Articles
Robyn, L. (2002). Indigenous knowledge and technology: creating environmental justice in the twenty-first century. The American Indian Quarterly, 26(2), 198+. Retrieved from http://link.galegroup.com.libproxy.nau.edu/apps/doc/A107203418/LitRC?u=nauniv&sid=LitRC&xid=d578b20c
Lynette, J. (2010). Navajo nation: 30% without access to regulated drinking water. American Water Works Association.Journal, 102(10), 28-29. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com.libproxy.nau.edu/docview/761693860?accountid=12706
Hoover J, Gonzales M, Shuey C, Barney Y, Lewis J.Elevated Arsenic and Uranium Concentrations in Unregulated Water Sources on the Navajo Nation, USA. Expo Health. 2017;9(2):113-124. doi: 10.1007/s12403-016-0226-6. Epub 2016 Aug 23.
Balazs, C. L., PhD., & Ray, I., PhD. (2014). The drinking water disparities framework: On the origins and persistence of inequities in exposure. American Journal of Public Health, 104(4), 603-611. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com.libproxy.nau.edu/docview/1518529547?accountid=12706
Murphy, M., Barney, Y., Begay, M., Morgan, P., Kieszak, S., Caldwell, K., . . . Lewis, L. (2011). Investigation of Household Drinking Water Sources and Contaminant Exposures in the Navajo Nation, 2008-2009. Epidemiology, 22(1), S114.
Books
-
Native Peoples of the Southwest by Call Number: Special Collections E78.S7 N38 2001ISBN: 0897896742Publication Date: 2001-08-30 -
Databases
-
PubMed (Medline)The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science CollectionDatabase of articles on environmental science topics. Also includes citations to other types of publications such as reports and government documents.
-
Google ScholarSearch the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.
-
Web of ScienceCitation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.
Websites
-
Water Resources of the United StatesInformation about U.S. water resources created by the United States Geological Survey.
-
Water: Science and TechnologyProvides information about research and monitoring of U.S. water.
Other Sources
Fennema, S. J. (2013). Unregulated water source on the navajo nation: Assessing risk of unregulated water supplies and optimal placement of regulated water supply points (Order No. 1545690). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (1445979258). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com.libproxy.nau.edu/docview/1445979258?accountid=12706
Higgins, D. B. (2010). The black mesa case study: A postaudit and pathology of coal-energy groundwater exploitation in the hopi and diné lands, 1968-2008 (Order No. 3408337). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (580126922). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com.libproxy.nau.edu/docview/580126922?accountid=12706
Chee, R. R. (2017). Prioritization of potable water infrastructure investments on the navajo nation (Order No. 10272105). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (1901426886). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com.libproxy.nau.edu/docview/1901426886?accountid=12706
United States, Congress. (2007). Navajo Nation's water rights and miscellaneous water supply issues: Hearing before the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, United States Senate, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, to receive testimony on S. 1711 ... June 27, 2007. U.S. G.P.O.
Blanchard, P., Geological Survey, Navajo Nation, United States. Environmental Protection Agency. Office of Pesticide Programs, & Geographical Surveys West of the 100th Meridian. (2002). Assessments of aquifer sensitivity on Navajo Nation and adjacent lands and ground water vulnerability to pesticide contamination on the Navajo Indian Irrigation Project, Arizona, New Mexico, and Utah (Water-resources investigations report ; 02-4051). Albuquerque, NM : Denver, CO: U.S. Geological Survey ; Branch of Information Services.
Navajo environmental issues collection, 1978-1994 NAU Special Collections and Archives
Rock, T. (2008). Water and health issues within a native community.TN490.U7 R635 2008