Primary Sources
Primary sources are documents from the time period, people, and events of the time under consideration.
Primary sources can be:
- diaries or correspondence
- photographs
- illustrations
- newspaper articles (from the time period)
- manuscripts
- pamphlets, broadsides, or other ephemera
- NAU Special Collections and ArchivesSearch for digital materials at NAU, including , photos, archives, student newspapers, and materials related to the Colorado Plateau.
- Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
- American Memory Digital CollectionsLibrary of Congress collections that Include images, prints, drawings, manuscripts, maps, ephemera, film, audio, and more.
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
- Life Photo ArchiveSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
- Stanford University's Dime Novel CollectionA relatively small collection of full-text dime novels from Stanford's Dime Novel and Story Paper Collection.
- Chronicling AmericaHistoric American Newspapers database.