How to Find Data and Statistics

DHS (Demographic Health Surveys) STATcompiler is an online database tool that allows users to select numerous countries and hundreds of indicators to create customized tables that serve their specific data needs.

Child Survival and Health, Child Nutrition, Maternal Health, Water and Sanitation, Education, Child Protection, HIV/AIDS, MDG (Millennium Development Goals) Monitoring. Data by Country.

Health expenditures, mortality by disease, number of practicing nurses and physicians, life expectancy and risk behavior. Data by country back to 1960.

The GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository.

Draws on a variety of data sources including administrative statistics and household surveys compiled by the World Bank Group and its client countries, World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) etc. Include mortality, immunization, malnutrion etc.

This data set contains counts of AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome) cases reported to CDC by state and local health departments from 1981+. Case counts can be retrieved by demographics, case-definition, date of diagnosis, date of report, HIV exposure group (risk factors), and mortality.

Summary of the most comprehensive study about domestic hunger ever conducted

Topics: Abortion; Hysterectomy; Infant Health; Interactive Atlas of Reproductive Health; International Reproductive Health Surveys and Maternal Health.

his is the National Cancer Institute's SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results) Program web site containing statistical publications including the SEER Cancer Statistics Review 1973-present and Racial/Ethnic patterns of Cancer in the U.S.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration of DHHS compiles detailed statistics on alcohol, tobacco, and drug use.

Provides population-level data on patterns and trends regarding the health of Arizonans ranging from prenatal care and pregnancy outcomes to ethnic differences in morbidity and mortality.

This site contains reports in .pdf format and graphs charting data and statistics of infectious diseases such as Hepatitis C, Rabies, Tuberculosis, and many more.

This an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data including suicide.

Largest collection of nationwide and State-specific longitudinal hospital care data in the United States enables research on a range of health policy issues.

HHS has begun "liberating" health data through the Health Data Initiative -- making more and more data from HHS' vaults (from CMS, CDC, FDA and NIH,etc) easily available and accessible to the public.

The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey, or MEPS as it is commonly called, is the third (and most recent) in a series of national probability surveys conducted by AHRQ on the financing and utilization of medical care in the United States.

U.S. government agency website providing health statistics.

Assesses the health status and health behaviors of U.S. adults aged 65 years and older and makes recommendations to improve the mental and physical health of all Americans in their later years. The report includes national- and state-based report cards that examine 15 key indicators of older adult health, strategies to improve the health and quality of life of older adults, and state examples that highlight innovative healthy aging efforts at the state and community level.

State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies.

The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including—

Most datasets in NAHDAP are primary data collected from surveys and interviews or obtained from administrative databases. NAHDAP preserves and disseminates them because they have value for "secondary analysis" - that is, reexamining existing data to reproduce original findings, address new questions, or employ new analytic methods.
Since NAHDAP is sponsored by the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), a federal agency, users obtain data from NAHDAP at no charge. To access data files, users must login to ICPSR with an ICPSR MyData account or an existing Google or Facebook account.

TCIA is a service which de-identifies and hosts a large archive of medical images of cancer accessible for public download. The data are organized as “Collections”, typically patients related by a common disease (e.g. lung cancer), image modality (MRI, CT, etc) or research focus. DICOM is the primary file format used by TCIA for image storage. Supporting data related to the images such as patient outcomes, treatment details, genomics, pathology, and expert analyses are also provided when available.

PhysioBank is a large and growing archive of well-characterized digital recordings of physiologic signals and related data for use by the biomedical research community. PhysioBank currently includes databases of multi-parameter cardiopulmonary, neural, and other biomedical signals from healthy subjects and patients with a variety of conditions with major public health implications, including sudden cardiac death, congestive heart failure, epilepsy, gait disorders, sleep apnea, and aging.

List of NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for re-use.