To search for print or ebooks, start on the library's homepage: nau.edu/library.
Enter your search into the Quick Search
Using the limiters on the left-hand side, select Books under Material Type. You may need to select Show More to find the books option
For print books, select Available in the library under Availability. NOTE: This will limit your search results to books available in the library right now. Books that are checked out will not appear.
Locate the Call Number under the record. That's what you need to find the book in the library!
For ebooks, select Full Text Online under Availability.
Select the Full Text link in order to read the book in your browser. You may be able to download chapters, but you will not be able to download the entire book to your device.
Reference Sources for Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, and Construction Management
The Commercial Engineer's Desktop Guide by Timothy J. BoyceThis desktop guide takes a tour from an appreciation of commercial awareness through to an understanding of how business contracts and other commercial agreements are constructed, negotiated and confirmed. The features include things that engineers say and do which invite commercial disaster.
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Construction Management by Denny McGeorge; Patrick ZouThe construction industry faces continual challenges and demands, due to market conditions and coercion by governments, for improvements in safety, quality and cost control, and in the avoidance of contractual disputes. To meet these challenges construction enterprises need to constantly seek new directions and business models in construction management. A number of tools, methods and concepts have been developed and advocated as aids to achieving improved performance, but many in the industry find them confusing or are sceptical of their relevance. The third edition of" Construction Management: New Directions"brings together, in a single volume, detailed discussion of a range of contemporary management concepts which are relevant to the construction industry, including "strategic management; benchmarking; reengineering; partnering and alliancing; enterprise risk management; total safety management; total quality management; value management and constructability." It provides a straightforward, accessible and objective account of these concepts, showing how they interrelate and can be used to improve the performance of the construction firm. This research based text will be essential reading for industry leaders and practitioners, as well as researchers, postgraduate and senior undergraduate students. From a review of previous editions I am in no doubt that this book will quickly become a favourite among students and practitioners alike --"Construction Manager"
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Engineer's Manual of Construction Site Planning by J. Sutt; Irene LillThis handbook addresses problems facing the engineer when preparing to build, both during the contract bidding phase and after a contract has been concluded. It offers clear guidelines for planning the resources and machinery on site, as well as the safe positioning of roads, cranes, storage and temporary buildings. Site planning activities are presented here in logical sequence, offering an efficient and safe design of the construction site and of the temporary works. The book describes the process of engineering preparation of on-site construction works in all phases of the construction life-cycle, from the design phase - preparing the financial plan and procurement scheme for the owner before tendering the contract; the tendering phase; and after bid completion. A list of procedures is presented for planning the construction site in order to simplify the engineer's work of site and temporary works planning. "The Engineer's Manual of Construction Site Planning" is for all those involved in the planning of construction sites, construction managers, construction engineers and quantity surveyors, as well as for students in civil engineering and construction.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Engineering Project Appraisal by Martin Rogers; Aidan DuffyIn most cases of civil engineering development, a range of alternative schemes meeting project goals are feasible, so some form of evaluation must be carried out to select the most appropriate to take forward. Evaluation criteria usually include the economic, environmental and social contexts of a project as well as the engineering challenges, so engineers must be familiar with the processes and tools used. The second edition of Engineering Project Appraisal equips students with the understanding and analytical tools to carry out effective appraisals of alternative development schemes, using both economic and non-economic criteria. The building blocks of economic appraisal are covered early, leading to techniques such as net present worth, internal rate of return and annual worth. Cost Benefit Analysis is dealt with in detail, together with related methods such as Cost Effectiveness and the Goal Achievement Matrix. The text also details three multi-criteria models which have proved useful in the evaluation of proposals in the transportation, solid waste, energy and water resources fields: the Simple Additive Weighting (SAW) Model, the Analytic Hierarchy Process (AHP) technique and Concordance Analysis. There is a full discussion dealing with risk and uncertainty in these models. With many worked examples and case studies, Engineering Project Appraisal is an essential text for both undergraduate and postgraduate students on professional civil engineering courses, and it is expected that students on planning and construction management courses will find it a valuable addition to their reading.
Publication Date: 2012-06-27
Introduction to Civil Engineering Systems by Samuel LabiThis book presents an integrated systems approach to the evaluation, analysis, design, and maintenance of civil engineering systems. Addressing recent concerns about the world's aging civil infrastructure and its environmental impact, the author makes the case for why any civil infrastructure should be seen as part of a larger whole. He walks readers through all phases of a civil project, from feasibility assessment to construction to operations, explaining how to evaluate tasks and challenges at each phase using a holistic approach. Unique coverage of ethics, legal issues, and management is also included.
Publication Date: 2014-03-20
Modern Construction Management by Frank Harris; Ronald McCaffer; Francis Edum-Fotwe (As told to)This new edition of a core undergraduate textbook for construction managers reflects current best practice, topical industry preoccupations and latest developments in courses and fundamental subjects for students. While the construction process still requires traditional skills, changes over recent decades today demand improved understanding of modern business, production and contractual practices. The authors have responded accordingly and the book has undergone a thorough re-write, eliminating some of the older material and adding new processes now considered essential to achieving lean construction. Particular emphasis is given, for example, to supply chains and networks, value and risk management, BIM, ICT, project arrangements, corporate social responsibility, training, health and welfare and environmental sustainability. Modern Construction Management presents construction as a socially responsible, innovative, carbon-reducing, manager-involved, people-orientated, crisis-free industry that is efficient and cost effective. The overall themes for the Seventh Edition are: Drivers for efficiency: lean construction underpinning production management and off-site production methods. Sustainability: reflecting the transition to a low carbon economy. Corporate Social Responsibility: embracing health & safety, modernistic contracts, effective procurement, and employment issues. Building Information Management: directed towards the improvement of construction management systems. The comprehensive selection of worked examples, based on real and practical situations in construction management and methods will help to consolidate learning. A companion website at www.wiley.com/go/MCM7 offers invaluable support material for both tutors and students: Solutions to the self-learning exercises PowerPoint slides with discussion topics Journal and web references Structured to reflect site, business and corporate responsibilities of managers in construction, the book continues to provide strong coverage of the salient elements required for developing and equipping the modern construction manager with the competencies and skills for both technical and business related areas.
