Try Document Delivery Services. NAU students, faculty, and staff can request books and articles that we don't own. We will get them from another library at no charge to you! *Textbooks typically are not available from DDS.
NAU faculty can request that we add a book to our collection. Suggest a purchase online and we may be able to buy a copy.
Searching for Books
To search for print or ebooks, start on the library's homepage: nau.edu/library.
Enter your search into the Quick Search
Using the limiters on the left-hand side, select Books under Material Type. You may need to select Show More to find the books option
For print books, select Available in the library under Availability. NOTE: This will limit your search results to books available in the library right now. Books that are checked out will not appear.
Locate the Call Number under the record. That's what you need to find the book in the library!
For ebooks, select Full Text Online under Availability.
Select the Full Text link in order to read the book in your browser. You may be able to download chapters, but you will not be able to download the entire book to your device.
Reference Materials for Engineering & Materials Sciences
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook by James F. Shackelford; William AlexanderThe CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, Third Edition is the most comprehensive source available for data on engineering materials. Organized in an easy-to-follow format based on materials properties, this definitive reference features data verified through major professional societies in the materials field, such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society. The third edition has been significantly expanded, most notably by the addition of new tabular material for a wide range of nonferrous alloys and various composite materials. For engineers making, selecting, or evaluating materials, this one, compact volume provides the ideal starting point. It is exceptionally easy to search-the authors have organized it according to materials properties, provided a key word indexing system, and placed many data sets in a convenient Selection Section where materials can be compared by property value, a feature ideal for design applications. A bestseller since its first edition, the CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook stands alone as a the consummate reference for data on the full spectrum of engineering materials.
Publication Date: 2000-12-26
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 95th Edition by William M. Haynes (Editor)Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 95th edition of theCRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physicsis an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. The 95th Edition of the Handbookincludes 22 new tables and major updates and expansions. A new series highlighting the achievements of some of the major historical figures in chemistry and physics was initiated with the 94th edition. This series is continued with this edition, which is focused on Galileo Galilei, James Clerk Maxwell, Marie Sklodowska Curie, and Linus Carl Pauling. This series, which provides biographical information, a list of major achievements, and notable quotations attributed to each of the renowned chemists and physicists, will be continued in succeeding editions. Each edition will feature two chemists and two physicists. Available in traditional print format, as an eBook, and online, this reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach. New tables: Section 8: Analytical Chemistry Figures of Merit Common Symbols Used in Gas and Liquid Chromatographic Schematic Diagrams Varieties of Hyphenated Gas Chromatography with Mass Spectrometry Section 15: Practical Laboratory Data Standard Fittings for Compressed Gas Cylinders Plug and Outlet Configurations for Common Laboratory Devices Section 16: Health and Safety Information Abbreviations Used in the Assessment and Presentation of Laboratory Hazards Incompatible Chemicals Explosion (Shock) Hazards Water-Reactive Chemicals Testing Requirements for Peroxidizable Compounds Tests for the Presence of Peroxides Pyrophoric Compounds - Compounds That Are Reactive with Air Flammability Hazards of Common Solvents Selection of Laboratory Gloves Selection of Respirator Cartridges and Filters Selection of Protective Laboratory Garments Protective Clothing Levels Chemical Fume Hoods and Biological Safety Cabinets Gas Cylinder Safety and Stamped Markings Laser Hazards in the Laboratory General Characteristics of Ionizing Radiation for the Purpose of Practical Application of Radiation Protection Radiation Safety Units Significantly updated and expanded tables: Section 1: Basic Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors Update of Standard Atomic Weights (2013) Update of Atomic Masses and Abundances Section 8: Analytical Chemistry Expansion of Abbreviations and Symbols Used in Analytical Chemistry Section 9: Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy Update of Bond Dissociation Energies Section 12: Properties of Solids Major update and Expansion of Electron Stopping Powers Section 14: Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics Major Update of Interstellar Molecules Update of Atmospheric Concentration of Carbon Dioxide, 1958-2013 Update of Global Temperature Trend, 1880-2013 Section 15: Practical Laboratory Data Major update of Reference Points on the ITS-90 Temperature Scale Update of Laboratory Solvents and Other Liquid Reagents Section 16: Health and Safety Information Update of Flammability of Chemical Substances Update of Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants to 2013 values Appendix B: Update of Sources of Physical and Chemical Data
Publication Date: 2014-06-04
Materials Handbook by François CardarelliThis unique and practical book provides quick and easy access to data on the physical and chemical properties of all classes of materials. The second edition has been much expanded to include whole new families of materials while many of the existing families are broadened and refined with new material and up-to-date information. Particular emphasis is placed on the properties of common industrial materials in each class. Detailed appendices provide additional information, and careful indexing and a tabular format make the data quickly accessible. This book is an essential tool for any practitioner or academic working in materials or in engineering.
