Articles
Pilch, Emily, et. al. 2017. “Perspectives of Food Shoppers at Convenience Stores in Navajo Nation Food Deserts ,“ Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior. 49 (7S1).
Piltch, E., Griffin, Timothy, Houser, Robert, & Shin, Sonya. (2018). Manager and Consumer Perspectives on Fruit and Vegetable Availability and Purchasing at Navajo Nation Small Stores, Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (1972113166). Retrieved from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. http://search.proquest.com.libproxy.nau.edu/docview/1972113166?accountid=12706
Siri Damman, Wenche Barth Eide, Harriet V. Kuhnlein, 2008. Indigenous peoples’ nutrition transition in a right to food perspective. Food Policy. 33, 135-155. https://www-sciencedirect-com.libproxy.nau.edu/science/article/pii/S0306919207000498
Setala, A., Gittelsohn, J., Speakman, K., Oski, J., Martin, T., Moore, R., . . . Bleich, S. (2011). Linking farmers to community stores to increase consumption of local produce: A case study of the Navajo Nation. Public Health Nutrition, 14(9), 1658-1662.
Gurney, R., Caniglia, B., Mix, T., & Baum, K. (2015). Native American Food Security and Traditional Foods: A Review of the Literature. Sociology Compass., 9(8), 681-693.
Books
-
-
Food Security and Global Environmental Change by Call Number: HD9000.5 .F5966 2010ISBN: 9781849711272Publication Date: 2010-10-15 -
Indigenous Peoples' Food Systems and Well-Being by Call Number: GN407 .I53 2013ISBN: 9789251074336Publication Date: 2013-06-26
Databases
-
PubMed (Medline)The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science CollectionDatabase of articles on environmental science topics. Also includes citations to other types of publications such as reports and government documents.
-
Google ScholarSearch the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.
-
SocINDEX with Full TextDatabase for sociology research, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations.
Other Resources
Forrest Stegelin. 2012. Is It More Than Coincidence of the Presence of Food Deserts, Pre- School Age Native American Children, & Childhood Obesity?. University of Georgia. Conference Presentation, Agricultural and Applied Economics Association Annual Conference, Seattle, WA.
https://ageconsearch.umn.edu/record/124262/files/StegelinAAEAposter158.pdf
Fazzino, D. V. (2008). Traditional Food Security: Tohono O'odham Traditional Foods in Transition (Doctoral dissertation, University of Florida). http://etd.fcla.edu/UF/UFE0021669/fazzino_d.pdf