Browse Books
Take a look at these eBooks in CREDO--you can search within the book, or just browse the contents for timelines, overviews (Civil Rights, Law, etc.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature by ISBN: 9781849721325Publication Date: 2006-02-14From John Smith to Jack Kerouac, Cotton Mather to Toni Morrison, Edgar Allan Poe to Stephen King, Francis Parkman to Alex Haley, the story of American literature is really many stories - of ancient indigenous peoples, early settlers, men and women enslaved and liberated, war and peace, and immigrants seeking better lives
Encyclopedia of African American Writing by ISBN: 1592372910Publication Date: 2009-10-09A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present.
CCC Librarian
Welcome
English 237: Women in Literature
In this guide you'll find links to various research resources to help you track down sources for your class assignments. Use the menu on the left to move between sections. On this first page you'll find some recommended eBooks that are part of our CREDO database, as well as tips for finding more background information. If you run into problems or have any questions, don't hesitate to email Luke at library@coconino.edu.
Finding Background Information
Start your research with a general reference source, like CREDO, which is available through our CCC library. You can search for authors by name, of course, but you can also try historical periods or concepts, as well as literary terms. The same thing goes for the other databases I'll list on this page. Here are a few examples:
- phillis wheatley
- early american novel
- feminism
- african american poetry
- poetry women
Get started by searching CREDO, our online database of encyclopedias and reference books:
Searching CREDO
CREDO Reference is a great place to start your research: it contains thousands of reference books and can provide background information on pretty much any general topic. It's a bit like Wikipedia, but it only contains published, academic sources.
Start with a general search--if you get too many results, try narrowing by subject.
Look for the quotation mark icon at the top right of an article page--this will generate a citation for you to copy and paste into your reference page.
If you're still unsure about what precise topic you'll be researching, or even if you've made up your mind, take a moment to search for your topic as a "Mind Map" search. This will display a web of topics related to the one your searched, so you can see the full context, similar words, and ramifications of your issue. 
The mind map results show a cluster of subjects/issues that you can explore further. Click on one of the subjects on the map and it re-orient to focus on that subject. Click on a subject in the righthand sidebar to see the article for that subject.