Publication Date: 2008-03-19
Introduction to the Physics and Chemistry of Materials by Robert J. NaumannDiscusses the Structure and Properties of Materials and How These Materials Are Used in Diverse Applications Building on undergraduate students¿ backgrounds in mathematics, science, and engineering, Introduction to the Physics and Chemistry of Materials provides the foundation needed for more advanced work in materials science. Ideal for a two-semester course, the text focuses on chemical bonding, crystal structure, mechanical properties, phase transformations, and materials processing for the first semester. The material for the second semester covers thermal, electronic, photonic, optical, and magnetic properties of materials. Requiring no prior experience in modern physics and quantum mechanics, the book introduces quantum concepts and wave mechanics through a simple derivation of the Schr¿dinger equation, the electron-in-a-box problem, and the wave functions of the hydrogen atom. The author also presents a historical perspective on the development of the materials science field. He discusses the Bose¿Einstein, Maxwell¿Boltzmann, Planck, and Fermi¿Dirac distribution functions, before moving on to the various properties and applications of materials. With detailed derivations of important equations, this applications-oriented text examines the structure and properties of materials, such as heavy metal glasses and superconductors. It also explores recent developments in organics electronics, polymer light-emitting diodes, superconductivity, and more.
Reference Sources for Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, and Construction Management
The Commercial Engineer's Desktop Guide by Timothy J. BoyceThis desktop guide takes a tour from an appreciation of commercial awareness through to an understanding of how business contracts and other commercial agreements are constructed, negotiated and confirmed. The features include things that engineers say and do which invite commercial disaster.
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Construction Management by Denny McGeorge; Patrick ZouThe construction industry faces continual challenges and demands, due to market conditions and coercion by governments, for improvements in safety, quality and cost control, and in the avoidance of contractual disputes. To meet these challenges construction enterprises need to constantly seek new directions and business models in construction management. A number of tools, methods and concepts have been developed and advocated as aids to achieving improved performance, but many in the industry find them confusing or are sceptical of their relevance. The third edition of" Construction Management: New Directions"brings together, in a single volume, detailed discussion of a range of contemporary management concepts which are relevant to the construction industry, including "strategic management; benchmarking; reengineering; partnering and alliancing; enterprise risk management; total safety management; total quality management; value management and constructability." It provides a straightforward, accessible and objective account of these concepts, showing how they interrelate and can be used to improve the performance of the construction firm. This research based text will be essential reading for industry leaders and practitioners, as well as researchers, postgraduate and senior undergraduate students. From a review of previous editions I am in no doubt that this book will quickly become a favourite among students and practitioners alike --"Construction Manager"
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Engineer's Manual of Construction Site Planning by J. Sutt; Irene LillThis handbook addresses problems facing the engineer when preparing to build, both during the contract bidding phase and after a contract has been concluded. It offers clear guidelines for planning the resources and machinery on site, as well as the safe positioning of roads, cranes, storage and temporary buildings. Site planning activities are presented here in logical sequence, offering an efficient and safe design of the construction site and of the temporary works. The book describes the process of engineering preparation of on-site construction works in all phases of the construction life-cycle, from the design phase - preparing the financial plan and procurement scheme for the owner before tendering the contract; the tendering phase; and after bid completion. A list of procedures is presented for planning the construction site in order to simplify the engineer's work of site and temporary works planning. "The Engineer's Manual of Construction Site Planning" is for all those involved in the planning of construction sites, construction managers, construction engineers and quantity surveyors, as well as for students in civil engineering and construction.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Engineering Project Appraisal by Martin Rogers; Aidan DuffyIn most cases of civil engineering development, a range of alternative schemes meeting project goals are feasible, so some form of evaluation must be carried out to select the most appropriate to take forward. Evaluation criteria usually include the economic, environmental and social contexts of a project as well as the engineering challenges, so engineers must be familiar with the processes and tools used. The second edition of Engineering Project Appraisal equips students with the understanding and analytical tools to carry out effective appraisals of alternative development schemes, using both economic and non-economic criteria. The building blocks of economic appraisal are covered early, leading to techniques such as net present worth, internal rate of return and annual worth. Cost Benefit Analysis is dealt with in detail, together with related methods such as Cost Effectiveness and the Goal Achievement Matrix. The text also details three multi-criteria models which have proved useful in the evaluation of proposals in the transportation, solid waste, energy and water resources fields: the Simple Additive Weighting (SAW) Model, the Analytic Hierarchy Process (AHP) technique and Concordance Analysis. There is a full discussion dealing with risk and uncertainty in these models. With many worked examples and case studies, Engineering Project Appraisal is an essential text for both undergraduate and postgraduate students on professional civil engineering courses, and it is expected that students on planning and construction management courses will find it a valuable addition to their reading.
