Research Guides: BBA 380: Management for Environmental Sustainability and Durable Competitive Advantage: Find Information

Searching the Quick Search

Business & Sustainability Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Database of articles on environmental science topics. Also includes citations to other types of publications such as reports and government documents.
Business Source Premier

Database of full-text articles covering business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
CAB Abstracts
Article database covering forestry, environmental science, agriculture, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, and nutrition.
GreenFILE
Database of articles relevant to the human impact on the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
LexisNexis (Nexis Uni)

Nexis Uni is a database that features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Content includes resources such as The New York Times, company profiles, and SEC filings.
Wall Street Journal (Proquest)
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal newspaper, with in-depth coverage of national & international finance and business as well as coverage of general news events.

Websites

B Corporation
B Corp certifies businesses that meet stringent social and environmental standards. See their free guides on varying aspects of conducting green business.
Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
Tracks corporate social responsibility news for industries, countries, and "the positive and negative impacts of over 5,100 companies worldwide."
Center for Small Business and the Environment
About 80% of the clean technology industry consists of small businesses, say the folks at the CSBE, originators of the Small Business Climate Initiative. Read their ideas for how small business owners can protect and defend the environment.
Greenbiz: State of Green Business
The annual State of Green Business report provides a measure of the environmental impacts of the emerging green economy.

Google Search Tips

Operator

Description

Examples

" "

Exact Phrase Search

Search for words in exact order

"Business Plan"

"prairie dog"

"Chicago fire"

Include word(s) in the results

Add a plus sign before the word or phrase to include
A space must be placed before the plus sign but not after it

"forest fire" +Flagstaff

"Chicago fire" +soccer

Picasso +Guernica

Exclude word(s) in results

Add a minus sign before a word or phrase to exclude
A space must be placed before the minus sign but not after it.

"forest fire" -pine

"Chicago fire" -soccer

Mozart -sonatas

Synonyms

Searches for a specified keyword and words that are similar to that word

~neuroscience

Returns Results

neurophysiology
neurobiology
brain
neurology

Broaden your search to include different terms

OR must be capitalized

soccer OR football OR futbal

"Grand Canyon" OR Yosemite

site:

Restrict search to a particular domain or website

Search top level domains such as .edu, .org, .gov
Search specific websites

"forest fires" site:.gov

tuition site:nau.edu

veteran programs site:.edu

filetype:

Restrict your search to a specific file type

There is no space between filetype: and the following word

"global warming" filetype:pdf

intitle:

Searches for a single word or phrase in the title of the search result

Google will restrict the results to pages that have the word or phrase in the title of the document

Find information about the use of robots in the production of Toyota vehicles.

assembly line robots intitle:toyota

AROUND(n)

Searches for words that are within a certain range of other words

Must capitalize AROUND(n) and add a number in parentheses for this to work.

"steve jobs" AROUND(3) environment

"climate change" AROUND(4) "polar bears"

Find pages related to a specific site

No space between the colon and the web address.

related:redcross.org

Adapted from MIT Libraries, Google Search Tips: Getting Started