Comprehensive reference work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
Features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions in a growing database of images of art, architecture, and design. The collection spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art.
Images from archives, museums, libraries and research centers such as the New York Public Library, Smithsonian, Library of Congress and Getty Research Institute. The images have no known copyright restrictions.
5000 high-quality scanned images of costume and set designs from the Motley Collection at University of Illinois. The Motley group designed sets and costumes from 1932 to 1976 for plays by Shakespeare and modern classics, opera, ballet, and motion pictures. Their designs were used in productions in the West End of London, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, the English National Opera, and in the United States on Broadway.
This database is a guide to original artwork in the library's collection, including costume design and production design drawings, animation art, storyboards and paintings. Via Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
The Wellcome Library of Medical History provides images on themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Many of the images have creative commons licenses allowing re-use.