environmental science topics. Also includes citations to other types of publications such as reports and government documents.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database in the geosciences. GeoRef contains citations for journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Database of articles relevant to the human impact on the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
An index to environmental impact statements issued by the federal government.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and books for the sciences and social sciences.

Google Scholar (via Cline Library)

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.

Library catalogs

Quick Search This link opens in a new window
Search across most journals, books, ebooks and more.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and e-readers.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books, movies, and other materials in library catalogs from around the world.

Citation Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles, books, and conference proceedings spanning the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. For an alternative, try Web of Science.

Dissertations and Theses Databases

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A database of dissertations and theses from around the world, including links to full text for dissertations written since 1997 and some fulltext coverage for older works. If you're unable to access the full text of a document, please refer to the instructions to log in to ProQuest.
Dissertations and Theses @ NAU This link opens in a new window
An index to many dissertations and theses by NAU graduates.

A Guide to Library Resources for Geography, Planning, and Recreation

Article and Journal Databases

Google Scholar (via Cline Library)

Library catalogs

Citation Databases

Dissertations and Theses Databases

Document Delivery

Research Help