"A novice researcher can believe that the doing of research is primarily about investigation—running experiments, developing theory, or doing analysis. With experience, though, researchers discover the importance of developing an understanding. It has been argued that many experimental researchers do their best work after they have been in a field for five years or more, because it takes time to acquire a deep, thorough appreciation of the area, and of existing knowledge and its limitations. To acquire this understanding, you need to become an effective reader of research papers."
Zobel J. (2014) Reading and Reviewing. In: Writing for Computer Science. Springer, London
Writing for Computer Science by Justin ZobelWriting for Computer Science is an introduction to doing and describing - search. For the most part the book is a discussion of good writing style and effective research strategies. Some of the material is accepted wisdom, some is controversial, and some is my opinions. Although the book is brief, it is designed to be comprehensive: some readers may be interested in exploring topics further, but for most readers this book should be suf?cient. The ?rst edition of this book was almost entirely about writing. This e- tion, partly in response to reader feedback and partly in response to issues that arose in my ownexperiences as an advisor, researcher, and referee, is also about research methods. Indeed, the two topics writing about and doing research are not clearly separated. It is a small step from asking how do I write? to askingwhatisitthatIwriteabout? As previously, the guidance on writing focuses on research, but much of the material is applicable to general technical and professional communication. Likewise, the guidance on the practice of research has broader lessons. A pr- titioner trying a new algorithm or explaining to colleagues why one solution is preferable to another should be con?dent that the arguments are built on robust foundations. And, while this edition has a stronger emphasis on research than did the ?rst, nothing has been deleted; there is additional material on research, but the guidance on writing has not been taken away."
Call Number: T11 .Z62 2014
Publication Date: 2004-06-03
Encyclopedia of Computer Science by Anthony Ralston (Editor); Edwin D. Reilly (Editor); David Hemmendinger (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Computer Science is the definitive reference in computer science and technology. First published in 1976, it is still the only single volume to cover every major aspect of the field. Now in its Fourth Edition, this influential work provides an historical timeline highlighting the key breakthroughs in computer science and technology, as well as clear and concise explanations of the latest technology and its practical applications. Its unique blend of historical perspective, current knowledge and predicted future trends has earned it its richly deserved reputation as an unrivalled reference classic. What sets the Encyclopedia apart from other reference sources is the comprehensiveness of each of its entries. Encompassing far more than mere definitions, each article elaborates on a topic giving a remarkable breadth and depth of coverage. The visual impact of the volume is enhanced with a 16 page colour insert spotlighting advanced computer applications and computer-generated graphics technology. In addition, the text is enlivened with figures, tables, diagrams, illustrations and photographs.<br /> <br /> With contributions from over 300 international experts, the 4th Edition contains over 100 completely new articles ranging from artificial life to computer ethics, data mining to Java, mobile computing to quantum computing and software safety to the World Wide Web. In addition, each of the more than 600 articles have been extensively revised, expanded and updated to reflect the latest developments in computer science and technology. Intelligently and thoughtfully organised, all the articles are classified around 9 main themes Hardware Software Computer Systems Information and Data Mathematics of Computing Theory of Computation Methodologies Applications Computing Milieux Within each of these major headings are a wealth of articles that provide the reader with concise yet thorough coverage of the topic. In addition, cross-references are included at the beginning of each article, directing the reader immediately to related material. In addition the Encyclopedia contains useful appendices including: An expanded glossary of major terms in English, German, Spanish and Russian A revised list of abbreviations and acronyms An updated list of computer science and engineering research journals A list of articles from previous editions not included in the 4th edition A Name Index listing almost 3500 individuals cited in the text A comprehensive General Index with 7000 entries A chronology of significant milestones Computer Society & Academic Computer Science Department Listings Numerical Tables, Mathematical Notation and Units of Measure Highly-regarded as an essential resource for computer professionals, engineers, mathematicians, students and scientists, the Encyclopedia of Computer Science is a must-have reference for every college, university, business and high-school library.<br />
Publication Date: 2003-08-29
The Game Developer's Dictionary by Dan CarrekerThe video game industry has evolved. What was at first hobbyists working in their spare time in school labs or converted garages has grown into veteran specialists working in high-rise offices and multimillion-dollar studios. Some of these professionals came from those early days of video game development, but many emerged from other disciplines, including traditional game design, art, software programming, film animation, screenwriting, engineering, music production, and many more. Each of them brought along their own language--a collection of terms and definitions relevant to their field--which filtered in and out of the industry as they did. Games continued to change and so did the way we talked about them. Confusion inevitably arose as each discipline had, up until then, been largely independent and therefore had its own unique vocabulary. For example, what was known as "value" by an artist would have been called "brightness" by a programmer (to whom value meant something else entirely). "Theme" had a different meaning to a game designer than it did to a writer. A common language had not, and still has not, developed; yet in order for the members of any multidisciplinary venture to communicate efficiently, it must. THE GAME DEVELOPER'S DICTIONARY is the first attempt to collect the terms and phrases used within all avenues of game development, and define them, with hundreds of definitions covering game art, design, programming, production, writing, and sound. Terms are categorized alphabetically and by discipline so that entries can be accessed quickly and easily. The book emphasizes creating an understanding between the game development disciplines - great care has been exercised to define terms in ways that someone outside the related area of expertise can easily grasp. A survey of game industry job titles and their descriptions is also included.
