Skip to main content

ENV 385W - Resources for Paper 1 and Paper 2

Useful websites for Paper 1.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA): https://www.epa.gov/

What is it?  The United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is an agency of the U.S. federal government that was created for the purpose of protecting human health and the environment by writing and enforcing regulations based on laws passed by Congress.

How would you use it?  Some of the environmental topics are pretty useful to explore, or look at laws and regulations:

Environmental Impact Statements from the EPA: https://cdxnodengn.epa.gov/cdx-enepa-public/action/eis/search

What is it?  An environmental impact statement (EIS) is a government document that outlines the impact of a proposed project on its surrounding environment. In the United States, these statements are mandated by federal law for certain projects, and have been since 1969. Environmental impact statements are meant to inform the work and decisions of policymakers and community leaders. For more information about how to read these statements see:

https://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_education/publications/teaching-legal-docs/teaching-legal-docs--what-is-an-environmental-impact-statement-/

How would you use it?  Simply search for your power plant or source. If it has gone by different names, try all of them. If it was built prior to 1969 there may be no EIS.

Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program from the EPA: https://www.epa.gov/toxics-release-inventory-tri-program

What is it?  The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities..

How would you use it?  Explore data or use the search tools to explore the community where your power plant/source resides:

Health and Environmental Agencies of U.S. States and Territories: https://www.epa.gov/home/health-and-environmental-agencies-us-states-and-territories

What is it?  It's a list of states in the US with links to their particular health and environmental agencies.

How would you use it?  Click on the state where your power plant/source resides, then explore the links to see what you can learn about your power plant/source from these state sites.

Useful websites for Paper 2.

CIA World Factbook: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

What is it? The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

How would you use it? Select your country from the dropdown list, then explore the information available:`


Climate Action Tracker: https://climateactiontracker.org/countries/

What is it? The Climate Action Tracker tracks different countries climate actions and measures them against the globally agreed Paris Agreement aim of "holding warming well below 2°C, and pursuing efforts to limit warming to 1.5°C." It also quantifies and evaluates climate change mitigation commitments and assesses whether countries are on track to meeting those.

How would you use it? Use the search tool in the upper right to look up your country.


Climate Watch: https://www.climatewatchdata.org/

What is it?  Climate Watch brings together datasets to let users analyze and compare the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) under the Paris Agreement, access historical emissions data, discover how countries can leverage their climate goals to achieve their sustainable development objectives, and use models to map new pathways to a lower carbon, prosperous future. It also includes data and visualizations on all countries’ greenhouse gas emissions.

How would you use it?  Simply enter your country into the search box.


​Institute for Energy Research: https://www.instituteforenergyresearch.org/ 

What is it?  A not-for-profit organization that conducts intensive research and analysis on the functions, operations, and government regulation of global energy markets. 

How would you use it?  Select Studies and Data and then filter using the horizontal row of icons:


​International Energy Agency: https://www.iea.org/

What is it?  The IEA is made up of 30 member countries and works to secure a sustainable energy future by collecting data, tracking clean energy transitions, and providing training. 

How would you use it?  Explore by country, fuels, analysis, data, etc.


IRENA - International Renewable Energy Agency: https://www.irena.org/

What is it?  An intergovernmental organisation that supports countries in their transition to a sustainable energy future - as well as a  repository of policy, technology, resource and financial knowledge on renewable energy. 

How would you use it?  Select Our Work and then explore by country or initiative, or select Renewables to explore by type of renewable energy.


National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL): https://www.nrel.gov/

What is it? NREL is a U.S. government-owned, contractor-operated facility, specializes in renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development.  

How would you use it?  Use the search box to search, or explore Research Areas, Publications, Data and Tools, or Energy Basics.


OpenEI: https://openei.org/wiki/Main_Page

What is it?  Open Energy Information (OpenEI) is a website for policy makers, researchers, technology investors, venture capitalists, and market professionals with energy data, information, analyses, tools, images, maps, and other resources

How would you use it?  Use the search box in the center of the page to look up your country, industry, or energy type, or use the links as the top left to explore Information and Data.


REN21: https://www.ren21.net/

What is it?  REN21 is an organization that includes participants from academia, governments, NGOs, and industry to provide up-to-date and peer-reviewed facts, figures and analysis to promote and enable transitions to renewable energy.​

How would you use it?  Use the search box to search the site, or check out the Reports.


ResourceWatch: https://resourcewatch.org/

What is it?  This website provides data and data visualization capabilities for topics ranging from climate change to human migration, deforestation to air quality, agriculture to energy and much more. Users can dive into curated topic pages of data, explore near real-time visualizations and create their own unique data visualizations by overlaying individual data sets.

How would you use it?  Click the link to Explore data, then enter a country name. Or, use the dropdown menu to explore by Topic:


Transparency International: https://www.transparency.org/en/#

What is it?  An international non-governmental organization which takes action to combat global corruption with civil societal anti-corruption measures and to prevent criminal activities arising from corruption. 

How would you use it?  Use the search feature or browse under What we do for Corruption by country.


UN Climate Change: https://unfccc.int/

What is it?  Facilitates intergovernmental climate change negotiations and supports a complex architecture of bodies that serve to advance the implementation of the Convention, the Kyoto Protocol and the Paris Agreement. 

How would you use it?  Use the magnifying glass icon to search your country.


UN Sustainability Goals: https://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/progress-report/

What is it? The Sustainable Development Goals are a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and improve the lives and prospects of everyone, everywhere. The 17 Goals were adopted by all UN Member States in 2015, as part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development which set out a 15-year plan to achieve the Goals. Action to meet the Goals is not yet advancing at the speed or scale required. 2020 needs to usher in a decade of ambitious action to deliver the Goals by 2030.

How would you use it? Gather background information by referring to the Sustainable Development Goals Report: https://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/progress-report/. Or, check the resources available on the page for Goal 13: Climate Actionhttps://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/climate-change/. Or, try running searches on the site.


UNEP Open Data: http://open.unep.org/

What is it?  Allows you to search for UNEP (United Nations Environmental Program) sponsored environmental projects, including planning and implementation documents associated with the project.  

How would you use it?  Search by country, click on a project, then use the tabs to explore aspects of the project:


World Bank Carbon Pricing Dashboard: https://carbonpricingdashboard.worldbank.org/

What is it? Carbon Pricing Dashboard is an interactive online platform that provides up-to-date information on existing and emerging carbon pricing initiatives around the world.

How would you use it? Explore maps and data or resources:

 


World Bank Climate Knowledge Portal: 

https://climateknowledgeportal.worldbank.org/country-profiles

What is it? Provides global data on historical and future climate vulnerabilities and impacts. 

How would you use it?  Use the links to country and country profiles to explore resources.


World Bank Country Data: https://data.worldbank.org/country

What is it? Provides free and open access to global development data specific to countries.

How would you use it? Select your country, look at the stats, then explore Data Bank and Country Profiles (on the right side of the screen):


World Bank Indicators: https://data.worldbank.org/indicator

What is it? Provides free and open access to global development data by sector, including climate, economy, energy and mining, infrastructure, etc. 

How would you use it? Simply browse by indicator and select those that seem relevant, such as Energy and Mining.