The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This version utilizes the EBSCO interface with the option to search across multiple EBSCO databases.
PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES are accessible from the same platform, so you can search both simultaneously.
Click on the PsycINFO database to access the search page.
On the search page, notice the search boxes at the top and click on the words Choose Databases, located above the search boxes.
A pop-up window will appear with a list of databases arranged alphabetically.
Select other databases to add them to your search and then click OK in the lower right hand corner of the pop-up window.
You will then return to the search screen where you can type in your keywords.
Use this template to keep track of your research articles.
Search tips for PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
Exact phrase searching
Omit or ignore a term
Expand the search to include either or both terms
Structure a Boolean (AND, OR, NOT) search
Truncate a term or complete a phrase
Wildcard used to replace a single letter
Wildcard used for alternate spellings
N and a number
Finds terms near x terms
W and a number
Finds terms within x terms in order
Try not to use punctuation
Databases ignore these unless it is a question mark
Try not to use stop words
Databases ignore these
Limit your results to empirical research studies
You can limit your PsycINFO search to select only Empirical Study articles by setting a search limit using the Methodology limiter.
Notice that an Experimental Replication is categorized within Empirical Research. On the advanced search page, scroll to the bottom of the page and look for the Methodology section. Next, scroll through the list of options.