Publication Date: 2012-06-27
Introduction to Civil Engineering Systems by Samuel LabiThis book presents an integrated systems approach to the evaluation, analysis, design, and maintenance of civil engineering systems. Addressing recent concerns about the world's aging civil infrastructure and its environmental impact, the author makes the case for why any civil infrastructure should be seen as part of a larger whole. He walks readers through all phases of a civil project, from feasibility assessment to construction to operations, explaining how to evaluate tasks and challenges at each phase using a holistic approach. Unique coverage of ethics, legal issues, and management is also included.
Publication Date: 2014-03-20
Modern Construction Management by Frank Harris; Ronald McCaffer; Francis Edum-Fotwe (As told to)This new edition of a core undergraduate textbook for construction managers reflects current best practice, topical industry preoccupations and latest developments in courses and fundamental subjects for students. While the construction process still requires traditional skills, changes over recent decades today demand improved understanding of modern business, production and contractual practices. The authors have responded accordingly and the book has undergone a thorough re-write, eliminating some of the older material and adding new processes now considered essential to achieving lean construction. Particular emphasis is given, for example, to supply chains and networks, value and risk management, BIM, ICT, project arrangements, corporate social responsibility, training, health and welfare and environmental sustainability. Modern Construction Management presents construction as a socially responsible, innovative, carbon-reducing, manager-involved, people-orientated, crisis-free industry that is efficient and cost effective. The overall themes for the Seventh Edition are: Drivers for efficiency: lean construction underpinning production management and off-site production methods. Sustainability: reflecting the transition to a low carbon economy. Corporate Social Responsibility: embracing health & safety, modernistic contracts, effective procurement, and employment issues. Building Information Management: directed towards the improvement of construction management systems. The comprehensive selection of worked examples, based on real and practical situations in construction management and methods will help to consolidate learning. A companion website at www.wiley.com/go/MCM7 offers invaluable support material for both tutors and students: Solutions to the self-learning exercises PowerPoint slides with discussion topics Journal and web references Structured to reflect site, business and corporate responsibilities of managers in construction, the book continues to provide strong coverage of the salient elements required for developing and equipping the modern construction manager with the competencies and skills for both technical and business related areas.
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
The Handbook of Environmental Policy Evaluation by Ann Crabbe; Pieter LeroyPolicy evaluation is an important and well-established part of the policy process, facilitating and feeding back to promote the ongoing effectiveness of policies that have been implemented or anticipating policies in the making. Environmental policy is a special case, presenting new complexities uncommon to other areas, which standard evaluation tools are ill-equipped to grapple with. It is also an area that is experiencing rapid growth throughout the world and knowledge is now needed at all levels of government and in NGOs, businesses and other organizations, all of whom are required to assess the effectiveness of their policies.This handbook is the first guide to environmental policy evaluation in practice. Beginning with an introduction to the general principles of evaluation, it explains the particular complexities native to the environmental sphere and provides a comprehensive toolkit of evaluation methods and techniques which the practitioner can employ and refer to again and again. The authors also consider design issues which may face the policy evaluator, including involvement of stakeholders, the sensitivities between them, the a priori assessment of the evaluability of a field, the maximization of the utilization of the evaluations outcomes, and much more. Throughout, the theory is illustrated with practical examples from around the world, making this the essential companion guide for anyone tasked with ensuring that environmental policy fulfils its aims and achieves its potential.