Skip to main content

ENV 385W - Resources for Paper 1 and Paper 2

Search these databases for Paper 1 and Paper 2.

1. Google - Searching Google first will allow you to collect some general information to get you familiar with your topic. Also, try Google Advanced SearchUsing Google Advanced Search allows you to limit to a dot.gov or dot.org domain, which is likely to return more credible results.


2. Google Scholar - This is Google's specialized search for finding scholarly (a.k.a. peer-reviewed) articles.


3. Quick Search - This is the search box on Cline Library's home page. When you run searches, make sure you use the option on the left to Expand My Results:

.


4. EBSCO Databases - There are several databases from this company that will be useful to search. You can search them individually or all at once. Here are the links to search them individually:

To search them all at once, click on any one of them above, then click Choose Databases:

And then select everything if you like, or else choose the individual databases listed above.


5. Agricultural and Environmental Science Collection - This has lots of great information including government reports (such as Environmental Impact Statements which can be helpful for Paper 1). In fact, you can use this link to limit your search to EIS content, if you like.


6. Web of Science - This is an excellent, multi-disciplinary database of (mostly) peer-reviewed articles.


7. OSTI.gov - This is a database of scientific and technical information emanating from Department of Energy (DOE) funded research and development activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide. Depending on which paper you are working on, you can run searches on your resourceindustry,  power plant, or country.