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
The Handbook of Environmental Policy Evaluation by Ann Crabbe; Pieter LeroyPolicy evaluation is an important and well-established part of the policy process, facilitating and feeding back to promote the ongoing effectiveness of policies that have been implemented or anticipating policies in the making. Environmental policy is a special case, presenting new complexities uncommon to other areas, which standard evaluation tools are ill-equipped to grapple with. It is also an area that is experiencing rapid growth throughout the world and knowledge is now needed at all levels of government and in NGOs, businesses and other organizations, all of whom are required to assess the effectiveness of their policies.This handbook is the first guide to environmental policy evaluation in practice. Beginning with an introduction to the general principles of evaluation, it explains the particular complexities native to the environmental sphere and provides a comprehensive toolkit of evaluation methods and techniques which the practitioner can employ and refer to again and again. The authors also consider design issues which may face the policy evaluator, including involvement of stakeholders, the sensitivities between them, the a priori assessment of the evaluability of a field, the maximization of the utilization of the evaluations outcomes, and much more. Throughout, the theory is illustrated with practical examples from around the world, making this the essential companion guide for anyone tasked with ensuring that environmental policy fulfils its aims and achieves its potential.
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
More Helpful Books
Mechanical Vibrations: Types, Testing and Analysis by Amy L. Galloway (Editor)Civil and environmental engineers make frequent use of mathematical models to handle free-surface hydraulics problems as simulation of river and channel flow, flood prediction, assessment of sediment and pollutant transport, evaluation of air-water interaction. In this respect, the need of consistent models to simulate water flows with transport processes has never been more pressing. Mathematical developments result in the so-called 3D and 2D drift-flux models which are proven to achieve the objective of the research in many respects. This book underlines that the Drift-Flux Approach is very effective in simulating environmental flows for civil engineering. In particular, original 3D and 2D models are proven to be complementary in order to model a wide range of phenomena.
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Construction Management Strategies by Milan Radosavljevic; John BennettAn authoritative textbook on construction management offering a clear model for understanding theoretical aspects. The construction industry has become a truly global network of interconnected stakeholders making demands which require the involvement of skilled workforces from all over the world. Construction Management Strategies sets the foundations for understanding and managing construction's inherent complexity and uniqueness. It establishes clear definitions of commonly accepted terms like built environment, construction, civil engineering, etc. which are often given confusing and conflicting interpretations. It cuts through the plethora of overlapping role titles currently used in the construction sector that make it difficult to establish how projects are actually managed. Construction Management Strategies: Offers a robust and consistent theoretical basis to explain the performance of the main approaches to construction management. Describes corporate and project management in construction as an integrated whole. Provides the basic toolkit a student needs to think through the practical situations they will later face. Helps bring the theory of construction management to international students who struggle to find a solid grounding in this complex and fragmented subject. Includes a companion website featuring a wealth of directly transferable examples for students, as well as PPT slides and topic discussion ideas for lecturers.
Publication Date: 2012-04-26
Highways: Construction, Management, and Maintenance by Samantha R. Jones (Editor)The steep rise in road mobility that has taken place during the last decades has resulted in some negative effects that are relevant from a social and economic point of view, such as accidents, congestion, and air pollution. Solutions to mitigate these effects have resulted in improvements in vehicles, infrastructure, and planning. Among these improvements are Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS), or digital road maps, which are based on electronics, control and telecommunications. This book discusses highway construction financing; the balanced vehicular traffic model that describes traffic flow on highways; non-drivers as road users; road engineering and public-private partnerships in highway and transit infrastructure building.
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
No Waste by Uly MaNo Waste: Managing Sustainability in Construction explores sustainable construction at the micro level of good site practice, as well as looking at the competitive advantage offered by organizations using this approach in international construction projects. The text covers the management of sustainability and the accompanying CD ROM includes a wealth of material as PowerPoint presentations, templates and activities that can be shared throughout the organisation and used for team meetings, communication and training.
Publication Date: 2011-10-28
Cost Management of Construction Projects by Donald ToweyThe cost manager/quantity surveyor plays a pivotal role in the financial and contract management of construction projects, although the exact nature of the service they provide depends on the project employer's terms of engagement. This can mean acting as consultant in a range of roles including cost and advisory services for budget setting to initiate a project, cost management through the design and construction phases, contract administration and acting as the client side project manager to oversee the entire building process. Cost Management of Construction Projects focusses on the cost manager/quantity surveyor engaged by the project client, and discusses key elements that help drive project success including measurement (based on the New Rules of Measurement published by RICS), procurement, cost planning, contract administration and project cost management. With examples, it provides a thorough guide to the role in the workplace and in the field, directly addressing the day to day situations faced by the cost manager/quantity surveyor. Donald Towey MRICS has extensive experience of the construction industry. His experience began as an estimator with a glass/glazing contractor in Manchester. Following a number of positions with UK contractors he relocated to Australia and has worked with a number of developers and main contractors, as well as doing freelance work. He is currently working in contracts management in Sydney.