Publication Date: 2012-01-12
Dictionary of Computer Vision and Image Processing by Robert B. Fisher; Toby P. Breckon; Kenneth Dawson-Howe; Andrew Fitzgibbon; Craig Robertson; Emanuele Trucco; Christopher K. I. WilliamsWritten by leading researchers, the 2nd Edition of the Dictionary of Computer Vision & Image Processing is a comprehensive and reliable resource which now provides explanations of over 3500 of the most commonly used terms across image processing, computer vision and related fields including machine vision. It offers clear and concise definitions with short examples or mathematical precision where necessary for clarity that ultimately makes it a very usable reference for new entrants to these fields at senior undergraduate and graduate level, through to early career researchers to help build up knowledge of key concepts. As the book is a useful source for recent terminology and concepts, experienced professionals will also find it a valuable resource for keeping up to date with the latest advances. New features of the 2nd Edition: Contains more than 1000 new terms, notably an increased focus on image processing and machine vision terms; Includes the addition of reference links across the majority of terms pointing readers to further information about the concept under discussion so that they can continue to expand their understanding; Now available as an eBook with enhanced content: approximately 50 videos to further illustrate specific terms; active cross-linking between terms so that readers can easily navigate from one related term to another and build up a full picture of the topic in question; and hyperlinked references to fully embed the text in the current literature.
Publication Date: 2013-11-08
Introduction to Lattice Theory with Computer Science Applications by Vijay K. GargA computational perspective on partial order and lattice theory, focusing on algorithms and their applications This book provides a uniform treatment of the theory and applications of lattice theory. The applications covered include tracking dependency in distributed systems, combinatorics, detecting global predicates in distributed systems, set families, and integer partitions. The book presents algorithmic proofs of theorems whenever possible. These proofs are written in the calculational style advocated by Dijkstra, with arguments explicitly spelled out step by step. The author's intent is for readers to learn not only the proofs, but the heuristics that guide said proofs. Introduction to Lattice Theory with Computer Science Applications: Examines; posets, Dilworth's theorem, merging algorithms, lattices, lattice completion, morphisms, modular and distributive lattices, slicing, interval orders, tractable posets, lattice enumeration algorithms, and dimension theory Provides end of chapter exercises to help readers retain newfound knowledge on each subject Includes supplementary material at www.ece.utexas.edu/~garg Introduction to Lattice Theory with Computer Science Applications is written for students of computer science, as well as practicing mathematicians.
Publication Date: 2016-03-02
The Universal Computer by Martin DavisThe breathtakingly rapid pace of change in computing makes it easy to overlook the pioneers who began it all. Written by Martin Davis, respected logician and researcher in the theory of computation, The Universal Computer: The Road from Leibniz to Turing explores the fascinating lives, ideas, and discoveries of seven remarkable mathematicians. It tells the stories of the unsung heroes of the computer age - the logicians. The story begins with Leibniz in the 17th century and then focuses on Boole, Frege, Cantor, Hilbert, and Gödel, before turning to Turing. Turing's analysis of algorithmic processes led to a single, all-purpose machine that could be programmed to carry out such processes--the computer. Davis describes how this incredible group, with lives as extraordinary as their accomplishments, grappled with logical reasoning and its mechanization. By investigating their achievements and failures, he shows how these pioneers paved the way for modern computing. Bringing the material up to date, in this revised edition Davis discusses the success of the IBM Watson on Jeopardy, reorganizes the information on incompleteness, and adds information on Konrad Zuse. A distinguished prize-winning logician, Martin Davis has had a career of more than six decades devoted to the important interface between logic and computer science. His expertise, combined with his genuine love of the subject and excellent storytelling, make him the perfect person to tell this story.